Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 95 reviews
on October 27, 2016
In this day and age, it is common for the western press to vilify President Putin. It is very interesting to hear what Putin says--as opposed to what is said about him. This book is a compilation of various conversations held over a period of time in which Putin frankly discusses his life.
It strikes me that America is in a similar situation to that of Russia at the time that President Yeltsin picked Putin as the person who might be able to revive Russia from the process of war and disintegration. We could use an American Putin!
Besides this book, you will also find a very interesting 2 hour interview/documentary produced by Russian channel 24, with English subtitles. It is entitled President and can be found on YouTube.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
Helpful, thoughtful study of Putin, his family and friends – all in the form of interviews. So you get to hear them talk about themselves. Typical Russian earthy frankness. Very credible, since what these people say accords very well with what we see Putin doing and saying on the world stage.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
A very interesting book, which gives a very different perspective of the man whom we are used to hearing about in the news. The book was written quite a while ago, and obviously many things have transpired since then. He may do things that we do not condone in western society regarding the handling of his opposition and the press, but after reading this one cannot deny that he is very educated and smart. I have no doubt that if he intends to use Mr. Trump for Russia's benefit, Mr. Putin will manipulate him very successfully and masterfully, as unlike our Twitter-ranting new leader, he has the discipline to control his emotions, and he thinks before speaking and acting.

Whether one likes him or not, Mr. Putin has to be given credit for becoming one of the most powerful men in the world through is own merit, he came from a very modest family--there was no silver spoon there to help buy his way to the top. To hear his story in his own words makes for quite an interesting read. It would have been better if it was more recent and contained interviews on events that have transpired since this was written, but it is still insightful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
When PM Putin visited president Bush at his Crawford, TX ranch, Pres Bush remarked that he could look into Mr. Putin's eyes and see his soul. That might have brought some laughs & derogatory remarks from the general public. For those doubters I highly recommend this book which illustrates that Mr Putin has a soul, a conscience, and a high mentality. It is true that we do not understand the Russian soul or mind, therefore, I highly recommend this book as well as "The Story of Russia" (available on Amazom.com) to anyone who might like to try. You will not be disappointed
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
Interesting historically.
The interviews for this piece were done in the early 2000s. Before the level of "spin " and security that Putin employs currently.

They do include interviews by both family and friends and expose humor and personality traits that give insight to this long popular Russian leader.

Missing is a sense of Putin's financial and economic savvy, that is only indirectly apparent even now.

But still very interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
Great book, I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2015
Excellent insight to an enigmatic man who has a lot of power. His childhood was simple and very poor, but he has a quick mind and knew what he wanted to do since he was 16 - work for the KGB which taught him how to lead and how to show restraint in any situation. I found it very interesting that he was willing to do this book as he was always a very private person. A must read for those interested in what is happening in Europe these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
The world needs more leaders like Putin, calm, calculated and not emotional - 2017 is flashing this loud and clear!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
Important book to understand Vladmir Putin. He's a very tough man and was the Judo champion of Leningrad. His foreign policy goals are the same as the goals of the Tsars for hundreds of years, so no one should be surprised. I found no evidence in the book of concern or sensitivity on the part of the Putin family to the suffering caused by Soviet totalitarianism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
This book gives a very good picture of a Russia we in the "West" really do not know.

We were brought up in the 50's during the Cold War to fear Russia and Russia was a country we could not visit until recently.

For most of us that picture is still in our minds...and this is just not how Russia is anymore.

To understand the man who ''runs'' Russia - you got to read this book. And you will see and understand Putin is a very sane leader - he really wants and pushes Russia to gain strength -across the boards. He is a laywer and he bases his judgement on what is law both Russian and International Law.

He is not the kind of "PR" man we are used to in the ''West'' especially as we see it in the USA.

His sport is Judo and he says "Judo is not just a sport it is a philosophy" .... you got to understand that to understand how he operates.

I recommend this book to every leader and politician in the whole world. I recommend it to every thinking person.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse