Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Her First Roman 1993 Studio Cast

Reissued, Import, Cast Recording

2.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Cast Recording, Import, September 7, 2004

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

A famous flop show (only 17 performances), Her First Roman was the most anticipated new musical of 1968. Adapted and musicalized from G.B.Shaw's play Caesar and Cleopatra:, this big and brassy and expensive musical was a big disappointment to everyone. Mr. Drake's score was blamed ... but fans in the audience secretly taped the show, and these bootleg tapes proved the music was terrific, as were the stars.


"Richard Kiley and Leslie Uggams are nothing short of sensational!" -- Show Music

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Opening/What Are We Doing In Egypt? - Mark Miller
  2. Song To The Sphinx - Richard Kiley
  3. Save Me From Caesar! - Leslie Uggams
  4. Many Young Men From Now - Leslie Uggams
  5. When My Back Is To The Wall - Leslie Uggams
  6. Pleasure Him - Leslie Uggams
  7. Her First Roman - Chorus
  8. Magic Carpet - Leslie Uggams
  9. Rome - Mark Miller
  10. The Dangerous Age - Ron Raines
  11. The Things We Think We Are - Ron Raines
  12. Her First Roman: Reprise - Ron Raines
  13. Parable Of The Monkey - Maureen Davis
  14. I Cannot Make Him Jealous / I Can't Help Feeling Jealous - Leslie Uggams
  15. The Wrong Man - Leslie Uggams
  16. Let Me Lead The Way - Brenda Silas-Moore
  17. In Vino Veritas - Ron Raines
  18. I Fell In With Evil Companions - Ron Raines
  19. Just For Today - Leslie Uggams
  20. Finale Ultimo - Ensemble
  21. Song To The Sphinx (Demo Recording) - Ervin Drake

Product details

  • Performer: Bryan Miller, Matt Leahy, Ron Raines, Grace Ann Wall, Leslie Uggams, et al.
  • Composer: Ervin Drake
  • Audio CD (September 7, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Cast Recording, Import, Original recording reissued
  • Label: Lockett-Palmer Recordings
  • ASIN: B00000C2LN
  • Average Customer Review: 2.8 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #335,583 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

March 27, 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 1, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
April 19, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
March 26, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
November 5, 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
February 19, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
July 21, 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: grace moore