Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on June 26, 2013
Good for summer reading, or when you want to tune out of heavy things. Delightful and inspirational on a minimal level. Not deep theology but a soothing to the soul. Worth the read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2006
Having admired Sue Monk Kidd's nonfiction for years, I was thrilled at the chance to dip into her early essays -- and wasn't disappointed. This nicely arranged collection reveals Sue's gift for illuminating the sacred in life's most ordinary moments while it offers a tender glimpse into her early vocations as wife, mother, and nurse. Also included are pieces hinting at Kidd's spiritual struggles and epiphanies, which she expanded upon later in WHEN THE HEART WAITS and DANCE OF THE DISSIDENT DAUGHTER. This book is a lovely gift to all of us who've admired the work of this beloved author. It can be read and savored a little at a time, and will serve as a reminder to pause and appreciate the beauty in our own lives. -- Cindy La Ferle, author of WRITING HOME.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2006
I've read Sue Monk Kidd's fiction, and I did like them. I had been familiar with her from her early days with Guideposts magazine. The writing in this book, however, leaves me breathless. It is full of beauty and wonder and gratitude. She weaves words into a beautiful bouquet.

It is no surprise she refers to Mary Oliver, a poet who has a love affair with life, and gratitude for each leaf and passing breeze.

This book will warm your heart from the inside out, make you more aware of the beauty around you, and help to awaken the Mystery all over again. As she says, it will renew your love affair with life.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
Beautiful inspirational book. Read a few paragraphs each morning as part of my devotional. So much food for thought. Have recommended it on Facebook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
This was a gift as referred by a friend. All have said that they love this book for its inspiring qualities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
Beautiful reflections by deep thinking author. "The Crucible of Story" and "Compassion" contain deep insight and offer material for use in teaching, one's personal life, writing and beyond. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
It's a super book. Just a girl thing, but I would have liked the cover displayed on the for sale page vs getting the older image. It was in the condition it was as described. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2008
Sue Monk Kidd's work continues to delight. Her short, honest, writings show her to be attentive to the moment as well as to the world around her. This book would be a start to a group discussion for people seeking to live mindful, but interactive, lives. She enjoys the spiritual life of monks without having taken their vows. Readers will gain much from this collection of essays and observations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
insightful and inspiring and a small lovely volume that I have sent to many people as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2012
This book is so thought prevoking! I loved it so much I went ahead and ordered 3 more of Sue Monk Kidd's books. She is an amazing writer and as you are reading and after you will find your thoughts taking you back to Sue's words numerous times a day!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse