Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 28, 2015
We love this show so much!!! I have a long history of enjoying quirky British sitcoms and while not British it certain is quirky!
Be aware you will find yourself talking like Brett and Jemaine for days after binge watching this show.

It's very funny and if you have a mind to you can re-watch it and pretend that Mel (their fan and loyal stalker) is grown up Louise from Bob's Burgers.

It's a sweet and oddly gentle sitcom, nothing too dramatic happens, just fun and relaxing and will crack you up at unexpected times.

We watched the whole show a few years back when it first came out and enjoyed binge watching it just recently.
I think the characters are even funny when you watch the episodes back to back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
"Flight of the Conchords" is a quirky, deadpan HBO series about a pair of New Zealanders, Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement, trying to break into the New York music scene. The duo is more funky than any folk singers have ever been, and find themselves in a variety of Spinal Tap-esque situations involving the band, their one fan, Mel, and their incompetent manager, Murray.

The humor here is very dry and delivered in an extremely deadpan manner, so fans of broadbrush or slapstick comedy may not find this to their tastes. People who like wry and intelligent humor will love it. I was especially amused by the episode where the guys were discriminated against by a fruit cart owner because they are New Zealanders ("I don't want our customers complaining that our fruit tastes like New Zealanders.") It couldn't have been resolved better than when the vendor discovers that he was confusing Australians and New Zealanders, ultimately befriending the guys in a horrible case of mistaken identity. Another favorite was the episode where Bret was haunted by visions of David Bowie in his sleep with hilarious results, and the final episode featuring a guest spot by the wonderful Demetri Martin.

Each episode features a couple of short music videos, all of which are over-the-top funny, and are the antithesis of conventional musical productions (thank goodness). The DVD set is well worth owning, but a major complaint is the total absence of extras in a series this recent. If you like offbeat, bizarre comedy, "Flight of the Conchords" is well worth checking out.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2010
This show starts out a bit odd but sweet and with each episode, grows with its brilliance. Bret and Jermaine are from New Zealand and are musicians trying to make it in New York City. They don't even seem to know that they are mediocre and not good enough. The poor guys in their 30s live like college kids in a dump, eating bad food and trying to survive. Their manager works in the New Zealand Embassy is a loser also but loves the camaraderie he gets with hanging out with the guys. Everyone is wonderful and the jokes are precious. One episode deals with a man who hates New Zealanders and the guys learn to flip them the bird. Another deals with girls who think its funny to seduce Bret for a joke. There is real humanity in the stories and the music is actually really good and funny at the same time. Wonderful show that grows better with repeated viewings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2013
Flight of the Conchords was completely unexpected. The series tells the story of Bret and Jemaine, two musicians from New Zealand trying to make it in New York. They are not very successful.

Unlike the case in most sitcoms, they live in an apartment that appears socioeconomically appropriate for two struggling musicians. They are (poorly) managed by a fellow Kiwi whose day job is at the New Zealand embassy.

The series mixes in magical realism and musical interludes, with Bret, Jemaine, and other characters breaking out into plot-related songs and scenarios. The songs all have a humorous bent, and are exquisitely well-done.

To say that we love this show would be an understatement. To put it into perspective, I typically do not like musicals, and my favorite musical is 'The Blues Brothers'. However, I love Flight of the Conchords. The two leads are engaging and believable, the writing is razor sharp, and the show hit the ground running, and is enjoyable from the first episode of the first season to the last episode of the second season.

Bret and Jemaine pulled the plug on any remaining seasons, and given the amount of creativity poured into the first two I can understand them wanting to take a break before they ran out of steam. I hope they find a way to come back for more, but in the interim I highly recommend this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2016
Stumbled across this show after seeing WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS. New Zealanders, Jemaine (Jemaine Clement) and Bret (Bret McKenzie) are struggling musicians / flatmates, trying to make it in New York City. With their heinously inept manager, Murray Hewitt (Rhys Darby), and the -rather creepy- one and only member of their fan club, Mel (Kristen Schaal), Jemaine and Bret endure the untold trials of life outside Kiwi-land. FLIGHT OF THE CONCHORDS is a subtly zany comedy series, packed w/ suitably absurd situations and silly characters. Be prepared for sudden outbreaks of music, as each episode contains hilarious parody songs. A wonderful bit of madness. Just don't call them Australian!...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2014
When Amazon asked me, "How many stars would you give 'Flight of the Conchords: Season 1'?" I simply responded (out loud but to myself so everyone could hear) with an interrogative as well, "Can the stars equal the number of tears of joy that streamed down my face when I saw that FIGWIT had speaking lines before the Elves passed into Grey Havens?" If they can then I would like to request that Amazon make a Mobius graphic to show the corollary.

I do so miss those brilliant Kiwi musicians...and I mean musicians who are Kiwis (native to New Zealand) and not musicians that play kiwis...but that would be a site to see for sure.

Anyone who has control of all their faculties should take time to watch the whole series. They will not be disappointed and if they are disappointed then I believe they may have lied about having control over all their faculties…so do more tests!

Thanks and enjoy yourselves!

Psimon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2017
Funny, quirky, odd, and intentionally sophomoric... or maybe it just resonates best with those who are living out or reliving their college years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 27, 2016
If you've ever been in a band, this show will make you cringe in recognition. If you haven't been in a band, you'll immediately fall for this pair of lovable Kiwi losers who wind up in New York seeking the big time but being constantly held back by their absolutely useless manager. Bonus points: the show is a musical, and every episode has two or three Flight of the Conchords songs which not only advance or comment on the plot, but which are actually really good.

If you like comedy of character, music, and underdog stories, then you should watch this right now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2016
I watched the whole series, years ago, on a binge when I was home in bed on a sick day. I enjoyed it very much, but I'm sure the Robbitusin helped.
It's not for everybody. The whole vibe is very subdued. This style of comedy is the complete opposite of slap-stick. These days, I'll watch a couple episodes every now and then. If you've ever had the pleasure of interacting with Kiwis, you will appreciate it more than if you haven't. Check it out, it definitely doesn't suck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2016
A classic, great comedy by two very funny men. This would be even better on Netflix, considering the abysmal state of the Amazon streaming service.

I didn't reflect it in the stars, but Amazon should be ashamed of their shoddy delivery of this great product. This show is worth watching, if you can make it through the pixelated screens, stalls, buffers, and stops. This is on a system with 55 Mbps WiFi, tested at the receiver. Amazon is the only streaming service that consistently has these problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse