Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno

  • Flip
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
40
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on August 1, 2013
For adults, Flip is predictable and cliche. (The only character who knows Flip has been replaced is the dog.) For YA readers, it will be a tense creepy read that will generate some very good discussions on death and after life beliefs. Alex wakes one morning to discover to his dismay and befuddlement that his mind is in another teen's body. Flip is everything Alex is not: popular, athletic, wealthy, narcissistic. Alex struggles to hold on to his authentic self in Flip's world while he tries to figure out what happened and how to get his own life back. The characters are interesting, but the pace pretty slow - until Flip's parents and the police decide Flip is mentally ill and a danger to others. Flip would be a great choice for readers who think they do not enjoy fantasy/science fiction. A movie is probably already in the works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2016
Excellent read. This book takes you through all of the emotions that would come with a unique experience such as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
It may take a bit to get into the story since it is third person limited, meaning it is told from a different point of view, yet you know what the main character is thinking. Other than that, the story has a great plot and the characters are well developed. The ending of chapters make you want to read more and find out what happens next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2011
STORY BRIEF:
Alex and Flip (Phillip) live in different towns in England. They are both 14. The story begins when Alex's mind wakes up in Flip's body in Flip's home. Flip's mom tells him to eat and get to school. Alex is forced to attend Flip's school, trying to figure out which classes to attend, where to sit, etc. Flip has two girlfriends who keep after him. Alex doesn't know Flip's passwords for his computer, email, and bank account. He wants to know what happened to Alex's body and Flip's mind. He fears Alex may be dead.

REVIEWER'S OPINION:
This is generic young adult fiction. It's a repeat of the same things I've seen in movies about body switching. I was hoping that in a book, there would be more in depth character development. I expected to be in the heads and emotions more. But it wasn't done. Although switching bodies will always be a fun idea, there was nothing new or special about what was in this book. Most of the conversations and interactions were what you'd expect from high school kids talking to each other and to their parents.

I had a problem with the police involvement. This is fiction so I am willing to accept whatever laws the author wants to create. But in this book the anti-stalking laws felt unreasonable and contrived for the sole purpose of intensifying conflict. Mrs. Gray's son Alex is in a coma. Flip calls her at work. He asks to speak to her. A coworker hangs up on him saying not to bother Mrs. Gray. Flip didn't get a chance to say what he was calling about. Flip goes to Mrs. Gray's home to talk about Alex. She tells him to leave. Then he emails David, Alex's best friend, just saying hello. David refuses to reply. Flip walks up to David on the street asking to talk to him. David calls the police who hunt down Flip to arrest him. Flip's attempts to talk to these two people did not sound like dangerous stalking to me. The police involvement felt artificial. Except for one phone call and one email, this "alleged stalking" happened on one day. It wasn't repeated stalking over a period of time.

I was annoyed and felt the author was playing me during the final climactic scene. Flip had only a few minutes to do something before someone would stop him. Yet the author had Flip taking several moments to look at someone and think about things instead of taking quick action. The delay was artificial suspense.

Technically the ending was happy, but it felt empty. The book is told in third person but it's entirely from Alex's point of view. At the end, I wanted to know what was happening in Flip's life, what he was thinking and doing. I wanted to know Flip's thoughts and memories about the past. I wanted to see Cherry interact with Flip and see how and why her thoughts changed concerning Flip and Alex. The book felt unfinished, unexplained, and empty. But there was one good thing. I got goose bumps with the final paragraph which I liked.

There was one idea I really liked, page 151. It demonstrates a type of lacking intelligence. "Now that Alex knew Donna better, he saw that she wasn't unintelligent so much as lacking in curiosity. She learnt what was required of her at school but wasn't all that interested in any of the subjects beyond their usefulness to her as a set of grades somewhere down the line. Same with people. When she'd asked Rob about the camper van, it was the first time Alex had seen her show an especial interest in someone else's life, and even then, Donna had related it to herself. `I'd get claustrophobic.'"

DATA:
Story length: 258 pages. Swearing language: moderate, including religious swear words. Sexual content: none. Setting: current day England. Copyright: 2010. Genre: young adult paranormal fiction.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
I had to read this for my summer reading project and it was weird and surprising, and definitely mind-boggling. At times its a little strange but this book is so suspenseful and intriguing its really hard to put this book down. I 115% recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
I'm still reading this book, but it is great story. I like the strange story like this book. as a result I advice to buy this book now !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
I really wish the shared Philips side when he returned back to his own body.. I would of liked to have known
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2011
I'm definitely "post-teenage" but love really good YA fiction. This novel is one of the best, and moves into the edges of real horror. What does it mean to be you? is the question addressed. Great characters, great story and moves very fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.98
$7.99

Need customer service? Click here