Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$107.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on February 28, 2013
One word for this work: encyclopedic. Bigness is one reason that I got it while having no imminent plans to visit Virginia. Few books have detailed descriptions and original illustrations as this does (not all are illustrated but a fair percent). Its modernity in taxonomy and habitat descriptions were also essential considerations, since I already have plenty of other older manuals.
As a serious recreational botanist, I look forward to studying it for this year's visit to the Smokies in East Tennessee where the book should have at least 95% coverage. As a professional ecologist, I appreciate the detailed habitat descriptions which I can interpret in terms of analogous habitats in west Michigan where 75% of the species are covered in this manual.
So far I like it a lot -- great work to authors and illustrators! I'll just need to keep a few other books at the other end of the shelf as counter weights.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
This is a beautiful, authoritative book that I've been wanting ever since I heard of the plans to publish it. It's a big thick book and not suitable for taking into the field, but if you're trying to identify some obscure wildflower in Virginia, you'll come back to it again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
This flora is the first offered for Virginia in exactly 250 years. This book is a complete guide to learn more about the plants of Virginia and beyond.
The most important thing about this book is that it allows us to get a broader knowledge of world's nature.
The authors have made a great work with an excellent content,full description of each plant and very accurate illustrations.
I highly recommend this book. Thanks Amazon!!! Delivery was right on time and the book has come in perfect condition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
Nicely illustrated.

Excellent descriptions! Very user friendly if keying is understood.

Love this book. The authors did a very nice job with this Flora of Virginia. Probably useable for adjacent states. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
Amazingly comprehensive guide to plants found in Virginia. By far the best reference guide for this subject I've ever seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
My husband loves this book. He's a biologist and the pictures and descriptions just blow him away. One of a kind and a terrific gift for gardeners and nature lovers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
I got this use as a reference for correctly identifying southeast native plants. There is probably no reference I would trust more for up to date accuracy. Also, the illustrations are excellent, very precise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
Really the best resource of its kind. If you want to know about or work with plants from Virginia, you need this book. Considering the vast amount of information and the sheer number of hours that went into its production, this book is a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
a beatuiful book, weighty in content ,,size ,and mass. we love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
Great book! Quick shipping!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse