Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Selkem
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Moderate wear on disc doesn't affect play /100% Guaranteed/Booklet & are in Very Good condition /ships FAST from New York, First Class, APO, FPO, or Int'l Air + Tracking
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.40
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Flowers in the Wildwood: Women in Early Country Music, 1923-1939 Import

4.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 16, 2005
$7.98 $6.99

Garth Brooks Now Streaming Exclusively on Amazon Music
With Amazon Music Unlimited you can listen to all of Garth's chart-topping hits including "Friends in Low Places," "The Thunder Rolls," and more. Learn more

Editorial Reviews

Women in America began staking a claim in country music long before recording equipment existed. The women country singers are the ones known as the Flowers in the Wildwood and on this disc they sing their old time country music in high sweet voices with only the sparsest of instrumental accompaniment. Though edging out from folk tradition, this music is made by women who were for the most part commercial country singers, because that's who typically made it onto records and the radio, after all. This collection dates from the decade before World War II, with a few precious offerings reaching back as far as the 1920s. These 25 rare recordings, released by Germany's quirky Trikont label, seem untouched by modern technology. 2005.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wish I Was A Single Girl Again
  2. Single Life
  3. I Left Her Standing There
  4. Flowers Blooming In The Wildwood
  5. She Came Rollin' Down The Mountain
  6. Just Another Broken Heart
  7. Round-Up Time In Texas
  8. We Are Climbing
  9. My Man's A Jolly Railroad Man
  10. My Poncho Pony
  11. Lorena
  12. All The Good Times Are Past & Gone
  13. Round Town Girls
  14. Home-Coming Week
  15. Will You Think Of Me
  16. On The Banks Of The Old Tennessee
  17. Kentucky Miner's Wife (Ragged Hungry Blues) P.1
  18. Go To Sleep My Darling
  19. Walking In The King's Highway
  20. My Loved Ones Are Waiting For Me
  21. Little Birdie
  22. Big-Eyed Rabbit
  23. How'm I Doin
  24. Prayer
  25. With My Banjo On My Knee Blues

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 16, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Trikont
  • ASIN: B0000942J5
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #272,403 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on April 3, 2004
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2007
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?