Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon counterpart counterpart counterpart  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99



on April 12, 2017
I love this movie! It is a good, wholesome, family movie. One of my favorites. Fair warning to parents/SPOILER ALERT: The movie starts off with a car wreck where the girls Mother dies. That's why she has to go live with her Dad. When we got this out to watch with my younger daughter, I had forgotten about that, and was worried that she was young enough that it was going to be an issue. It was not an issue, and she never mentioned it, but I had wished I remembered that part. After thinking about it, it seems like most children's movies start off with a parent dying, so I guess it is generally not an issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2015
Wonderful each time I see it and I have enjoyed it many times. A young girl's mother dies in a car accident and her father must take over all the responsibilities for raising her. She is rebelling. He is also a conservatist - protecting the woodlands, lakes and wildlife. There are others who came onto his property and destroyed a goose homeland area. The girl finds several goose eggs and hatches them herself. The geese hatch and follow the girl as if she were their mother. Then comes the problem of migrating the geese South for the Winter from Canada. Ideas come to pass and that's when the adventure pulls at God's willingness to help us with our problems. Touches my heart every time I watch it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2017
Life is the art of the impossible. Fly Away Home is an absolutely wonderful family film, that lifts your inspirations to soaring heights, with the unflappable determination of a family to show beautiful geese the way South and back home. An unforgettable movie that leaves you ponder, laugh, applaud, dream and cry with the triumph of a lifetime journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2012
This is a great family movie and we thoroughly enjoyed watching it. The only reason that I gave it a four star instead of a five star is that it subtly presented evolution and reincarnation when the father told the daughter, after her mother's death, that her mother was with her in the trees, birds, and so on. If the person watching the movie is a Scripture believing Christian, they would need to explain to their children that this is not in keeping with what Scripture teaches. It could be a great teaching moment or an oversight that could be cause for children to believe something not biblically sound. And, they also suggested that the growing up of Amy, the main character, was indicative of getting a nose ring piercing. The movie would not have suffered had these been left out. Sorry to be so critical of an, otherwise wonderful movie. Just want people to be aware that this movie is a great family movie, but not without the usual Hollywood influence.

We truly enjoyed the movie and would highly recommend it for an evening of family time and a teaching moment or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2018
A tearful movie if you care for animals who belong in their natural environments! A true story of a little girl in Canada who mothered a flock of dislocated(homeless) geese chicks and how she saved them all. A very touching movie throughout and the song 10,000 miles by Mary Chapin Carpenter brought it all together in the end. FANTASTIC MOVIE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2000
Carroll Ballard may not be a household name, but he has created some of the most magical children's films of the few 20 years. His "The Black Stallion" was based on the beloved Walter Farley novel and was considered one of the best films of the 1970s. He followed that film with "Never Cry Wolf," one of the best live-action films ever to come from the Disney Company. "Fly Away Home" is one of his latest offerings, and as with his earlier films, it is a magical look at life and nature through more innocent eyes.
The film stars Anna Paquin, the young actress from "The Piano" and the current young superheroine from "X-Men," as a young girl whose mother dies in a car accident and who goes to Canada to live with her estranged father, an eccentric inventor. At first, the young girl is angry and reserved and shuns even her father, but she slowly begins to rediscover a love for life when she adopts a small flock of orphan gooselings. The movie follows her almost maternal kinship with the gooselings and the warming trust she begins to develop for her father and how they eventually teach the geese to migrate (hence the title fly away home).
Anna Paquin is quite good in this film and depicts a vulnerable side to her character. She is certainly one of the best actresses of her generation. Jeff Daniels has an amusing turn as a father who doesn't quite know how to deal with the new daughter in his life. Dana Delany (from TV's "China Beach") also has a role as Jeff Daniels' faithful girlfriend. The overall film has a wonderful look to it, and it was nominated for an oscar for best cinematography. While the film deals with some sad issues (death of a parent, the stages of grief), it is nonetheless a truly enjoying film and one of the more under-rated children's films from the 1990s.
In fact, it is a pity that more films like "Fly Away Home" are not made. Hollywood tends to produce so many tepid, painful-to-watch children's movies that the true gems slip through our fingers. If you liked "The Secret Garden" or "A Little Princess" or "The Iron Giant" then you will find much to like in this film. All of these recent films are superb family entertainment and were sadly overlooked.
I watched this film on VHS and fell in love with it instantly. I would have bought it on DVD except for the absurd decision on the film company's part to make the DVD pan-and-scan only. Any film that was nominated for best cinematography deserves a widescreen treatment on DVD. So, by all means, watch this movie! But if you want it on DVD for your collection, wait until the film company regains its senses and offers the widescreen format.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2017
Encouraging story of a young girl who, after her mother dies, goes to live with her father. The development of their relationship hooks you fairly early on in the story. But when she rescues and secretly hatches the eggs of a Canada Goose and they imprint on her? The story takes off. Joy fills her heart as the goslings follow here everywhere. But when local bureaucrats try to clip their wings so they can't fly, she's horrified! Theyir mother isn't there to teach them how to find a winter home. So she learns to fly an ultra-light that her father has built for her and together, they head out to lead the geese to winter homes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2016
This is such a wonderful movie. I bought the DVD so I could watch it with my grand nieces, ages 6 and 8, when they visited. They loved it. They swore they could handle watching the first part where there is an auto accident, because I was going to skip over that part. They were fine with it. And they loved the movie as it progressed. The best part is the last 1/2. So endearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
We have watched this before but had the grandkids over and we watched it all together of course with homemade popcorn! This is based on a true story and is great movie from 5-? Jeff Daniels and supporting actors are super. Laughter, sadness, joy, tears, triumph! Leaves you feeling up! No pun intended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 31, 2017
My granddaughter and I love this movie! Makes us laugh, makes us cry. Very wholesome and heartwarming. An excellent family movie night film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Duma (2005)
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here