Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Discs like new, from large personal collection. Guaranteed free from defects. Super fast shipping.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


CD Single

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, September 1, 2000

Editorial Reviews


Foliage represents the Riverdale Ensemble's premiere recording and it is a winner. The CD contains three works for clarinet, violin and piano - one which is relatively unknown (Hans Gál), a world premiere (the Canadian composer Daniel Foley) and a standard (Aram Khachaturian).

The Gál is a three-movement work that displays his firm grounding in the Classical Germanic tradition of Bach, Mozart and Brahms. The Khachaturian Trio is a staple chamber work from the first half of the twentieth century. The Riverdale Ensemble's interpretation of the work is nothing less than astonishing, a simply stunning performance that is worth the cost of the CD alone. Foley's Hommage à Henri Rousseau is well crafted and displays Foley's superb handling of a number of musical styles, ranging from the Baroque to early, Massenet-influenced Debussy to boogie-woogie.

The performances are all top-notch and the recording is simply amazing both in terms of balance and sonic quality. The programme notes are informative and useful. This CD has something to appeal to everyone: something old and relatively unknown, something new that was commissioned by the Riverdale Ensemble, and a twentieth-century classic. I eagerly look forward to the Riverdale Ensemble's next release. I would strongly recommend this disc. --Edward Jurakowski (CAML Review)

The Riverdale Ensemble features music from the 'other twentieth century', in the Romantic idiom that speaks both to the heart and to the head. It is their quoted intention to bring neglected music to the fore, and pianist Ellen Meyer, violinist Daniel Kushner and clarinettist Stephen Fox constitute a trio of elegant talent who make this CD of mainly unfamiliar work a worthwhile experience. --Gordon Lewin (The Clarinet and Saxophone)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hans Gál: Trio Op. 97, 1st mvt.
  2. Hans Gál: Trio Op. 97, 2nd mvt.
  3. Hans Gál: Trio Op. 97, 3rd mvt.
  4. Daniel Foley: Hommage à Henri Rousseau: Joyeux farceurs
  5. Daniel Foley: Hommage à Henri Rousseau: Le rêve
  6. Daniel Foley: Hommage à Henri Rousseau: Un soir de carnaval
  7. Daniel Foley: Hommage à Henri Rousseau: Clémence
  8. Aram Khachaturian: Trio, 1st mvt.
  9. Aram Khachaturian: Trio, 2nd mvt.
  10. Aram Khachaturian: Trio, 3rd mvt.

Product details

  • Audio CD (September 1, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Furiant FMDC 4619-2
  • ASIN: B001A6ZFT4
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,426,322 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: hans gal