Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by funrec-us
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: We ship from germany via airmail within 24 hours.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Folk Collection

3.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 22, 2000
"Please retry"
$19.98 $4.38

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Bonny May - June Tabot
  2. Auretti's Dutch Skipper/An Adventure At Margate/The Spirit Of The Dance - Brass Monkey
  3. Fisher Boy - Eliza Carthy & The Kings Of Calicutt
  4. Somewhere The Sun Is Shining/Hold Back The Tide - John Tams/Londa Thompson
  5. Fine Horseman - Silly Sisters
  6. The Barley & The Rye - Robin Dransfield
  7. Rising - Tarras
  8. Worker's Song - Dick Gaughan
  9. Rackabello - Waterson:Carthy
  10. Carthy's Reel/The Return To Camden Town - Martin Carthy/Dave Swarbrick
  11. Courting Is A Pleasure - Nic Jones
  12. The Weary Whaling Grounds - AL Lloyd
  13. The Saucy Bold Robber - Roy Harris
  14. Moonshine - Martin Simpson
  15. The Lady Leroy - Battefield Band
  16. Blind Fiddler - Eliza Carthy
  17. The Twa Corbies - Ray & Archie Fisher
  18. Sir Patrick Spens - Martin Carthy
  19. Angi - Davy Graham

Disc: 2

  1. Horizonto - Blowzabella
  2. When First I Came To Caledonia - Waterson:Carthy
  3. The Snow It Melts The Soonest - Anne Briggs
  4. Old Grenadier - Brass Monkey
  5. Blood & Gold/Mohacs - Silly Sisters
  6. Both Sides The Tweed - Dick Guaghan
  7. Da Fields o' Foula/My Love Is a Fair Lad - Tarras
  8. Columbine - Lal Waterson/Oliver Knight
  9. Go Down Ye Murderers - Ewan MacColl
  10. The Sun Is Burning - The Ian Campbell Folk Group
  11. Cold, Wet & Rainy Night/The Grand Hornpipe - Eliza Carthy
  12. The Verdant Braes of Skreen - The McPeake Family
  13. The Skewbald - Martin Carthy/Dave Swarbrick
  14. The Hewer - The High Level Ranters
  15. Soldier's Joy - Aly Bain/Tom Anderson
  16. Twa Recruiting Sergeants - The Exiles
  17. Down by The Seaside - Shirley Collins
  18. Train To Bay - Olvers Knight
  19. Apple Tree Wassail - The Watersons

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 22, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Topic Records
  • ASIN: B00003E44Y
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,080,917 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
This is a wonderful collection of celtic folk tunes sung by people who clearly love this music. The selections are varied so there's no bordom or redundancy here. The artists are all masters of the craft. You'll hear beautiful voices, supurb instrumental talent and songs that transport. This one is also a fine way to experience unfamiliar artists. (I didn't expect the "Silly Sisters" to sing like angels!) 2 CDs. Enjoy!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This 2cd compilation was released to celebrate Topic Records sixtieth birthday , but I suppose it`s really an introductory cd to the delights of Topic`s rich array of artists , and the legacy that they`ve left over the last forty years .
If you`re open minded to music , you`ll discover over 2 hours of ecletic folk music performed by some of the finest talent that the British Isles , and Ireland has to offer .
This cd is a great listening experience in it`s own right , but once these songs are etched in your brain , you`ll be out hunting down the original Topic albums that they came from .
Go on , buy it , it`s cheap enough !
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse