Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on March 14, 2017
Follow the Drinking Gourd (Paperback)
by Jeanette Winter
a great story of following directions.. if you look at its simplest form.
Looking through the lenses of history this book has a lot of appeal, it brings to the for front the movement of the underground rail road and makes it into a story of a single family. This book is a great jumping point for looking into history. The song and the lyrics are a way to connect to the youngest of students. I used this in a second grade classroom for connections to Black/ African American history. We focused not only on the song but on the idea of freedom and dreams. This was the end of the unit, the children were asked to write a poem or song telling their steps to their dreams. They did learn a little of history along the way, and were able to understand the historical figures within this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2016
Excellent quality, price and delivery was early, too!
Beautiful artwork!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2017
Excellent reading for our grandchildren
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
During the time of slavery in the United States, many slaves were able to escape and find their way north to freedom by following the Drinking Gourd--Big Dipper. As the note at the beginning of this historical children's book tells, slaves learned a folk song entitled "Follow the Drinking Gourd". Masters and overseers thought the song harmless, though nonsensical. The song actually embedded directions on how to escape from the South into freedom in the North. I had known all of this before reading FOLLOW THE DRINKING GOURD. What I didn't know was about legendary Underground Railroad conductor, Peg Leg Joe.

Using the lyrics of the song "Follow the Drinking Gourd" and the legend of Peg Leg Joe, Winter crafts a short tale about a slave family that follows the directions of the song that Joe teaches them to escape to freedom next spring. Accompanying the text are Winter's earth-toned illustrations displaying the family's escape and the dangers they endure on their journey.

The last page of the book contains the lyrics and music to the folk song "Following the Drinking Gourd."

FOLLOW THE DRINKING GOURD is an excellent tool in introducing children to the Underground Railroad. It's also a good story in teaching astronomy classes to illustrate how the stars have been used for different purposes throughout time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
My 5 year old grandson liked this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
This is one of my favorite stories so when I misplaced my copy, I immediately got another one. My mother was a first grade teacher and she used to read it to her pupils. Now that she has dementia, I use it to help her maintain her vocabulary. When she's restless, this is a great story to get her settled. She loves the story and the richly colored illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
This book is beautifully written and illustrated.I didn't expect that. It was in great shape and arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
I love this story as a supplement my elementary music curriculum when teaching students about code songs and how slaves found ways to escape via the Underground Railroad. The book also includes the music at the end of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
Very informative. book was in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse