Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer STEM March Birthstone Shop Popular Services girlss6 tgirlss6 girlss6  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Style Name: Regular Mouth|Change
Price:$8.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,967 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,135 reviews
VINE VOICEon July 31, 2008
FoodSaver may be kind of shooting themselves in the foot with this product. We found their plastic canisters to be rather expensive, and there were too many reviews saying people had experienced cracks in them. I'm sure a plastic canister would be good in some circumstances, but when we found out there are wide-mouth 2 quart canning jars (you generally only see 1 quart and 1 pint in the stores), we bought the last 3 cases of them we could find locally (6 jars in each case) and ordered this Jar Sealer. What a great product!

Just so there's no misunderstanding, this product is removed after the jar is sealed, and the lid stays put - just screw on the jar ring and put away whatever is in the jar. At first it was a little unclear whether we had to get one of these attachments for each jar, but that's not the case.

Now we can use relatively inexpensive (and durable) ½ gallon canning jars (as well as the smaller sizes) for various food items, take out what we need for use, and immediately vacuum-seal the jar again with the remaining contents. A case of six 2 quart jars was just over $8.00, so for about $25 (plus the one-time cost of the jar sealer attachment of course) we have 9 gallons of storage capacity to use over and over, without concern for cracking like the FoodSaver plastic canisters apparently do too often. And replacing the sealing lids when they finally need replacing is a minimal expense. This also sure beats the cost of the plastic sealing bags that generally can only be used one or two times, when we can use these jars over and over instead of the bags. There is a place for the plastic bags, but we're finding so far that a whole lot that we initially started putting in the bags can just as easily (if not easier) go in the jars. Additionally, the jars keep powdered or liquid products from going into the vacuum sealer much more easily than the bags laying flat at the mouth of the sealer.

All around, these easy to use and very inexpensive for ongoing use, with almost nothing to replace or crack, and easy to store.

One tip: read the instructions carefully. DO NOT open the FoodSaver lid first when it's finished, or it will repressurize the jar. Follow the instructions and remove one end of the plastic tube first - there will be just a little puff of air as air re-enters the system, but it doesn't go into the jar and destroy the vacuum in the jar. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
4747 comments| 1,066 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
Works like a charm. I bought a ziploc manual pump like the one that is sold for use with the ziploc bags and can vacuum seal mason jars with no electricity or without dragging out a big vacuum sealer machine. Quick and easy to get into dry foods regularly and keep them sealed tight with little fuss.
review image review image
0Comment| 82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2005
Works perfectly. Soup, sauces, etc. last much longer when vacuum sealed in a mason jar. More economical than the expensive canisters sold by Foodsaver. The only drawback is that it's a very tight seal; have to pry it open with edge of a spoon or knife to break the vacuum.
33 comments| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
If you have a FoodSaver with an accessory port, you really need to get yourself the jar sealer. The bags are great for meats and certain items, but are expensive and only good for a single use. With this gadget (either wide mouth or regular mouth, depending on your jars) everyday canning jars and their lids can be used over and over, sealing in freshness and extending the shelf life of so many foods. Nuts, marshmallows, grated cheese, crackers, and all your baking ingredients can be stored for extended periods of time. Super fast and easy to use, too! As a plus, they will help make your pantry look neat and organized.

A brief tutorial: Just place the food in the canning jar, cover with a clean lid, and place the jar sealer over the lid. Attach the hose from the jar sealer to the FoodSaver, and press the vacuum/seal button. When it finishes vacuuming, quickly remove the hose from the jar sealer (do not remove the jar sealer itself just yet). You will hear a small release of air. Hold the jar sealer down on the jar for a few seconds and then remove the jar sealer. Your jar should now be sealed. You need just one jar sealer for all of your jars.

Some pointers -

Do not put the screw-on bands on the jars when you are sealing them. You can put them on afterwards if you must, but they are not necessary.
Place a piece of waxed paper, coffee filter or paper towel over powdery food items such as flour to prevent them from being sucked into the tube.
Be sure your jars are clean and free of chips or cracks.
If a jar won't seal, try placing two canning lids on the jar and sealing again. If it still won't seal, try a different lid or another jar.
Even after a jar seals, it may not stay sealed. Check lids periodically.

Ace Hardware carries a full range of jar sizes, from 1/2 pint to 2 quart (1/2 gallon), which are hard to find. Order online and they will ship to a store near you for free.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
Works perfectly with Ball Mason jars. Just know the size you want is indicated, there is wide mouth and standard sizes.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
This is a GREAT product, IF you know how to use it! Tiny mistakes can make this product not work at all.
Canning jars are designed to be heat sealed, and the sealing compound (upper red ring inside lid) softens at boiling point - SO, it is difficult to get a good seal without using heat (only vacuum) unless you know the secrets:

WHAT TO KNOW:
1. The vacuum jar sealer works by creating a vacuum between the jar sealer's inner softer plastic ring and the lowest outer glass bead/ring below the threads of the glass jar. That strong and airtight connection is not always easy to achieve.
SO: Moistening both the upper side of the outer glass ring on the jar, as well as the inner soft plastic (blue on mine) of the jar sealer will help to get a better seal, if needed.
2. Though this is an accessory attachment, the overall vacuum that is sensed by the vacuum sealing machine is affected. If there are any abnormalities in your main machine, the attachment will not work.
SO: Make sure that the inner seals/gaskets of your main sealer are soft, pliable and completely free of any moisture, debris, dried food or creases. These are the gaskets where you normally seal bags. If they aren't airtight, your jar sealing will not work correctly. Clean them completely off and dry them. Replace gaskets if necessary. They MUST be clean and creating a good strong seal inside the machine.
3. The lid adheres to the top of the glass jar only at the moment right when the vacuum process stops. As long as sufficient air has been evacuated from the glass jar, then the air rushing back in is what creates the seal.
SO: The cancel button or simply releasing the vacuum motor on the sealing machine both DO NOT create large/fast enough volume of air to make a seal. Actually yanking the plastic tube connector (not the tube itself) out of the top of the jar sealer is the only way to get enough of a rush of air to properly seal. With practice you can do this as one person (one palm holds down the lid of the sealer activating the pump motor, and the thumb and first fingers of that same hand keep vertical downward pressure on the jar sealer), but it is easier and faster with two.

STEP BY STEP:
a) Remove the metal lid-retaining ring and the lid from jar. Set the metal retaining ring aside. You do not use the ring during vacuum sealing (only afterwards).
b) Using a very clean partially damp sponge*, moisten the upper part of the lower outer glass ring (below where the bottom of the metal ring is), all the way around the jar. IMPORTANT! Place the jar directly next to the sealing machine (one hand must hold both when you seal)
c) Using the same sponge, moisten all the way around the inside of the softer plastic ring on the inside of the sealer (this will contact the glass ring you just moistened)*
d) lightly moisten just the red/sealing outer band on the bottom of the lid*. Tap on its side to remove any excess
e) Place lid on jar, then sealer over everything, with hose firmly attached.
f) While keeping strong downward vertical pressure with one hand, use the other hand's butt of it's palm to press down on the sealing machine to activate the motor.
g) While motor is running, position the motor-actuating hand so that it begins to grab around the top of the sealer and pulls down using thumb and first fingers. You have to do this with one hand, because the other hand (or a helper) will be needed to pull out the hose connector very quickly.
h) For a quart glass jar, the motor must run no less than sixty seconds (YMMV)
i) After enough time has passed to have evacuated sufficient air from the glass jar. Keep your left hand (if right handed) with simultaneous downward pressure on the sealing machine/motor and downward pressure holding down the jar sealer., with thumb and fingers wrapped around as much as possible to create even downward pressure around the jar. Release your right hand with the motor still running
j) Use your right/dominant hand to firmly grasp the tube connector at the top of the jar sealer. While the motor is running, very quickly yank the tube connector straight up and out of the sealer.
k) You can then relax all your muscles. Wiggle up the jar sealer, and if you did everything right, the jar will be sealed, the button on top will be down, and you can screw on the ring tightly to maintain the seal.

TIPS:
i) *Once you have your technique & confidence down (and your gaskets are clean), you may not need any use of moisture, or maybe only every several jars.
ii) If you try a couple of times and you cannot seal, try the SAME lid with a DIFFERENT jar. Small imperfections in the manufacture of the jar (the seam that runs up the sides especially) can make it so that some jars simply cannot be sealed.
iii) Heating up your lids in boiling water (remove, then tap to shake off water right before sealing) can help to create a better seal*.
iv) If your glass jar does not have the full outer/lower ring below where the end of the metal ring stops, then it cannot use this jar sealer.
v) Lid outer sealing areas must have full covering of the red sealing material. Nicks and scratches will not work. Some people swear by new lids, other by pre-dishwasher "relaxed fit" lids - doesn't seem to matter to my technique.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2016
This jar sealer is a must-have if you own a food saver machine with a hose attachment. I have so many mason jars, and I always used to just put food in there and screw the lid on the traditional way. Once I realized they made an attachment to vacuum-seal the jars, I had to get it. Certain foods just aren't a good idea to seal in the regular food saver bags if they are fragile, juicy, or squishy. Mason jars are the perfect solution for that. The cost of this jar sealer is cheaper than buying more bags, so in the long run you are saving money because you will use way less bags if you start sealing more stuff in jars. This jar sealer works perfectly. Just attach the hose to the top, pop the sealer on top of your jar and press the button. It's kind of a tight fit and you have to use some muscle to put it on and off, but that's ok. The sealer is made of a heavy-duty white plastic with a blue rubber rim on the inside. It appears to be of high quality, not the kind of plastic that will crack or break if dropped. Before I used this, I wasn't too sure if it would actually give the jars a legitimate seal, but it really does. It seals them so tightly, I always have trouble getting the lid back off when I wanna access the food again. When I do get it off, I hear a nice "pop" of the seal breaking, so I know it worked. There's not much else to say about this jar sealer. It does exactly what it's supposed to do and it does it well! No issues using it with my 4900 series food saver machine.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
It's been nearly two months since I purchased my regular mouth jar sealer, but I just started using it regularly within the past couple of weeks. I primarily bought it to vacuum seal the mason jars that I store my juiced fruits and veggies, nut milks and homemade salad dressings in. It has served me well in that function.

However, the other night I juiced about twelve 8 oz jars and three 1 qt jars worth of juice. After sealing maybe the third jar the blue seal fell from the inside of the apparatus. Though the seal was quite easy to re-install on the jar sealer, it kept falling out practically every time I used it thereafter. As you can imagine, this became very annoying fairly quickly.

Something else that I'd like to note is that I have to use two mason jar lids stacked atop one another to get a good seal. Attempts to get a good seal using one lid fail every time. Nevertheless, I would likely purchase this item again, unless of course I found a more quality item that served the same purpose.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
Works as described. Easy to use. Fits the standard canning jars.
I do have one complaint.
This unit has 2 separate parts, the white plastic tool you see in the pic and a silicone washer that fits inside the rim of this plastic piece, this is what seals against the outter wall of the jar that the lid screws down on. It grabs on nice and tight. But after the vacume is done and you pull the device off of the jar, the silicone piece always pops out of the plastic part and stays on the jar. It is not stuck on the jar, the jar just has better grip on the washer than the plastic part so it always gets pulled out so you have to put the washer back on the plastic part each time. Very easy and all, but just kind of annoying. I just wish the washer was somehow mounted to the plastic so you would not have to deal with that. But again, not a big deal, just an annoyance.
WARNING. This is for removing much of the air from the jar so the food lasts a little longer. This does NOT sterilize the food, this is not Canning food. Do not confuse this with canning food for long term storage. I have seen people posting asking if this will allow them to store food for long term like with pressure cooking and canning. Do not want anyone getting sick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
I have both of these jar sealing lids. I've had no issues at all with the wide mouth version. It seals well for everything from powders to granulated to larger items such as beans or rice. The regular mouth version, however, is poorly designed. As others have noted here, the rubber gasket comes off each time you try to remove the sealer for the regular mouth version (the one on the wide mouth sealer is fixed in place) AND the seal is lost,, so the jar lid never seals as it should.

I should have heeded the other reviews. I figured they just got defective ones or were using it wrong. I've tried duck tape (didn't work) and came back here to see if others had more ideas. I'm going to try using two lids next and if that doesn't work, I'll try unplugging the hose before the pressure drops as others have suggested. So far, it has been more trouble than it has been worth. I've had success only on about 5% of the jars I've attempted, and it made a huge mess last night when I tried to seal a fruit powder in one jar (lost a lot of it when I tried to remove the sealer, and a good bit also got sucked into the hose, which I'm still not sure how to clean!).

I hope to have more success as others have reported with their workarounds, but for 10 bucks they ought to at least have something that works as intended. Why Foodsaver doesn't fix this obvious design flaw is beyond me. My advice: Steer clear of the regular mouth version unless you love frustration and mess (and being out $10!). Just buy wide-mouth jars and use the other version of this sealer. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse