Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fool's Gold?: The Truth Behind Angel Investing in America (Financial Management Association Survey and Synthesis Series)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2008
If you've ever thought about seeking angel investment capital for your business, there's a good chance you will start the process with some misconceptions. Same goes if you are thinking of becoming an angel to invest in other businesses.

For instance, you may have had the notion that individual angels are rich -- or at least very well off -- and invest a lot of money in each business. Not necessarily so, says this book.

I recommend you spend some quality time with this book if you are interested in seeking angel funding. It could save you some mis-starts and get you pointed in the right direction faster.

This is a book stuffed full of facts and study data. If you wanted to know, say, whether your retail business is a good candidate for angel investing, the book will tell you (answer: yes, 25% of angel investments are made in retail businesses).

You might wonder how a book of facts and data could help you as an entrepreneur. That's easy. From information gleaned you can get a much better idea of such things as:

- why angels invest (it may be as much about having a hobby as making money)

- how angels decide on which businesses to invest in (with less investigation than you'd expect)

- how angel investors come up with valuations and what kind of ownership interest they will expect (most don't do formal valuations and they demand smaller ownership stakes than you might expect)

- where and how to find angel investors (hint: look locally)

All of these things will help you understand how to appeal to angel investors.

The writing style is crisp and direct. Despite the many figures and statistics scattered throughout, it's relatively easy to read and comprehend.

You should get this book if you are serious about getting angel investment or if you are thinking of becoming an angel investor yourself.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2008
Scott Shane is one of the most widely published scholars on the topic of entrepreneurship. In Fool's Gold: The Truth Behind Angel Investing in America, Professor Shane turns his disciplined methodology and logic towards unmasking commonly held misconceptions about angel investing. His effort yields accessible yet robust inferences about a little understood business activity.

This book provides the reader with a rigorous review of the landscape of Angle investing, with an eye towards examining the feasibility of commonly held beliefs. The strength of the book lies in the analysis reported in Chapters 2 through 6. However, Chapters 7, 9 and 10 are important for those interested in considering becoming active angel investors.

Shane's book is not a how-to investment classic, as this book does not provide the reader with specific tools on how to become a better investor. However, this book is an imperative read for angel investors, public policy makers, and entrepreneurs. Why? Shane's efforts have yielded the best book for acquiring a rigorous review of the landscape of Angle investing. Legendary investor Ben Graham wrote that investors should study business history. This book fits this tradition, by providing the reader with an analytical report on the background and context of Angel investing in the United States.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2008
I liked this book very much. It's the second book written by this author I have read. And I cannot praise it enough. The topic: Angel investing and angel investors - the inside scoup. The book has 231 pages and 12 chapters. I urge you to examine the Search Inside material provided by Amazon so you can study the book's Table of Contents.

Each chapter has a "Key Facts to Remember" section just before an end-of-chapter "In Conclusion" section. I found the chapter titles to be very helpful in telling me what the book was about. But I also got lots of insight into the contents of the chapters by reading the key facts and conclusion sections. This book was really easy to read as a result.

If I had one gripe with the book I felt as though the author was arguing many of his points rather than simply stating them as facts. I don't think the book needed as much argumentative prose as it included. I agree with everything the author says about the nature and reality of angel investors and angel investing. But he could have been a little more succinct in his presentation of his points.

I've read a few books that talk a little about angel investors and investing. But there are only two I think are worth mentioning besides this one. The first is the original Rich Dad Poor Dad book. The "rich dad" refered to in that book was an angel investor. And many of the lessons Robert Kyosaki talks about in the Rich Dad books are a result of what he learned from that angel investor. Kyosaki says that angels have to be accredited investors. The instant book being reviewed says they don't. My understanding is angels only have to be accredited investors if you market your business as an investment to them. It's the act of marketing that forces the necessity of the angel to be accredited. But that's just my understanding of the subject.

The other book I read where angel money came into play was Maxine Clark's "The Bear Necessities of Business." Part of her seed money came from an angel she knew. She didn't market her idea to get money - so she didn't have to expect the angel to be an accredited investor. I think the angel investor who sunk money into Ms. Clark's venture qualified to be an accredited investor though.

The main point I got from this book is that angels don't provide all that much capital for start-ups or small companies. They are not like venture capitalists for the most part. And they certainly are not an easy group of individuals or companies to find and/or get hold of. On top of all this, there is a ton of misinformation in print and online about angel investors and investing. My recommendation: get a copy of this book to get the best picture possible of what angels are all about and whether you might be able to use one in your company's financial needs. 5 stars!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
The title, and the cover teaser "The truth behind angel investing in American," create the expectation of exposing some scandalous deception or corruption. It's nothing like that. What it does is expose misperceptions created and perpetuated by the media (due to sloppy reporting, possibly to PR efforts by the VC industry, but not due to some nefarious conspiracy). The author, Scott Shane, calls them "gross misperceptions" in his Introduction, and some of them are gross while others are merely slight distortions.

For example, many articles and authoritative-seeming books create a false impression that angel investors tend to be wealthy (accredited investors). Not true. In fact, 79% of angel investments are made by unaccredited investors. Only about 23% of angel investors have a household income of more than $200,000, and about 32% have household income of less than $40,000 per year.

Contrary to a lot of media coverage of angel investing, only about 23 percent of business angel are retired, only about half of them graduated from college, and the typical (median) angel investment was only about $10,000 in 2004.

More debunking: Studies show that an angel's entrepreneurial experience "is not correlated with his financial returns" from angel investments. From the entrepreneur's point of view, "there is no evidence that getting an angel investment increases the chance of getting a venture capital investment" later.

The book is, in fact, a long series of debunks. It's written like an academic report, not a narrative with anecdotes or war stories, and not with any guidance for would-be investors in terms of how to allocate or conduct due diligence. Most of the data is from studies conducted before 2004, when the financial world was different.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
This is a good book, but inappropriately titled. A more descriptive title would be "Angel investors: what and who they are"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2014
Greedy, Fear and Regret are the three elements that make stock market going.

Fool's Gold? Not necessarily if you have learned your lesson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2008
People should be able to review Amazon's Editorial Reviews. Who ever writes the reviews always slams anyone critical powerful organizations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2009
The book attempts to make sense of all the myths of Angel Investing. The book has numerous footnotes throughout offering you little comfort as to the data. The book also references several "studies" but the actual studies are not part of the book as therefore you are left to believe what Mr. Shane say's.
Since so much of his book is about rebutting what Angels are really like, it is interesting as you do you own research on the web or on other Angel Groups as what they tell you or say seem to refute much of what Mr. Shane reports. I guess in the end, you may never know unless you too can gain experience in raising capital. Otherwise, much of what he reports leaves you wondering. I wonder what the Angels themselves would say after reading it?
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2009
This is an academic piece that could have been condensed by 50%. Didn't bother finishing, and I almost always go cover to cover on topics (like this) that I'm involved in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse