Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
5 star
88%
4 star
12%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on August 15, 2014
This children's book author is a wonderful and creative storyteller. She has written so many books over the years. Her tales of family and her heritage seems to pour out of her books in colorful illustrations and words. I did have the opportunity to hear her speak and I really enjoyed her stories about her family and how she admits there is a fine line between fact and fiction. Are her stories true. Maybe. Maybe not she says! Books are bits and pieces of memories and our own impressions about people and events. Ps. This is a sweet book and love story. ;)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
This is one of Polacco's best. The story starts cheerful, turns sad, and ends ecstatic! And most of it centers around a sweet kitten turned cat. This is also a story of romance and true love. Near the end one can see the person-to-person love coming, but the way Polacco weaves the young teacher's, Ms. Danielle Park's, emotional relationship with her kitten AND her, surprising, future husband is endearing, sort of surprising, and definitely satisfying. I think the listener/reader will clap at the end.

Picture Book - Fiction: Grades 2-8
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
My four year old daughter loves this book. She has requested that we read it many times already. I like the story, too, it's very cute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
I love Patricia Polacco books, they are all great. I bought this one for my grandcat who is a therapy cat. Children enjoy reading to him and he seems to like being read to. I think both he and the children will enjoy the story and the illustrations in this book. Lovely story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
knew it has a wrinkle or two but really not a problem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
The first one I got came extremely damaged, the paper cover was wrinkled and had obvious signs of water damage...which was clearly from the warehouse seeing how nothing else in the box was damaged and the box was in perfect condition with no water damage or dents. I called Amazon, they quickly appologized and rushed me a new one, even though I didn't need a rush on it. The second one came in good condition and quickly, no complaints with service or replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 21, 2008
You'll want to go out and adopt a kitten after reading For the Love of Autumn. This charming storybook brings to life the joy and fun of having a kitty for a pet.

The story is about Danielle, a young teacher with a kitten named Autumn. The gray kitty shares Danielle's life, pouncing at her ankles as she walks, and curling up with her in the evening with a bowl of popcorn. When the young woman gets a new job in a seaside village, Autumn "helps" her pack and move into her new cottage. Autumn disappears one stormy night and Danielle's students help her find the kitten, and her true love, as well.

The heart of this book, as in other Patricia Polacco books for kids, is in the illustrations. The delicate full-color watercolors bring the story to life, and capture tiny moments like Autumn leaping toward a dragonfly on a flower. The faces of Danielle and her students show such expression. Even without the depth in the story, the book is worth it just for the artwork.

Other good choices from Polacco: The Lemonade Club,Ginger and Petunia,I Can Hear the Sun (Picture Puffins),When Lightning Comes in a Jar,Mommies Say Shh! and The Bee Tree.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I bought this for my daughter, Autumn. It is a lovely story about how a kitten brings two single people together, sharing the love of a kitten. It goes through a range of emotion, and is not a short picture book, but the story flows and teaches a lesson. It is an excellent addition to your library from renowned author, Patricia Polacco, a great children's writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
Sweet story. Granddaughter loves it and I enjoy reading it to her. Granddaughter's name is Autumn!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
An absolutely enchanting story. Another winner from Patricia Polacco. My students laughed and cried along with me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$7.36

Need customer service? Click here