Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $5.01 (33%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Fortune's Pawn (Paradox Book 1) by [Bach, Rachel]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Fortune's Pawn (Paradox Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 277 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in Paradox (3 Book Series)

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99

Length: 341 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

This month's Book With Buzz: "Little Fires Everywhere" by Celeste Ng
From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture - perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives. See more
click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Ambitious career mercenary Devi Morris, believing her advancement stalled in the prestigious Blackbird company, accepts a security position on the notorious trade ship Glorious Fool, a ship so prone to interesting times that one year served there counts as five years served anywhere else. Devi discovers a diverse crew of aliens and humans under a demanding master, and a ship full of secrets worth killing to protect. Swarms of alien slavers and predator-infested derelict ships lost in the depths of space are dangerous enough, but can Devi survive the Glorious Fool herself? All of space opera&'s conventions make appearances, including violent aliens, mysterious powers, high-tech weaponry, powered armor, sympathetic mercenaries, and feudal societies. What Bach fails to demonstrate is much ability to blend her stock set pieces into a coherent whole or put a new spin on familiar clichés. (Nov.)

Review

"This book kicked ass... I JUST LOVED IT!" (Felicia Day)

"Rachel Bach's Fortune's Pawn is based on a fascinating premise and launches what looks to be a superb military science fiction series." (Eric Flint)

"Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick...Lots of fun." -- Kirkus

"Bach makes her SF debut with this series launch that introduces a strong female heroine whose mind is mostly on her career -- and her high-tech suit of armor -- yet who finds herself inexplicably drawn into a relationship that could damage her life and her honor. Fans of Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan series and David Weber's Honor Harrington novels should enjoy starting another potentially long-running SF military saga. -- Library Journal

"Bach's space opera is a fantastic, action-packed and accessible exploration of deep space. Devi is hands down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time...Fans of Douglas Adams, Scalzi and Fforde will absolutely devour Fortune's Pawn." -- RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 stars)

Product details

  • File Size: 1529 KB
  • Print Length: 341 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (November 5, 2013)
  • Publication Date: November 5, 2013
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0092XHX42
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #214,270 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Space Opera Books
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Fortune's Pawn (Paradox Book 1)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Fortune's Pawn (Paradox Book 1)