Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Alexa on Mobile PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 92 reviews
on May 24, 2014
I could go into a long-winded review of Fortysomething, but, to keep it short and to the point:

It's brilliant.

Hilariously funny with actors that people know and love, and some that we might not recognize the names of but learn to love from their performance in this TV miniseries. Humour galore, a great deal of it what would be dubbed "inappropriate", but that's what gives it the comedy effect. I don't like comedies, even, and this one made me laugh out loud countless times during each episode.

I wish there would have been more episodes, but if it hadn't ended where this did, we probably wouldn't have ever had shows like "House" or even "Sherlock". Overall, a good comedy instilling the values of family (and sometimes, the lack thereof) and love, with all the snarky attitude of British humour, it's a good investment for the Hugh Laurie, comedy, or British fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
I love this series and wish there were more. Hugh Laurie is his usual brilliant self and there is a cameo by his m'colleague Stephen Fry in one episode. Anna Chancellor was the big surprise, only seeing her in Pride & Prejudice and What a Girl Wants, this showed her to be an amazing actress with a warmth and charm that the other roles never allowed her to express and it only enhanced her physical beauty. Benedict Cumberbatch as their oldest son was wonderful and sometimes I think he bears a resemblance to Hugh Laurie, I know he doesn't but still. Peter Capaldi (Doctor Who) as Laurie's nemesis will have you laughing out loud at his insane antics. Slices of life that are over the top but not completely unrealistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
Hugh Laurie, Peter Capaldi , and a VERY young Ben Cumberbatch. Is there anything else needed? But more it has! A great plot, and funny! Hugh Laurie plays a NHS doctor who is in the midst of a mid life crisis. His three rambunctious almost grown boys, and a wife heading back to the work force doesn't help matters. I could almost wish that this had lasted longer. But if it had, we wouldn't have had House, Sherlock and soon the 13th Doctor. So Kudos for what it is and if wishes were horses beggars would ride. If you like Brits, House, Sherlock, or comedy in general BUY IT!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
Easily the worst British TV show we've ever watched. The writing is childish. It's tasteless and just not funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
ok show the only good one in it is Benedict Cumberbatch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
I'm sure that Fortysomething would have had a longer run, if Hugh Laurie hadn't gotten his role in 'House.' But these are six of the most entertaining episodes of sophisticated British comedy that I've seen. I bought it on DVD when it became unavailable for streaming on Netflix. Great writing, great cast. Loads of fun! Hugh Laurie, Anna Chancellor, Sheila Hancock, Peter Capaldi in a particularly hilarious turn, and a young Benedict Cumberbatch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2015
Hugh Laurie at his best with the added treat of a young Benedict Cumberbatch showing an early sensitive but witty performance of the kind for which he has now become well-known.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Hugh Laurie's role is both side splitting and heart rending in this. Middle age is not for the faint hearted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Hugh Laurie is one of my favorite actors and he plays a comedic role in this short-lived British comedy. It is definitely adult entertainment with the topics present but full of irony and laughable situations. I originally watched the series, only 6 episodes, on our local PBS channel and knew that I would like to watch it again and again so I purchased the series. If you like British-style comedy with slightly adult topics, you will enjoy this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Forty-something is hilarious. Benedict Cumberbatch is in nearly every episode as the couple's young son, Rory. There's even an added extra for fans of Peter Capaldi, since he co-stars as the main characters' business associate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse