Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Alexa on Mobile GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on November 7, 2013
In my practice as an educator, it is evident that students are protected from the challenges which will contribute to their success. Parents try to shield their children from failure, and everyone wins a trophy for participation. While winning is not always the goal, learning from our mistakes and building the resilience, determination, or grit to persevere and eventually succeed is key to a fulfilling life. "Good failure" is how the author terms it. Hoerr presents solid research and references to support the importance of teaching and demonstrating grit, and gives practical examples, even a lesson plan, for implementing instruction. This is done in the concise ASCD Arias format, while perhaps not scholarly, is surely a breath of fresh air for us content-weary readers of professional publications. Get to the point, apply it, and move on!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Thomas Hoerr's book is a great synthesis of current resilience / grit theory, with a fine point on providing a concise and pragmatic practical application tool for classroom instruction. In working with a district of 21,000 students that seems to be stuck in a circular pattern of analysis paralysis on the subject of resilience / grit, I am beside myself in wanting to stand on the Superintendent's desk and demand that he give a copy of this book to every faculty member with the explicit instruction that they should "Just Do it." Despite faculty push-back that they can't possibly take on one more "initiative", the concise nature of this book makes reading it in one sitting a no brainer. Bravo, Dr. Hoerr!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
a short book that makes it clear how important grit is in a child's development, but like so many educational books, it is long on platitudes and short on actual lesson plans. The unit it does provide is for middle school; it can be adjusted for high school, but that requires more work than this book assumes: a middle schooler's relationship with grit is so different from a high schooler's.

I think it's an important book and i do give it 4 stars, but it's a slender read and I finished feeling a bit unsatisfied
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I was disappointed in the lack of application. Good information,but what are the best ways to implement the ideas presented? Very brief
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
This should be required reading for every new parent and every new teacher. We need tough, creative adults to solve the world's problems. The over-protected, over-indulged people who blame others for their problems are not helpful to the evolution of society.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
The topic is interesting and relevant, however, I found the book to be lacking in depth. In addition, the copy I received began on page 5, in mid-sentence, and is missing all of the preceding pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
Clear and specific. Structured well and included genuinely helpful ideas. Written with simplicity and valuable suggestions. Though it was more for those new to the concept and I was already a believer, when I was finished reading, I was ready to call a meeting immediately to begin the process...loved the alphabet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
Though this short book doesn't require much "grit" to get through, it's got a great message for educators looking to integrate deeper learning and the soft skills that will carry our students to success beyond of the classroom.

This book was recommended by a parent of an alumnus from New City School (where Hoerr is principal). Glad to have read it because it allows me to better articulate curriculum & project goals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Educators and parents--while well-meaning--have steadily eroded opportunities for students to develop resilience. This brief ebook tackles the point of the matter and follows up with very good suggestions for educators.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
As s teacher I have found that many of the "honors" student think that all work should be easy. Teaching grit is a necessary part of their educational development. This book offers up good ideas for adding grit to the curriculum.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse