Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing: A Clinical Approach, Fifth Edition
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2006
Any book of thys type that has gone through five editions has to have something going for it, and This book has many. Perhaps the most important is the writing style which is as light and casual as it can be considering the subject. The goal is, of course, to prepare the student for a career. The book combined instructional material with case histories that illustrate how a particular case, situation, or patient was successfully handled. Each chapter starts with a page entitles 'A Nurse Speaks.' Here practicing nurses relate some of their history

In addition to the text, the book is supplied with a CD-ROM oriented to preparation for the NCLEX examination. A companion web site for the book provides yet more information to help the student.

This is one of the standard books in the field, and it's easy to see why. This book convey's the information the student needs to know in a style that makes it as easy as possible.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2007
I purchased this book because of my psych clinical rotations in Nursing School. I have found the book to be very informative and fairly easy to understand. The chapters on specific disorders are really interesting. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to understand psychiatric disorders; you need not be a nursing student but some knowledge in medical terminology is helpful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2009
I am currently a psych nurse working on my masters as a mental health nurse practitioner, and this was the first book on mental health nursing I owned. It provides a good overview of mental health/psychiatric nursing and breaks down the subjects in an easy-to-follow format. Plus, it provides information on legal issue, such as involuntary admissions vs. voluntary admissions, which are important for any nurse to know, regardless of your area of interest. Overall, a great place to start for mental health nursing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2009
I would rate this book if I had gotten it. I never received the book, but was charged for and can't get my money back. The seller won't reply. My advice to amazon.com is to get rid of seller vivpop. Read the buyer comments. It seems they do all their customers this way. I would like to have my money back from someone whether it's the seller or amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2013
The book is written well, it gets to the point with out too much filler. It's older but a lot of the concepts haven't changed. Great buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2009
Product brand new just as seller described. Shipped in a timely manner, received in as little as 5 days using regular shipping!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
This book helped me during my psych rotation in nursing school. It really helped to find it here on Amazon for a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2010
i liked the book and it came in time for me to use as i had intended. I was happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2008
This is one of the most useful reference books for those in nursing who are going to focus in psychiatric nursing. This is a great book but it can get wordy at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2008
Other than the Chapter materials, there are many additional useful information including an online resource, tables, examples and images to facilitate learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse