Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Up [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$39.88+ $3.99 shipping


Showing 1-10 of 3,161 reviews(5 star). See all 3,836 reviews
on December 12, 2015
I'm 30 years old. I married my high-school sweetheart. I'm a father of two. I'm into guns and knives. I have a grungy garage gym and train every day. I'm 6'0" and 205 lbs of pure dude. And I cried like a little baby during the introduction of this movie.

This is one of the most enjoyable movies you could ever watch. It has so much heart and soul, it just reaches out and grabs your inner kid. This is right up there with the Incredibles, Brave, and Toy Story 3, if not better.

It really doesn't get much better than this movie. Also, my little girl who is 2 loves to watch this. Obviously, she doesn't get the same experience as me, but this movie really is for all ages. While you're likely to appreciate this for different reasons than me, you should watch it if you haven't.
0Comment| 141 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2017
FORMAT: Blu-Ray + Digital HD
UPC: 7-86936-85148-9
RELEASED: 2016-11-27

TITLE: Up (2009) • PG • 1:36:08
Edward Asner, Jordan Nagai, Delroy Lindo, John Ratzenberger
Pete Docter, Bob Peterson (Directors)

With this movie, Pixar offers up a RESOUNDING rebuttal to all of those close-minded, misguided souls who insist that "cartoons" are ONLY for children. Case in point: the montage very early in the film that shows many of the major events in Carl's life is some the most emotionally moving film-making — in ANY medium (using either "real" people or animated characters) — that you will EVER see! And, that doesn't even include the action, adventure and humor that follows! Though it is ONLY a "cartoon", this movie is an amazingly touching, and sweet, rumination on the joys and sadness of relationships — and, by extension, life. So, the lesson here is: just because the kids like it, does NOT mean that it has nothing to offer us poor, jaded adults. Buy it today, and watch it with your kids — heck, buy it today, and watch it EVEN if you don't have any kids. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

See the other reviews for more detail and/or other opinions regarding the plot of the movie.

VIDEO: 1.78:1 • Color • 1080p • MPEG-4 AVC (29.7 Mbps)

This movie's image, while featuring vivid well-saturated colors, and sharply rendered, finely-detailed objects, has — in quite a few scenes — some slight banding on large areas of the same (or nearly the same) color. Aside from that, it also has very good, to frequently excellent, contrast; and, it has very good shadow detail (as seen in the many dark and shadowy areas, such as the night scenes, and the dark scenes located in Carl's house). Also, fine detail is frequently evident in the brighter scenes (such as those in the jungle settings), and in the many close-ups of the "rare" bird and of Charles Muntz's dogs. Lastly, there are no obvious artifacts such as specks, white dots, hair-lines or color fluctuations (obviously, because this is a CGI-based, animated movie). Overall, this movie's presentation on blu-ray has very good picture quality; and, it should satisfy the vast majority of viewers.

AUDIO: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (48 KHz, 24-bit)

The sound quality of the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack for this disc, was pretty good (not great, but still pretty good) — while, it is NOT amongst the very best examples of the art, it is still better than many of the audio presentations out there. The film's dialog is clear and well placed, and the rear and side channels (I used the Dolby PLIIx mode on my processor while listening) are sometimes active and fairly directional; with clear, well recorded, sound cues and (on, all too rare, occasion) a decent amount of bass. Overall, the audio for this movie is a pleasing affair, that should satisfy all but the pickiest of listeners.

EXTRAS: Director's commentary
Several Short Films
Several 'Making Of' videos
Alternate Scenes
Character Biographies
Global Guardian Badge Game

None of the extras were reviewed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2015
Since catching the Frozen bug, I've been looking for another animated feature that is as compelling. For my money, most honestly aren't but this one is. Jaded as I am, I get through most dramas without crying and most comedies without laughing out loud - this film made me do both.

The storyline is quite unorthodox. It starts with the happily ever after! The montage depicting Carl and Ellie's happy married years is absolutely astounding. Ironically, given the film's title, it's very down to earth. It's some of the most masterful and touching motion picture work I've ever witnessed - animated or live action.

The adventure segment kicks in at the absolute least likely of junctures: the morning a cantankerous old Carl is scheduled to get trucked off to assisted living. The premise - rigging his house with thousands of balloons to turn it into an airship - is comically absurd. Perfect for an animated fantasy.

I'm not much for dogs in real life but here they really cracked me up. (Especially all the "Dogs Playing Poker" references...) The golden retriever Dug is easily the most funny and least annoying of all comic relief sidekicks.

Overall, this is one of the most brilliant and original things I've ever seen.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2016
I think by now most people have seen Up, but if there is one thing to know about this movie is that it's one of those Pixar classics that you can watch over and over again. Is this review a tad cliché? Perhaps. But when you're shoving Friday night pizza into your mouth, trying to silence the sobs threatening to escape, and using the same grease-stained napkin you used a second ago to wipe the BBQ sauce off your fingers for the tears that are quickly dripping onto your sweatpants, then you know this movie is legit. Nothing like the first 10 minutes of this movie to remind you of the #couplegoals you and those instagram people you follow dream about. 5/5, always.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Possibly Pixar's greatest masterpiece. The first 10-15 minutes are unequaled in animated cinema. Powerful, Emotional. The simple story of a couples life laid out with almost no dialog. Not a dry eye in the house. The rest of the story is just a fun and joyous romp of memorable characters. There are so mainly complex themes involving life and living and aging that you could write a careers worth of college papers on it. But at the end of the day it is just wonderful. The movie that gave 'Cone of Shame" to the pop culture lexicon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 18, 2016
I was very happy to learn that Disney had decided to re-release
UP for Blu-ray as a 3D presentation. I have always had a soft
spot for this wonderfully charming, touching adventure story that
proves once again that nobody makes animated features quite
like Pixar.

In one of the most poignant animated sequences ever filmed, we learn
the story of a young boy named Carl (Ed Asner) who dreams of
embarking on great adventures. This young boy stumbles upon the
love of his life, Ellie (Elizabeth Docter), who becomes his fellow "adventurer."
The two marry and grow old together, putting money away in hopes of
being able to visit Paradise Falls, a place that Carl swore he would one
day bring Ellie to visit. Unfortunately, that dream is never realized, as
Ellie eventually passes away. Now, a grumpy old man, Carl finds that
he is about to lose his home to a commercial construction company.
In a last-ditch effort to fulfill his promise to Ellie, Carl uses balloons to lift
his home and journey to South America.

UP excels in both story and animation. This beautifully crisp HD transfer
brings out all the wonderful textures within the artistry accented with
exuberant and stirring colors. None of the deep, well saturated coloration
seems to be hindered by active shutter eyewear. Black levels are
exceptional. Chalk this up as another outstanding, flawless rendering.

I wasn't quite certain if UP was originally conceived for or later up-converted
to 3D. Something seemed rather odd to me when watching the Blu-ray --
it looked too damn good to be a simple up-conversion, particularly for the
fact that there was quite a bit of protrusion. Upon doing some research, I
was delighted to find that UP was actually Pixar's very first film to be presented
in the newly introduced 3D format.

There is a predominant amount of depth to be found here which gives a keen
sense of giving proper size to foreground and background objects. In the
beginning of the film, there is a clever shot of Carl sliding down his electric
stairlift. Take a look at the contrast between the wall and the front railing.
It really provides a realistic sense of spacing. Many of the best 3D moments
of the film involve Carl's home flying over a city street or just gliding amongst
the clouds. Those shots provide exceptional view master-like moments that
greatly illustrate size amidst various objects.

As I recently mentioned, the one aspect of watching UP that convinced me
that this wasn't a simple up-conversion was the amount of objects that protruded
from the screen. As we watch Ellie lying on her back next to Carl describing cloud
formations, her fingers seem to extend beyond the borders of the screen. There
are many similar moments where Carl's thick black-rimmed glasses, nose and
chin poke outward. Even the snouts of dogs find themselves popping forward.
Now mind you, I wouldn't consider these real "In Yo' Face" moments, but the
jettisons are so tastefully done, that one can't help but still be admired by it all.

Disney's 5.1 DTS-HD MA is a real pleasure to listen to, particularly for Michael
Giachinno's wonderfully soothing score with touches of waltzes and anthems
which immerses and seemingly lifts the viewer as if attached to a string of
balloons. I rarely hear a score for an animated film that perfectly captures
the adventure on-screen than this one. Of course, the rear channels do an
exceptional job of relaying all the surrounding scenic and weather elements.
There is a good amount of rumbling LFE response to be found here whether
it be during a thunderstorm or when Carl's home is flying too close to the ground.
Clean, clear and crisp are three words that come to mind when describing how
well the sound is translated to the viewer. A exceptional HD experience in both
picture and sound.

UP arrives as a 4-disc combo pack that includes 3D/2D Blu-ray+2D Blu-ray
Bonus Features+DVD+Digital Copy. It even looks as if all the extra features
of the original Blu-ray release have been ported over. There were no trailers
included on the 3D disc.

The Blu-ray case is sleeved in lenticular packaging.

UP is yet another masterpiece from the Pixar animation team. In 2009 it was
awarded two Academy Awards for Best Animated Feature and Best Score. If
you have not had the opportunity to see this film in 3D, it is definitely time to
take a second look. UP looks even more uplifting than ever before thanks to
a 3D presentation that is nothing less than perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2015
One of my favorite animated movies to come out in the past few years. I'm a 30 something without children, so I don't watch very many animated movies, let alone own DVDs of them, but I had to have a copy of this. When I got the package in the mail I was a little alarmed because of the back it said that the digital code had to be used by 2011. I called Disney and a very helpful customer service rep. told me that they've changed their system or something and none of their digital codes are expired yet regardless of what the box says. She was right, I had no trouble using the digital code.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2016
I try to buy the bluray, dvd, and digital copy together for little kid movies that we buy. One of the great things about Disney is you can choose to download your digital copy to your Amazon account. With our kids having kindles they can watch their Disney movies anywhere. Another plus to the digital copy is they can watch it on our tv without touching (aka scratching) the blurays or dvd!!

Up is such a great kid movie. My 2 year old loves this movie and has watched it over and over. My other kids 11, 9, 6,4) enjoy it also. Plus there is just enough humor for my husband and I.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2013
though my review isnt going to be as awesome and thorough like a lot of others, i just have to comment on how beautiful this story is. i agree with a lot of others that even though its a pixar animated movie, its just as much for adults, if not more than it is for kids. not ratings-wise but content wise.

the story follows the old man through his love, loss and promises, and the journey along the way.

I will admit, i started crying in the first 10 minutes of the movie, its so incredibly sweet, and it reminded me of my own grandparents in that they were each others first and ONLY love, and my mama just recently passed, so the movie reeeally connected with me on that level because i can see my papa in the old man in the movie.

it's definitely a little different than your typical animated film, but if youre into the kind of more mature animated subjects and dig a sweet story, then definitely give this movie a shot. you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2014
The most wonderful movie. Involves an old man whose life with his beloved wife is traced from when they meet through their growing old together. It turns out the old man is, surprisingly, a rebel; and when he performs his big rebellious act, he doesn't realize that his actions have also affected a little boy scout. So the two of them are bound together, much to the old man's dismay, in a very heroic and wondrous journey.

I can't recommend this movie enough and give it 10 stars, especially for families. It is highly creative with a beautiful unfolding relationship between the boy scout and the old man, full of adventure and great problem solving. There are some scenes with some threatening dogs, so watch it first to decide if those parts would give any of your little ones nightmares.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse