Kindle Price: $16.99

Save $2.00 (11%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny by [Strauss, William, Howe, Neil]
Kindle App Ad

The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 464 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$16.99

Length: 398 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

The Fourth Turning continues the project of mapping out the place of generations in history, a project begun in the authors' earlier books Generations and 13th Gen. If millennial fever takes hold, The Fourth Turning may be only the first of an impending wave of pseudo-scholarly tracts prognosticating future (but imminent!) doom as we collectively close the books on this millennium. Those expecting a serious or dry tome might be put off by the authors' taste for bulleted text and catchy phrasings, but can you blame these guys for wanting to make impending peril as exciting as possible? After all, they think we are headed toward "events on par with the Revolution, the Civil War, or World War II" in the next 20 years. Mixing solid understanding of present generational divisions, with some fairly broad generalizations, Strauss and Howe promise to move from history to prophecy. Fans of Future Shock, Megatrends, or Powershift will be familiar with the authors' style of writing and not at all put off by the book's reach or style. Their take on history provides an intriguing (if not always reliable) lens through which to view the past, present, and maybe even the future.

From Library Journal

After researching historical patterns, the authors (Generations: The History of America's Future, Morrow, 1991) conclude that America is on the verge of crisis. They substantiate their hypothesis by identifying and tracing a repetitive, four-stage historical cycle that, throughout recorded time, started on a high note and ended in hardship. Narrator Michael Tilford's polished, convincing voice and steady pacing lend an air of legitimacy to the authors' assertions. A brief question-and-answer session between the narrator and the authors at program's end provides an interactive quality that enhances the sometimes methodical drone of the historical analysis. Like other works of prophecy, The Fourth Turning should circulate well in public libraries.?Mark P. Tierney, The World Bank, Washington, D.C.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Product details

  • File Size: 4569 KB
  • Print Length: 398 pages
  • Publisher: Three Rivers Press; Reprint edition (January 16, 2009)
  • Publication Date: January 16, 2009
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B001RKFU4I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #25,627 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Politics & Government Books
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Religion & Spirituality Books
3.3 out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 stars
Political History
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on September 24, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
1616 comments| 274 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America's Next Rendezvous with Destiny