BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
110
Frisky Dingo - Season 1
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 28, 2016
Apocalyptic humor ensues as the alien villain Killface seeks to destroy the world, pitted only slightly against tycoon Xander Crews and his alter-ego Awesome X! Lots of fun obscure references, bizarre characters, and familiar voices that foreshadow some of my other favorite shows like Archer, Bob's Burgers, and even Lucy Daughter of The Devil from Adult Swim. Season Two is even more fun, with our antagonists running for President!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
As with many, I ended up checking out Frisky Dingo as a fan of the FX series "Archer". The odd animation in FD can take some getting used to, but the story is laugh-out-loud funny. I'd watched some episodes via streaming, but as soon as I saw the discs here on Amazon, I just had to get them.

The only odd detail I'd like to mention is the DVD menus are a little weird and it's not totally obvious there's a 2nd page of episodes. I watched the first bunch, then skipped along to the second disc without realizing I'd left out a bunch. Anyway, the narrative discrepancy and "Previously, on Frisky Dingo" summary clued me in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
If you like shows like Archer and Adult Swim type shows, you will probably really like this. The humor is quirky, but cutting edge for the time it was made. I love Archer and this was made by the same people. The only thing missing is H. Jon Benjamin's voice and uncanny delivery. The interactions between Killface and his son are absolutely hilarious. I wish the show was still being made today. I may be going out on a limb with this, but it is almost like a mixture of the humor from Archer with bizarre characters from a show like Aqua Teen Hunger Force. There is no real explanation of the strange beings involved, but they function like everyday people with hilarious nuances. If you like Adult Swim or Archer and haven't seen this, it's worth the $9 to get the DVD for a rainy day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Funny funny show kill face it funny one Xander 2 funny character they make show funny 9 out 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2008
Kill-Face is on a mission, that he just cannot seem to accomplish. His task is to send the Earth into the sun, but he needs to raise more money to do so. As you watch you feel sympathy for Kill-Face, he experiences many setbacks due to a variety of reasons, including the incompetence of others! Overall, "Frisky Dingo" is a very funny show, filled with sadistic and twisted and often dark humor. Season 2 has already aired and I can hardly wait for the second season to come out on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2017
As and Archer fan, I had to see this show as well. Worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
This show is freaking amazing! Each episode is funnier than the one before. This is truly a hidden gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2008
The show itself gets five stars for being one of the funniest and most original and bizarre shows I've ever seen, but you can read any of the myriad reviews already posted on this DVD BEFORE it was actually released as testament to that. (Surely Amazon has some kind of policy in place preventing reviews being posted before the item is even out?!)

But I digress... this DVD is a must-have for the fans but a little disappointing in that there are no DVD extras. As an inlay we get a replica of the 'Welcome to you're "DOOM"' postcard Killface sends out on the show, which is very cool, but it would be awesome to have, say, a filmclip from Ta'quil or something.

But other than that, I am very pleased to have this as a part of my DVD collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2008
If you love Frisky Dingo, how could you not pick this up? If you don't love Frisky Dingo, it's probably just because you haven't seen it yet. It's a character-driven, absurd, dumb and witty, often entirely random comedy.

A note for parents: just because it's animated doesn't mean it's appropriate for children. It doesn't say Disney anywhere on the case. Any kid over 13 is likely to get any of the innuendo, but really you need to be at least late high school to college to really get the humor and references. College kids to baby boomers can enjoy this, depending on their individual sense of humor. I was really hoping for an "unbleeped" (aka uncensored) audio track, a la Family Guy and others, but I was disappointed to find that the content is exactly as aired, no more and no less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2008
I find that since tastes vary from person to person, and that since this DVD is clearly aimed for Frisky Dingo fans, I'm going to review this for Frisky Dingo fans.

First of all, it is what is is. It's a DVD compilation of the entire first season. If that's what you want, that's what you're going to get.

This isn't getting five stars aside from the 'Welcome to You're "Doom"' postcard, there are no extra paper material nor extra DVD material. That means, no commentary or anything of that sort. Even the DVD playing menu is bland and actually a bit cumbersome to navigate.

Pros:

Frisky Dingo on DVD

Cons:

That's all you're getting
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse