Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
111
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 89 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 111 reviews
on March 22, 2017
Love it. Passed it on to get grandson who has a deep love for horses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2017
Great story and good author!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2017
Came exactly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2017
Another wonderful book by favorite children's book auther, Jan Brett!! As usual, the borders on the pages add another layer to the story and make it all the richer for those reading out loud to young readers, or for anyone who appreciates the book for the great art work. Lovely moral to the story too!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
: )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
I've been reading this book since before I can even remember. I had a copy of it as a child and I loved it even then. The illustrations are so beautiful and I just love looking at all those ponies! The details are phenomenally done - down to the tiny, individual stars on a background horse's saddle blanket.

I introduced this book to my son when he was 2 and it became an instant favorite. He's had his copy for 2 years now and never tires of the story. Indeed, it teaches that you may not be pretty to look at, but you can still be kind and dependable and help people out. I love that it has an actual point - so many children's books these days don't seem to have any kind of message to them. And I will never, ever get tired of those amazing illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2009
A heartwarming story of a misfit pony who proves the proverb to be true: "Beauty is only skin deep." One falls in love with this dear little pony, his sorrows and his gentle ways. As the author describes him, "Fritz was very gentle and kind. He was sure-footed and always willing to work." His physical appearance of short legs and tangled mane did not win him an invitation to live with the other gorgeous horses in the beautiful walled city. He lived outside of it and alone.

The text is perfect. The illustrations are unique in their intricacy. The author excels in variegated designs of the clothing of the characters, especially the children in the story.

I won't give away the ending, but it is heart-winning and satisfying. Jan Brett has here created the perfect children's book, with love at its heart.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
Jan Brett's illustrations are beyond words. The detail that she consistently uses in her characters and animals is no less than amazing. I've collected nearly all her books just for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
One of our all time favorites!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
One of my daughter's favorite books. Now a favorite of my grandchildren. Jan Brett's books fascinate even the youngest children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse