Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 594 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 882 reviews
on July 16, 2016
There are some movies that have no explanation for how or why they were made. This movie might fall into that category, it is a film that is an homage and yet also a perfect film that encapsulates the genre. The movie is a heist hostage type Bonnie and Clyde film that falls into another genre, though most heist films end this way this movie jumps genre into something completely different tongue and cheek firmly in place.

If you haven't seen this movie, watch it.

If you have, watch it again, this film should be considered a classic along with ROADHOUSE, COCKTAIL, LETHAL WEAPON, NAKED GUN, or DAWN OF THE DEAD. It is an entirely enjoyable film that is watchable, it is also a commentary on films if you want to watch it for those reasons.

I think whether you are a 14 yr old boy or a 45 year old woman you will enjoy this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
This is an old fave of mine, It's kinda dirty, kinda bloody, but all fun! This'll satisfy anyone looking for a horror flick without jump scares or drama, and for a vampire movie set just over the Mexican border in a raunchy bar - it has a surprisingly good cast. (You should be able to tell by now that nudity and violence make this probably not OK for young kids.) The cast really makes it watchable, because you can tell how much fun they had making the movie! If you enjoyed Evil Dead or Killer Clowns From Outer Space, give this one a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2016
well this starts out as a reasonable violent robbers and rape sort of movie, but you haven't seen anything yet. George Clooney is young and sweet (in his robber way), but his pardners are something else (the cute one an uncontrollable sex maniac). Kidnapping a widower Baptist minister (played sweetly by Harvey Kitell) and his two children, they cross the border to a nite spot that gives the film its name. The stripper girls are after blood more than money, it being a vampire bar -- bet you've never been to one. If you want a movie in which virtually nothing is held back, this will fill the bill. Or, I can recommend some adaptations of Jane Austin?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2015
You have to be a Tarantino fan for this one. And I am. Messy, violent, over the top. And look at the cast!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
This is a fun movie but kind of a mess structurally, like a lot of Tarantino's work. The first part of the movie is a fairly good but standard hostage drama. One of Tarantino's main strengths is his ability to write characters and that shows through here. I was pleasantly surprised by George Clooney's ability to carry off the slightly-less-psychpathic older brother. Tarantino himself is good as a very creepy younger brother. The family they hold hostage is headed by Harvey Keitel - I don't think he's capable of turning in a bad performance but he's not in top form here as a minister who's having a crisis of faith. Juliette Lewis doesn't have a lot to do in the first part of the movie save react to Tarantino's character but she is very good with what she's given. Ernest Liu is kind of drowned out by the leads but he's there and doesn't detract.

Then we move into Mexico and the group stops at an out of the way roadhouse to wait for a contact. The roadhouse is an over the top caricature of Spring Break in Mexico and the tone of the movie completely changes. There's some initial drama when the straight laced minister and his family first enter the Cantina but then -rather predictably- all hell breaks loose as the bothers get drunk and stupid. Once the vampires are revealed the movie loses the tight dialogue and choreography it showed previously and descends into 'Army of Darkness' territory. It's still fun but a lot less cerebral -- there are a lot of bits involving different ways of staking a vampire complete with quipping.

Worth watching. Not Tarantino's best but kind of quirky entertainment for an evening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
i got the feeling this was not the full movie.seems like some scenes in the bar were edited differently than what i've seen before. Even the The version on Comet TV had more scenes in the bar. I'm giving it a 4 star rating because i've seen it a few times. This version seems edited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
One of the best movies ever. Definitely not child friendly, but otherwise the execution is flawless. I honestly don't know how you could have made it any better. Best way to watch is knowing NOTHING about it, because this movie starts as one thing then takes a left turn so hard you're liable to get whiplash. A fantastic film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
From Dusk Till Dawn is one of my favorite movies. It's a campy, over-the-top, ultra-violent, late night vampire exploitation film. I can watch it time & time again and never get tired of it because underneath the comical violence, there's a good story and great character development. Clooney and Tarantino work very well together, this is one of Tarantino's best scripts and Robert Rodriguez did an outstanding job directing. Throw in stellar performances from Michael Parks, Danny Trejo, Harvey Keitel, Juliette Lewis, Cheech Marin and John Hawkes and you've got one heck of a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
I saw this movie a long time ago when it first came out and while I wouldn't recommend it for kids because of the violence and special efffects, it's a good Tarantino movie with horror, drama, humor and just plain fascinating story line. I mean vampires who just won't be killed and 5 people (2 homicidal maniacs who kidnap a preacher who lost his faith and his two children all combine to make a really good scary movie. If blood and decapitated heads is not your thing then take a pass. If you liked Freddy Kruger then you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
Arrived on time, flawless discs, like new. Not US region code 1 but I knew this. Have region free blu-ray/dvd player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse