Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Frostbound: The Dark Forgotten Mass Market Paperback – June 7, 2011

4.1 out of 5 stars 16 customer reviews
Book 4 of 4 in the Dark Forgotten Series

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.12 $0.01

50% off featured Fantasy books
Select Fantasy books are up to 50% off for a limited time. Learn More
click to open popover
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Dark Forgotten (Book 4)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Signet (June 7, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451231953
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451231956
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1 x 6.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,590,270 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Vampire, Talia comes home one evening to find her cousin dead on the living room floor. The police have a bad reputation of seeing a vampire near any murder scene and immediately deciding they're guilty. Talia knows, that despite her innocence, the police will look no further than her fangs and she immediately decides to run. Before she can make it out of the apartment building, she's intercepted by the hell-hound called Lore. Lore also knows that, if caught, Talia won't get a fair trial, but he's not entirely convinced of her innocence. Until he's positive she didn't do it, Lore decides to keep Talia locked up in his own improvised prison. Eventually, they both have to work together to find out who is killing supernatural beings.

Honestly, Frostbound was a good time. I've mentioned before that I hate captive heroine stories, but it was done pretty well here. Talia wasn't kept locked up for long and Lore caught a lot of shit from both her and his friends for doing it in the first place.

There were basically two things that really made this book for me. The first was the blizzard/winter setting. I love winter settings. I also really enjoyed the hell-hound mythology that went into the book. You don't see it done very often and I have to say the hell-hounds here were pretty kick-ass.

My only issue was that there wasn't a lot of world building, which made certain areas of the story confusing, as I hadn't read any of the other novels in the series. However, I think Frostbound still stood well on its own.

Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress series will probably find something to love in this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoy this series enough I decided to buy a paperback copy when I noticed the book was unavailable at my local library. I really enjoyed Lore's story, although it didn't have the same edge-of-the-seat thrill of prior books. Ashwood has a gift for character development and planning a great story line. I've read the books in order, so far, but this could easily stand on it's own.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I tried to like this book - really, really tried but I couldn't even get through the first 50 pages. Every other sentence is "Lore thought...", "Lore said...." "Lore felt...". Ugh. This story (what I was able to slog through) just felt forced. The characters didn't interest me at all - they just didn't suck me in. And when the story did start to pick up the author would so cleverly sneak in another "Lore (insert adjective here)..." and I just couldn't handle it . Maybe the book got better, maybe not - but I couldn't get through it.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I strongly recommend you read the previous books in the series (Ravenous, Scorched and Unchained) prior to reading this installment.

Wow what an awesome installment! The story was fresh and exciting. There was a bit less romance and more focus on the story in this installment which was nice. I also liked the fact that the author didn't fill the pages with useless and endless sex scenes but actually gave us a brilliantly clever story with plenty of off-the-wall humor. At times this book was so twistedly-funny I really laughed-out-loud.

Usually when I begin a novel, I have a hard time getting into it. This book hooked me from the very beginning and I was so immersed in the story, I completely devoured it. On occasion when I was forced to put this book down, I counted down the time until I could pick it back up again.

How ironic that the series is named Dark Forgotten series....especially since that's what it is according to Penguin Group publishers. I contacted the author and asked what the next book in the series would be and unfortunately she says none. The series is in limbo at the moment and only an immediate increase in book sales will determine its fate.

It would be a crime to lose a creative series such as this. Each book with supernatural diversity but written in the same universe and can be read as a standalone or in succession.

For those wondering what genre this series falls into, I would categorize it as a romantic dark urban fantasy, similar to Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress series.

I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and also hope that there will be a book 5.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Where have I been hiding? This book is the first time I have heard of this series or this author. It definitely won't be the last, though. I enjoyed it so much that I jumped on Amazon and ordered the previous books in the series so I could read those too. Here's hoping I enjoy them just as much!

Frostbound is part of The Dark Forgotten series, but it stands on its own very well. The author does a great job of introducing the world and the characters without making the reader feel lost. We're dropped straight into the action, but I never felt like I was scrambling to understand what was happening. I really appreciate an author who can strike a nice balance between bulky info dumps and leaving a reader to puzzle the world out on her (or his) own.

I really liked how the author turned some of my expectations on their ear. At one point Talia is held hostage. At first it was because Lore was keeping her until he found out if she was guilty or innocent, but then he didn't want to let her go for her own good. Instead of letting this go (as I've seen many, many PNR heroines do) Talia is angry and resentful. She also finds his plan to weaken her with lust (once again, something I've seen frequently in PNR) pretty insulting. Refreshingly, Lore's friends also tell him that he's not exactly walking the straight and narrow by "protecting" her that way. I really enjoyed that because too often I find myself frustrated by the heroines' abnormal reactions to some of the heroes' behavior.

Although there is a lot of witty dialogue and quite a few funny scenes, it's not all fun and games. Lore and Talia deal with some very serious issues and stressful emotions that added a nice depth to their characters.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: werewolf book