Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,539 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,760 reviews
on May 5, 2014
If you drive with children and those children love the movie Frozen (and who wouldn't), do yourself a favor as well as protect your sanity by purchasing this soundtrack. It's got the music that your kids love and will likely want to sing along with anyway. Thankfully, with Amazon's AutoRip feature, if you find yourself in a real bind, buy the CD if it's cheaper and then download the MP3's to your phone/iPod and get started with it immediately.

Any review of the music itself seems completely irrelevant (it's really good though). Come on, if you have seen the movie you know what the music sounds like. If you have small children in your home/car then the kind of music that YOU like is completely irrelevant as we all know it's much more important to keep the children happy so that you don't have to crash your car to stop the fighting in the back seat!

The most annoying aspect of this soundtrack is how damn catchy it all is, it's almost impossible to get it out of your head and I find myself whistling and or humming various songs throughout the day, in the shower, walking around the office, in meetings. It's a little embarrassing... unless your co-workers are parents as well because I guarantee they are doing the same thing.

If you have small children, this will be a soundtrack that you can get a lot of mileage out of and the music is really good to boot. Given the choice (as a parent) between this and any other Disney soundtrack for a long cross country drive, I would pick this any day of the week and twice on Sunday.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
Disc 1 is the base soundtrack, which is great. I'd likely rate Disc 1 alone 5/5.

I want to talk about Disc 2 or the "Deluxe Edition" extras. I think the thing that bugs me most about Disc 2 is the talking before a lot of the tracks. They give you a brief introduction to the track telling you why it was not used in the film or why it was created originally. These are interesting for the first listen through but after that really ruin the music listening experience.

A soundtrack should contain music. If you're going to put in audio commentary the very least you could do is put them in a separate track so they can be trivially deleted. Unfortunately in this case they're integrated into the track so to extract them you'd have to manually go through and delete the first 10 or more seconds.

There are about 7 "outtakes' on Disc 2 all of which have talking. It is a darn shame too because some of those 7 tracks would have been quite good without the commentary. Some of the demo tracks and Instrumental Karaoke are decent however and lack the talking...

I'm not sure if I'd "recommend" the Deluxe Edition or not. There really are a couple of great tracks on Disc 2. I actually prefer the "Demo" track of "Love Is an Open Door" (track #2 Disc 2) to the full one found on Disc 1, it has a much more "chill" tone which works really well for such a cute song.
44 comments| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
outstanding. I brought this item because my little nerd of a brother asked me to get it for him at the time it was cheaper then going to best buy and getting one there. I never saw the movie or never heard any of the songs on it but I'm pretty sure it was good since my little brother wanted this. I had gotten him a gift card to best buy but since he is my little brother I couldn't say no. The packaging was perfect, and the box was in perfect shape as well. It's a disney movie soundtrack and disney rarely has movies with bad language it them and the soundtracks are the same way. I'm a big fan of music that don't use bad language and I would never had purchased any music that does have bad verbal language in them. I'm sure that this is a perfect soundtrack for anyone that is a big fan of the movie. I hope that this review did some persuasion on purchasing this cd. I hope that you will consider this as you decide to buy it or not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 20, 2014
To try and analyze the legacy of Disney is a difficult one. Walt’s legacy has grown into the biggest conglomerate in the world that reaches into all aspects of our lives from films, TV, music, toys and theme parks. Disney is part of life, but it’s the stories that built the legacy. From the golden age of Disney that led to a small decline in quality, and then a resurgance that we saw with The Little Mermaid that lasted into the mid to late 90’s. Then Disney took steps backwards once again completely losing its identity and surely losing touch with what Walt established. Movies like Home On The Range, Meet The Robinsons, Chicken Little, Atlantis and others seemed to lack whatever made Disney what it was. This of course doesn't include Pixar. I do think Disney Animation is on the uptick. Tangled was wonderful and now Frozen takes Disney forward by taking two steps back to the times of Disney greatness. Frozen is indeed a magical Disney classic. It’s a loose adaptation on a beloved tale that is cemented with gorgeous animation, loveable characters and unforgettable music. Christophe Beck surprises with a simply wonderful score, and the wife/husnand duo Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez provide us with songs that would make the Sherman brothers and Alan Menken proud.

Frozen is a story that really boils down to the relationship between two sisters, and it’s that relationship that carries the story. The adventure along the way provides composer Christophe Beck with tons of great opportunities. Beck scored the Oscar winning short Paperman for Disney, and his impressive work there got him the feature gig here. He does not dissapoint. The Norweigian inspired score opens with a wonderful chant titled “Eatnemen Vuelie” featuring an all-female chorus collectively known as Cantus. The piece was not composed by Beck, but by Frode Fjellheim and serves as the bookending theme to open and close the whole experience. Beck’s original score is not overshadowed though. He manages to deliver a beautiful score filled with wonder, excitement, and a vibrant emotional reflection of our two main leads. Beck handles all the magic and wonder of the story with ease while still adding fun character touches such as music for Olaf. The style is pure orchestral goodness with the hint of a fairy tale feel. The motifs and themes Beck builds never get overpowered by the songs and in turn deliver a rich and emotional experience.

Now, the songs by the Lopez duo match the excellence of the score. Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez wrote songs for the 2011 film Winnie The Pooh, so they do have a history with Disney. Robert also wrote the songs for some high-profile musicals like The Book Of Mormon and Avenue Q. Never mind that those musicals have some of the funniest and vulgur songs ever put in musicals. Robert is on his best Disney behavior here. Frozen's songs are catchy and feel as if they do come from within the characters. They definitely do have a stage performance feel to them. That’s a great thing since every number feels like a performance yet still manages to feel organic to the character performing them. If I have one criticism it would be that “Let It Go” feels just a tiny bit too much like a pop song. Other than that the songs do add to Disney’s wonderful legacy.

Frozen is truly a terrific film with everything you’d want from a movie made under the house of mouse. Co-director Chris Buck has a long history with Disney as an animator on films like The Fox And The Hound, The Little Mermaid and Pocahontas. Buck also co-directed Tarzan. Co-Director Jennifer Lee is a bit of a newcomer just having co-written Wreck-It Ralph under her belt. However, the directing duo delivers a wonderful winter adventure that his headlined by some fantastic score and wonderful songs. Christophe Beck surly surprises with his abilities here and delivers a wonderful score. And team Lopez wrote fantastic songs that felt organic to the characters singing them. The whole film is a collaborative success and will be looked back on as the film that signaled Disney’s return to animation greatness without relying on Pixar. The soundtrack comes in two editions, standard and deluxe. The deluxe edition comes with a second disc of demos and alternate versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
My sister and I went to see Frozen over the holiday and we both sang to each other bits and pieces of "Do You Want to Build a Snowman?" for days after seeing the film. The memorable vocal numbers from the film are accompanied on this album by excellent selections from the instrumental soundtrack. I've enjoyed it so much I'm giving it to my sister for her birthday. Personally I would have preferred the album be organized in the order in which the pieces appeared in the film, instead of first having the vocal numbers followed by the instrumental numbers, but this is a relatively minor complaint.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
This is a two disc set. The first disc is great, actual songs from the movie. The second disc is awful. I guess I should have read the actual product description, but like most people I see, I click, I buy. The second disc is a lot of talking by the writers of the songs, and them singing. My daughter was already listening to disc one at home, so I grabbed disc two while we ran out the door so she could listen in the car. That was a mistake. I immediately knew I had made a mistake. If it wasn't for my daughter being in the car, I probably would have chucked the disc out the window. If you buy it, do yourself a favor and just throw disc two away as soon as you get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Stunning. That is the only word that can accurately describe this soundtrack. From the opening traks to the very last note, this soundtrack will transport you to the magical kingdom of Arendelle, home to Ana and Elsa, our two main characters. Even if you have not seen the film (and if you haven't, you're missing out!), you get a clear idea of who the two sisters are, where they stand with each other, and what they both want out of life. Husband and wife duo Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez did a masterful job of writing music and lyrics that convey every aspect of their story without missing a beat. The instrumental tracks give you an accurate sense of the breadth of the frozen wasteland Arendelle becomes at Elsa's hand. Additionally, this 2 CD set contains a disk full of demo tracks that, while not chosen for the movie, carry the listener further into the lives of Ana, Elsa, and Kristoff.

Standout tracks include:
"Do You Want to Build a Snowman," which will make you smile and laugh as well as simultaneously break your heart.
"Let It Go," sung by Idina Menzel (I'm not a fan of the pop version sung by Demi Lovato--they should have left well enough alone, but every movie needs a song to play over the end credits, I suppose)
"For the First Time in Forever (Reprise)" sung by Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel, which masterfully weaves the two narratives of the sisters together.
"Vuelie" performed by Norwegian female choir Cantus, which sets the scene for a magical journey through the kingdom of Arendelle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
"Let it Go" may have won the Oscar, but there's no reason to skip over the rest of this very strong soundtrack. All of the songs are well written and expertly sung by their respective performers. The score work is also quite strong, often taking small musical themes from the songs and weaving them into the score in a way that is effective and not intrusive.

If there's a fault to be found it's that the tone is not always consistent, particularly in the songs. Some songs have a consistent feel ("Do You Want to Build a Snowman," "Let it Go," and "First Time in Forever" for example) but others have a tone that feels like its not even from the same film ("Frozen Heart," "Fixer Upper," and "In Summer" all have this issue.) Also the opening choral work, though true to the region of the world that the story appears to be set it, doesn't fit with the rest of the score either.

However, even though the overall flow isn't as smooth as it could have been, each individual track and song is strong and worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
The so-called 2-disc deluxe version does contain every song, theme and exhaustive archival versions presented very charmingly by the composers, but if you just want to pop a disc into your player and relive the singing highlights during a long trip the last two thirds of disc 1 will just frustrate your kids or you, since the music segments are short and presented out-of sequence and en bloc, so you can't even reimagine the adventure as you hum along, and you can't just let the first ten repeat. The second disc is quite a collector's delight, and are more bonuses than outtakes, but not one you'll play a lot to pass the time. As for the Demi Lovato version with the end credits, definitely a spell-breaker; at least on a 10 track version you'd only have to hit "skip" once, not 20+ times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really liked the fact that this included all the demo songs from things that were cut from the movie. And the explanations from the songwriters helped fill in a big question I had about the movie in the first place, namely why Elsa had to hide her powers from Anna and the rest. Hearing what was cut and didn't make it into the movie, now that makes a bit more sense.

Most albums for movies, especially Pixar / Disney movies, seem to be too much score, and not enough songs with lyrics. Witness the Monsters University soundtrack, or the Cars soundtracks. My son loves the songs and asks me to buy the albums for our iPod in the car, but we end up listening to just a few songs from the soundtrack then, because as a 10 year old, he wants songs they sing, not just the instrumentals. This one has a lot of score tracks, but it has plenty of songs to enjoy as well, even not counting the extra disc of those cut songs. And the cut songs are every bit as good as the ones that made it into the movie, so you don't hear them and think, "That was a waste of money, I should've gotten the normal soundtrack."

Excellent album for any fan of the movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.59

Need customer service? Click here