Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Oasis GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Frozen [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$19.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on February 9, 2016
It's been a little over two years since this movie hit the theaters, but I have to say, it took me until last month to finally get caught up in the "Frozen Fever" (ha) that has taken over the hearts of children everywhere.

The movie starts with two young sisters, Princess Elsa and Princess Anna, having a bit of late night fun with Elsa's ice powers. When an accident befalls Anna at Elsa's hand, the sisters are forced apart for Anna's safety and the gates to their castle are closed off to the public--until Elsa's coronation day. There's a huge ball in honor of her coming of age, and people from all over the kingdom come to celebrate. They day goes without incident until Anna and Elsa get into an argument over Anna's quick engagement to Prince Hans. Elsa's powers are revealed to everyone in an emotional outburst then and she flees the castle, unknowingly shrouding the land in a fierce winter behind her on her way to the North Mountain. Anna goes after Elsa and meets a gruff iceman named Kristoff, who she recruits to help her get to Elsa so they can bring Elsa back and bring back Summer.

All of the characters are interesting and multi-dimensional. Anna is a particularly great character in that she's unabashedly awkward and honest. I feel like most children feel awkward at some point in their lives and Anna is a great role model for them. My nieces and brother love the movie and it's family fun for all of us.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2017
Disney's Frozen plays subtly upon assumptions, stimulating reconsideration of what obstacles there may be to true love--and even whether there oughtn't be a few for young people to start with after all ! It might do to bundle those aforementioned assumptions under the label "Pride And Prejudice-esque" : sister dynamics in one corner, brother dynamics in the other, no real parents in either, yet the imbroglios of Elizabeth and D'Arcy more attributable ( or at least attributed ) to the mutual miscomprehension of "classes" than to these lovers' personal, pre-romantic, familial histories. Comparable to Elizabeth Bennett in being the younger and less ostentatiously gifted of upper-class sisters, daughters of parents distant and then untimely deceased, is Frozen's Princess Anna. Anna falls in love almost instantly with the ( Spoiler alert ! ) cad-monster, Hans, far harder-driven even than Wicked Wickham by fraternal jealousy and legacy-lust. ( Cf. "With twelve older brothers..." ) In part to shed clarifying-contrastive light on both Anna's and Kristoff's backgrounds, Frozen has the ( adoptive ) family of Anna's real-true-love-to-be, Kristoff, be a clan of trolls very liable to overwhelm their mild nordic orphan-friends like a flash-mob Big Troll Wedding, a tidal wave of cheeky Family Wholeness that is everything unfamiliar to Anna at least. So might we wish to fall, en famille Grecque, upon Elizabeth Bennett, whisking her past pride and past prejudice to a perfect if premature Happy Ending. But Frozen implies that one should heal psychic faults at their pre-romantic, familial origins rather than, still ignorant of the sources of one's inclinations, seeking a panacea in romance however authentic.

The Trolls, Kristoff had warned Anna, are consummate "love experts"--but why then does Frozen have the stricken Anna faint rather than rally at the climax of The Trolls' big number about love ? Until then, under a shock-wedding gazebo, together with Hans before The Priest-Troll, Anna attends politely to their advice. As Anna's reserved looks and Kristoff's impatient expostulations meanwhile suggest, however, The Trolls' advice, if sound in itself, is nonethless directed to Hans and Anna in error. Anna is neither a snob nor a prude nor a slanderer's fool who needs prodding towards her "fixer-upper." Nor is she well-advised to be, as The Trolls imply she should, *less* critical. How perilously "spontaneous" Anna has already been in romantic matters ! And how ingeniously dark the parallel ironies of Anna's duet with Hans will prove to be : Hans has indeed been trawling for just such an "open [ reread : carelessly unlocked ] door" ! The Trolls are wrong furthermore to imagine that, Our Heroine rid of Hans and open to advances on Kristoff's part ( and to quote the French version ), "tout sera reglé !" The Trolls have been rushing Anna towards Kristoff, even just a kiss from whom will come only in the film's denouement, and ignoring her real and serious illness, which Kristoff can't help with yet. Finally, reflecting upon the rather odd fact that the "true love's kiss" they prescribed to Anna comes at last not from any man nor involves "true love" of the kind that phrase itself inevitably connotes, we should take The Trolls to task--and maybe ourselves--for conceiving Anna's challenge amidst a fog of assumptions--be they ethnic, "neo-Austenean," both, or something else.

Olaf, the hilarious snowman first brought to life by Elsa in childhood and, later, brought back to life by Elsa in the midst of renewing her stolen identity, leaves far less to be desired as sidekick-advisor than The Trolls. Recall that Elsa created Olaf at her little sister's ( at Anna's ) musical appeal : "Do you want to build a snowman ?" Insofar as Elsa thus created Olaf not only *for* Anna and at Anna's request yet hardly "with" her, Olaf is a proxy for older-to-younger sororal attention never directly forthcoming from Elsa. At the same time as he is a kind of ambassador of deflected sister-love, however, Olaf is--of course, but note it--a snow*man* or -boy at least. Olaf in fact provides gentle yet not-undemonstrative opposite-sex affection with his very first breath : "My name is Olaf, [ I'm a male snowman, by the way, ] and I like warm hugs !" Unsupervised at this juncture and momentarily uninhibited, Elsa does get carried away by her powers just as--let's give them their parental praise-due as well as criticism--The King and Queen of Arandel strove to prevent. Elsa accidentally injures Anna, The King and Queen are horrified, Elsa descends into an inner deep-freeze that isolates her above all from her sister, and Olaf disappears for over a decade. Correlatively, soon after he is *re*created on a mountainside by Elsa Revitalised, he meets with Anna searching for Elsa : "Did Elsa create you ?" "Yes." "Do you know where Elsa is ?" "Yes." He finds the hidden staircase to her castle for Anna and Kristoff and helps them get inside past another--but this one's Angry--snowman-proxy of Elsa's creation. It is he, not Kristoff, who rescues Anna at the brink of death by explaining love to her and by his readiness to "melt for her" in loving self-sacrifice. Though Olaf cannot himself be Anna's true love in the inevitable romantic sense of the phrase, he is the key to the meaning of Frozen in being thus the bridge ( sometimes almost comic-literally ! ) between Anna's and Elsa's hearts, between lost childhood memories and readiness for Adult Love. Minus a few pretty pointless physical danger spectacle-scenes and just a forgiveable touch of girl-power corniness, a beautiful, brilliant, and surprisingly reflective creation from Disney.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2017
This is an excellent movie with great re-watch value. I really like the graphics in HD downloaded at best quality.

The first time I watched it, I was impressed with the graphics, but the plot and story didn't stick out as to me as much. However, my appreciation of those things improved quite a bit after watching the movie more than once. You can learn a lot from the show, I think. It seems to be about love (all the way through). I notice new stuff every time I watch it.

The music is awesome, of course.

Back when it came out (quite a while before I saw it), people always ranted and raved about Elsa and how awesome and beautiful she was, and didn't have a lot to say about Anna—but huh? Anna's awesome. She one of the funnest characters (and princesses) to ever have graced a movie, and she's no less beautiful than Elsa, even without the stylish blue dress and hairstyle. Her songs are no less profound than Elsa's, either, I think.

Anyway, here's some of the plot (spoiler alert):

Anna has magical powers over cold, ice, snow, etc. Anna wakes Elsa up and wants to play with her. They play. Elsa accidentally hurts Anna with her magic. They take Anna to some trolls to be healed. They heal her and warn Elsa about her powers. A troll heals Anna and removes all memories of magic from her brain. Elsa's parents decide to isolate Elsa to keep her and others safe until something or other happens, like she learns to control her powers (Elsa is in her room and won't play with Anna, or even come out and see her—for years). Their parents die in a shipwreck. Elsa is to become queen. On coronation day, Anna is really excited and goes out into the city, singing and stuff. Anna meets a prince from another kingdom; they seem to like each other. The coronation happens. Anna and Elsa are together for a bit, and they're happy. Anna and the aforementioned prince do some stuff together and become engaged (the same day they met). They ask Elsa for her blessing. Elsa is appalled and doesn't give her blessing. Some drama ensues, and Anna appropriates Elsa's glove while she's talking to her. Elsa wants it back (the gloves help to keep her powers under control). Elsa accidentally uses her powers and frightens and/or surprises everyone. Elsa runs away, and unknowingly causes a perpetual winter. Elsa sings Let It Go as she builds an ice castle and a snowman named Olaf (who comes to life) with her magic (and she replaces her black attire and her hairstyle with what she's known for). Anna goes after Elsa and wants to talk to her and convince her to fix things and come back. There's a conspiracy against the throne, and they try to use the incident against Elsa. Anna meets someone who sells ice for a living (and his reindeer) on her way to find Elsa; they help her. They find Olaf, and then Elsa. Anna talks with Elsa. Elsa accidentally uses her magic on Anna after they talk things out and Elsa still hasn't changed her mind, except this time it hits Anna's heart and can't be healed by the troll (only an act of true love can help her). … Well, there's more plot, but you can just watch the movie (I hope).

Anyway, it's an excellent movie, and I really recommend it. I recommend watching it multiple times.

I believe this is one of the best movies out there. Beyond what it says in the IMDB parents' guide (which shouldn't bother most people, even those with high standards), it's quite clean. Anna's coronation day dress (I think that was the one) could certainly be more modest, though.

This edition of the movie has lots of people singing Let It Go at the end, as well as a cartoon and some information about the creation of the movie, I believe.

On another note, Lexi Walker does an excellent rendition of Let It Go (you can look it up), which she did with the One Voice children's choir. I recommend looking at her other music, too. You can find it on the Amazon digital music store. She's a young artist (teenage, now).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2014
A household favorite! I let my toddler watch a video at night at before she gets ready for bed. This has been in our DVD player since the day it arrived. She loves it, and so do I. Normally when she's watching a movie, I use that time to pick up around the house. Not with this movie. I get everything done before the movie starts so I can watch it with her.
Keep in mind, it's still a Disney story, so there are the signature elements of fairy tales, princesses, and the quest for love. However, the story line is well written, and much more modern for the times. Disney is maturing in their character growth, subject matter, and tone. This is the epitome of an animated musical. The songs are catchy, my daughter is 2 1/2 and she loves to run all over the house singing "Let it go", and knows the words almost verbatim.
Elsa is the oldest sister, born with the power to freeze what she touches. She and Anna were close in their youth, until one day Elsa struck her with her powers while they were playing. Elsa was isolated from Anna by their parents, and Anna never understood why, and has been trying to reconnect with Elsa from that day forward. Three years after their parents pass away (remember, it's Disney), Elsa becomes queen. After her coronation, that's when the true grit of the movie begins.
Disney really did a wonderful job capturing the attention of all ages in this story. I feel for Elsa, while most think she's the villain...but you'll have to watch and find out for yourself. Anna is lonely growing up in the castle without having much contact with her big sister. She can't wait for her sister's coronation because the gates will finally reopen, and she'll have contact with actual people for the first time in years. The character's introduced later, Kristoff, and his reindeer Sven, Prince Hans, Olaf the snowman, the trolls, and the other minor characters that come and go throughout the movie, make this one of the best Disney films I've ever seen. Disney will always have their classics, like Little Mermaid, Cinderella, etc., but this next generation of Disney films seems to be a power house in the making. This movie was entertaining, compelling, and an easy to story to get lost in. Well done Disney! Looking forward to what lies ahead!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2015
Word is that in its original conception "Frozen" was to feature a traditional Disney villain, namely the magically-empowered older of the two starring sisters. Wiser counsel prevailed, and in the movie that came into existence the sisters are given the freedom to be real. While they fill the narrative spaces that are usually occupied by hero and villain, they are not constrained by the usual limitations of those categories. The principle character, Anna (Kristen Bell), is naive and sympathetic, while the exiled Elsa (Idina Menzel) is uncommunicative and sympathetic. Disney movies have pitted two women against each other before, as in the case of Aurora and Maleficent or Ariel and Ursula, but in those cases the lines between them were black and white and the characterizations were rooted in traditional dichotomies of appearance and mannerism. In "Frozen" the sisters are instead cut from the same mold, and as the movie progresses they become more alike rather than less so. For most of the movie there really is no "bad guy" (when one is suddenly revealed towards the end it feels too convenient, more in service of plot than character), and this creative decision puts the focus on internal conflicts that are more nuanced than the external ones that usually drive Disney stories.

The girls are, rather than enemies, profoundly different in their essential natures without either being held up as an ideal or a monster. They differ in a way that is gloriously open to all sorts of interpretation; I, as an introvert and an older sibling, take the story to be an illustration of introversion versus extroversion, but it may just as well be about sexual orientation or other ways in which people are what they are regardless of social pressure to the contrary. Those layers of meaning, like the revisionism of the romantic storyline (the main love interest is a typical Han Solo type, but his role in Anna's life is that of sidekick rather than savior), is something that children who grow up with the movie may consciously appreciate only when they revisit it as teenagers and young adults. They will surely find that it holds up well over the years, and they should count themselves lucky that such an intelligent and affirming film is the iconic Disney product of their generation. It is probably better and better for you—and I say this as a fan of the entire Disney canon— than "The Little Mermaid"s of my generation or the "Sleeping Beauty"s of generations past.

Contemporary, plasticky 3D animation of which I am usually not a fan is put to use in "Frozen" a way that makes it almost artistically necessity instead of merely economically efficient (though the girls' eyes surely did not need to be so anime-like in scale). An early scene in which the 3D Anna poses in front of 2D oil paintings would be hard to replicate in traditional, hand-drawn animation. As for the songs, Disney films have never lacked for good ones, and at least two from "Frozen" ("Do You Want to Build a Snowman?" and "Let it Go") have already rightly become classics. The songs do a lot of the narrative work, particularly in the early set-dressing stages, and as good as they are it would have been nice if the script had devoted one or two additional spoken scenes to Elsa in her ice palace. To ask for a movie to be longer than it is is of course not a criticism but a compliment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2016
Who doesn't love Disney movies? Disney didn't disappoint again. We absolutely loved this movie! We ordered it and were able to watch it over and over again. Perfect for rainy day when we couldn't go outside. This is a story about two sisters, Anna and Elsa. Elsa is "frozen" a girl who has ability or curse (as she sees it in the beginning) to freeze stuff. In the beginning Anna and Elsa are playing as sisters do, until Elsa accidentally uses her power. Their parents separate them in order to protect both of them from each other. And Anna's memories are erased so she wont remember Elsa's ability. They grow old. Anna is always wondering why Elsa doesn't want to play or spend time with her not knowing what had happened. Time comes for the town to name Elsa as the ruler of the town. Anna pushes Elsa to the edge by asking about the past and Elsa uses her ability and exposes herself. She runs away. Anna follows her. Elsa again uses power on Anna. Anna returns home. Long story short... In the end Elsa and Anna live together. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2017
For better or for worse we've watched this movie a zillion times. My daughter loves it and even years since we first saw it in the theater it remains her all time favorite. We both love the music. She loves the princesses. i love that the main characters are strong women. The only scary part is when the large snow monster chases them, and even that is pretty tame. What is harder for a 4yo to grasp is a bad guy that seems like a good guy at first (Hans). She struggled with understanding his role in the story - and ultimately it helped us talk about "tricky people" (the updated version of "stranger danger") and how you can't judge people on a brief interaction. So that in itself is invaluable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2015
What can I say? The whole family loves it! One of the few kids movies we will watch repeatedly and references such as "do you want to build a snow man" have now become part of our everyday vernacular!
review image
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2017
Coming on strong on the heels of The Princess and The Frog and Tangled, Frozen is Disney prodding at the edges of their established tried and true formula. In a run of films that established the return of Disney to their heyday in the 90s, Frozen is great film with a few weakness, most notably their musical numbers outside of Let It Go.

The visuals are amazing, and the film is watching for those alone. The plot is pretty strong, too with a few holes in it; most notably the set up, where the trolls warn the parents to train Elsa and not to scare her... and then her parents proceed to terrify Elsa and stop her from using her powers ever again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 13, 2014
I'm with nearly everyone else: this is the best Disney animated film in years and may be the best since "Beauty and the Beast." A heartwarming tale of separation and devotion between sisters, Disney undoes 80 years of damage to girls' psyches by redefining "true love" as something other than the kiss of a handsome prince. Whose heart doesn't ache at the dilemma of Anna and Elsa? Who doesn't thrill to the action sequences and laugh at the hijinx of the adorable snowman Olaf? The actors bring all the characters vividly to life. The casting of Kristen Bell as the feisty, optimistic Anna and Idina Menzel as her gifted but troubled sister Elsa is fantastic. Visually stunning, the color schemes and special effects rock. The songs are short, witty, hummable and always enhance character or move the action forward. "Let It Go" has become a rather annoying earworm from constant radio play but is perfect in the context of the film. Although the female characters are cinch-waisted with little button noses, they are active, powerful individuals. Elsa struggles to understand and control her powers while Anna is directly engaged in every effort to save her sister. "Frozen" is a wonderful change of pace for animated films. Its messages of enduring love and female empowerment are a positive influence, especially for the young audiences flocking to see it. Thanks, Disney!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here