Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19,727
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16,960 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19,727 reviews
on February 9, 2016
It's been a little over two years since this movie hit the theaters, but I have to say, it took me until last month to finally get caught up in the "Frozen Fever" (ha) that has taken over the hearts of children everywhere.

The movie starts with two young sisters, Princess Elsa and Princess Anna, having a bit of late night fun with Elsa's ice powers. When an accident befalls Anna at Elsa's hand, the sisters are forced apart for Anna's safety and the gates to their castle are closed off to the public--until Elsa's coronation day. There's a huge ball in honor of her coming of age, and people from all over the kingdom come to celebrate. They day goes without incident until Anna and Elsa get into an argument over Anna's quick engagement to Prince Hans. Elsa's powers are revealed to everyone in an emotional outburst then and she flees the castle, unknowingly shrouding the land in a fierce winter behind her on her way to the North Mountain. Anna goes after Elsa and meets a gruff iceman named Kristoff, who she recruits to help her get to Elsa so they can bring Elsa back and bring back Summer.

All of the characters are interesting and multi-dimensional. Anna is a particularly great character in that she's unabashedly awkward and honest. I feel like most children feel awkward at some point in their lives and Anna is a great role model for them. My nieces and brother love the movie and it's family fun for all of us.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
This is an excellent movie with great re-watch value. I really like the graphics in HD downloaded at best quality.

The first time I watched it, I was impressed with the graphics, but the plot and story didn't stick out as to me as much. However, my appreciation of those things improved quite a bit after watching the movie more than once. You can learn a lot from the show, I think. It seems to be about love (all the way through). I notice new stuff every time I watch it.

The music is awesome, of course.

Back when it came out (quite a while before I saw it), people always ranted and raved about Elsa and how awesome and beautiful she was, and didn't have a lot to say about Anna—but huh? Anna's awesome. She one of the funnest characters (and princesses) to ever have graced a movie, and she's no less beautiful than Elsa, even without the stylish blue dress and hairstyle. Her songs are no less profound than Elsa's, either, I think. Why didn't Lexi Walker sing one of them, too (she does seem to have red hair, and a fun personality, after all)? Alas. Lexi Walker's pretty awesome, too, by the way (she's a young singer who is most-known for singing Let It Go with the One Voice children's choir; she sings very well).

Anyway, here's some of the plot (spoiler alert):

Anna has magical powers over cold, ice, snow, etc. Anna wakes Elsa up and wants to play with her. They play. Elsa accidentally hurts Anna with her magic. They take Anna to some trolls to be healed. They heal her and warn Elsa about her powers. A troll heals Anna and removes all memories of magic from her brain. Elsa's parents decide to isolate Elsa to keep her and others safe until something or other happens, like she learns to control her powers (Elsa is in her room and won't play with Anna, or even come out and see her—for years). Their parents die in a shipwreck. Elsa is to become queen. On coronation day, Anna is really excited and goes out into the city, singing and stuff. Anna meets a prince from another kingdom; they seem to like each other. The coronation happens. Anna and Elsa are together for a bit, and they're happy. Anna and the aforementioned prince do some stuff together and become engaged (the same day they met). They ask Elsa for her blessing. Elsa is appalled and doesn't give her blessing. Some drama ensues, and Anna appropriates Elsa's glove while she's talking to her. Elsa wants it back (the gloves help to keep her powers under control). Elsa accidentally uses her powers and frightens and/or surprises everyone. Elsa runs away, and unknowingly causes a perpetual winter. Elsa sings Let It Go as she builds an ice castle and a snowman named Olaf (who comes to life) with her magic (and she replaces her black attire and her hairstyle with what she's known for). Anna goes after Elsa and wants to talk to her and convince her to fix things and come back. There's a conspiracy against the throne, and they try to use the incident against Elsa. Anna meets someone who sells ice for a living (and his reindeer) on her way to find Elsa; they help her. They find Olaf, and then Elsa. Anna talks with Elsa. Elsa accidentally uses her magic on Anna after they talk things out and Elsa still hasn't changed her mind, except this time it hits Anna's heart and can't be healed by the troll (only an act of true love can help her). … Well, there's more plot, but you can just watch the movie (I hope).

Anyway, it's an excellent movie, and I really recommend it. I recommend watching it multiple times.

I believe this is one of the best movies out there. Beyond what it says in the IMDB parents' guide (which shouldn't bother most people, even those with high standards), it's quite clean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2016
Really fun movie that I believe will stand the test of time because it doesn't rely on kitschy pop culture references. Lovable characters and surprising villains, plus really well-written sings and an ending that brings a tear to the eye.

I wish I could deduct half a star for just one thing though: near the end (no spoilers for the two people in the world who haven't seen this yet), a female character punches a bad guy in the face. The crowd cheers and laughs. This is not OK. The bad guy was no longer a threat and the violence against him was unnecessary and in my opinion sent a bad message. Far better to just have the queen tell her guards to take him away to await trial.

Overall, a great movie and one that I don't mind watching over and over again. Which, if you have kids, you will be watching it over and over and over...!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
What can I say? The whole family loves it! One of the few kids movies we will watch repeatedly and references such as "do you want to build a snow man" have now become part of our everyday vernacular!
review image
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
***This review may contain spoilers.***

Most unexpectedly, Disney’s “Frozen” (hereafter “D’s Frozen”) subtly reconfigures and directs the seemingly tiresome tropes and conventions of their romantic “princess movies” into uncharted “Marvel comic” territory and themes. The main protagonist (AND apparently antagonist) Elsa (voice of Idina Menzel) is far more than your run-of-the-mill glamorous elder princess, then (Snow) Queen of the kingdom of Arondelle. She possesses nearly unlimited, almost magical power to control and shape ice and snow.

In a Marvel comic, she’d be considered a mutant with the combined powers of Ice-Man and Storm. Unfortunately and tragically, she lives in medieval times and does not have the guidance of a Charles Xavier-like mentor to help her harness the power for mankind’s benefit. Well, there IS a (literally) stone troll king, Grand Pabbie (voice of Ciaran Hinds) who is aware of the extent of Elsa’s powers. However, all he can recommend to Elsa’s father (voice of Maurice LaMarche) and mother (voice of Jennifer Lee), King and Queen of Arendelle, is cruel, complete isolation from all humanity until she is mature enough to ascend the Arondelle throne.

Part of the reason Elsa is held in quarantine is because in childhood, while using her powers to create a winter playground for herself and younger sister Princess Anna (adult voice of Kristen Bell), she accidentally injured her head. Although non-superpowered and “normal”, Anna heals with the Troll King’s help. Having no memory of the incident, Anna is distraught and perplexed as to why Elsa cannot come out to play. Still, the coronation day comes, and Elsa seems to be in emotional control of herself and her abilities. Not for long. Elsa gets upset when beautiful but impulsive Anna immediately intends to get hitched to comely Southern Isles prince Hans (voice of Santino Fontana), a guy she met only minutes before in a boating “mishap”. Already tense and anxious, Elsa unleashes an ice age on Arondelle and flees the shocked citizenry for the lonely refuge of the mountains.

Anna may be a mere mortal, and a bit clumsy, but she is unswervingly determined to locate and reconcile with her sister and convince her to thaw out the kingdom. This sounds like a straight-arrow objective, but many complications come into play. One, Elsa finally finds peace and the freedom to be herself in the mountains, which is celebrated in the ubiquitous, destined-to-be ageless ballad “Let It Go”, and literally carves out an ice palace for herself. Two, although Anna teams up with loner ice-delivery man Kristoff (voice of Jonathan Groff) and his faithful, dog-like reindeer Sven, and a wacky snowman named Olaf (Josh Gad), they at first don’t seem to be much help. Kristoff, like Elsa, just wants to be left alone, and Olaf keeps falling apart and foolishly wishing he could move to the tropics. But, with Sven’s urging, Anna’s tenacity and persistence bring this odd duo around. Third, some in the coronation party, like the Duke of Weselton (‘Weaselton”) voice of Alan Tudyk) and others, consider Elsa a monster and want to eliminate her. Fourth, Elsa accidentally causes Anna to suffer a “heart freeze” that could prove fatal. Can Anna achieve this miracle and save both Elsa and herself? According to the Troll King, true love is the key. But what is this true love?

“D’s Frozen” continues the Mouse House’s rise above older cartoon sentiments and happily-ever-after resolutions and marriages (mostly) and explores more advanced, modern emotions and themes. In Marvel Comics “X-men”, mutants deal with adolescent anxiety and confusion about their powers, their fear of losing control of their powers and causing death and destruction, and the prejudicial hostility of a society that can’t and won’t understand them. Elsa faces these same dilemmas. “D’s Frozen” moves beyond superficial, helpless romantic puppy love (like that of Anna and Hans) into more substantial love and friendship like the one within a family and between sisters. It also moves beyond conventional villains (although there are a few, and at least one unanticipated one) to show that our own worst enemies are our inhibitions and fears. “D’s Frozen” also continues the relatively recent Disney movement to create independent, self-assured women who do not automatically need men to face and overcome danger and obstacles. And naturally, most importantly, “D’s Frozen” helps us figure out what that true love is, with, amazingly, the help of that “wise fool” Olaf. True love is captured in the phrase that begins, “No greater love hath a man [person] for another than to….”.

Best of all, “D’s Frozen” achieves the weighty themes mentioned above with excellent visually artistry, suspenseful and sometimes heart-thumping action, naturally funny slapstick and verbal humor, dazzling musical numbers, satisfying character development, and happiness that is not deus ex machina, but hard-won. Not bad for this Disney/Marvel collaboration. Not bad at all.

P.S.: If you have the patience to wade through the end credits, you’ll find a funny disclaimer addressing Kristoff’s opinion about men and their noses, and the final fate of the abominable snowman Elsa creates to protect herself from attack.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
Who doesn't love Disney movies? Disney didn't disappoint again. We absolutely loved this movie! We ordered it and were able to watch it over and over again. Perfect for rainy day when we couldn't go outside. This is a story about two sisters, Anna and Elsa. Elsa is "frozen" a girl who has ability or curse (as she sees it in the beginning) to freeze stuff. In the beginning Anna and Elsa are playing as sisters do, until Elsa accidentally uses her power. Their parents separate them in order to protect both of them from each other. And Anna's memories are erased so she wont remember Elsa's ability. They grow old. Anna is always wondering why Elsa doesn't want to play or spend time with her not knowing what had happened. Time comes for the town to name Elsa as the ruler of the town. Anna pushes Elsa to the edge by asking about the past and Elsa uses her ability and exposes herself. She runs away. Anna follows her. Elsa again uses power on Anna. Anna returns home. Long story short... In the end Elsa and Anna live together. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2017
Disney's Frozen plays subtly upon assumptions, stimulating reconsideration of what obstacles there may be to true love--and even whether there oughtn't be a few for young people to start with after all ! It might do to bundle those aforementioned assumptions under the label "Pride And Prejudice-esque" : sister dynamics in one corner, brother dynamics in the other, no real parents in either, yet the imbroglios of Elizabeth and D'Arcy more attributable ( or at least attributed ) to the mutual miscomprehension of "classes" than to these lovers' personal, pre-romantic, familial histories. Comparable to Elizabeth Bennett in being the younger and less ostentatiously gifted of upper-class sisters, daughters of parents distant and then untimely deceased, is Frozen's Princess Anna. Anna falls in love almost instantly with the ( Spoiler alert ! ) cad-monster, Hans, far harder-driven even than Wicked Wickham by fraternal jealousy and legacy-lust. ( Cf. "With twelve older brothers..." ) In part to shed clarifying-contrastive light on both Anna's and Kristoff's backgrounds, Frozen has the ( adoptive ) family of Anna's real-true-love-to-be, Kristoff, be a clan of trolls very liable to overwhelm their mild nordic orphan-friends like a flash-mob Big Troll Wedding, a tidal wave of cheeky Family Wholeness that is everything unfamiliar to Anna at least. So might we wish to fall, en famille Grecque, upon Elizabeth Bennett, whisking her past pride and past prejudice to a perfect if premature Happy Ending. But Frozen implies that one should heal psychic faults at their pre-romantic, familial origins rather than, still ignorant of the sources of one's inclinations, seeking a panacea in romance however authentic.

The Trolls, Kristoff had warned Anna, are consummate "love experts"--but why then does Frozen have the stricken Anna faint rather than rally at the climax of The Trolls' big number about love ? Until then, under a shock-wedding gazebo, together with Hans before The Priest-Troll, Anna attends politely to their advice. As Anna's reserved looks and Kristoff's impatient expostulations meanwhile suggest, however, The Trolls' advice, if sound in itself, is nonethless directed to Hans and Anna in error. Anna is neither a snob nor a prude nor a slanderer's fool who needs prodding towards her "fixer-upper." Nor is she well-advised to be, as The Trolls imply she should, *less* critical. How perilously "spontaneous" Anna has already been in romantic matters ! And how ingeniously dark the parallel ironies of Anna's duet with Hans will prove to be : Hans has indeed been trawling for just such an "open [ reread : carelessly unlocked ] door" ! The Trolls are wrong furthermore to imagine that, Our Heroine rid of Hans and open to advances on Kristoff's part ( and to quote the French version ), "tout sera reglé !" The Trolls have been rushing Anna towards Kristoff, even just a kiss from whom will come only in the film's denouement, and ignoring her real and serious illness, which Kristoff can't help with yet. Finally, reflecting upon the rather odd fact that the "true love's kiss" they prescribed to Anna comes at last not from any man nor involves "true love" of the kind that phrase itself inevitably connotes, we should take The Trolls to task--and maybe ourselves--for conceiving Anna's challenge amidst a fog of assumptions--be they ethnic, "neo-Austenean," both, or something else.

Olaf, the hilarious snowman first brought to life by Elsa in childhood and, later, brought back to life by Elsa in the midst of renewing her stolen identity, leaves far less to be desired as sidekick-advisor than The Trolls. Recall that Elsa created Olaf at her little sister's ( at Anna's ) musical appeal : "Do you want to build a snowman ?" Insofar as Elsa thus created Olaf not only *for* Anna and at Anna's request yet hardly "with" her, Olaf is a proxy for older-to-younger sororal attention never directly forthcoming from Elsa. At the same time as he is a kind of ambassador of deflected sister-love, however, Olaf is--of course, but note it--a snow*man* or -boy at least. Olaf in fact provides gentle yet not-undemonstrative opposite-sex affection with his very first breath : "My name is Olaf, [ I'm a male snowman, by the way, ] and I like warm hugs !" Unsupervised at this juncture and momentarily uninhibited, Elsa does get carried away by her powers just as--let's give them their parental praise-due as well as criticism--The King and Queen of Arandel strove to prevent. Elsa accidentally injures Anna, The King and Queen are horrified, Elsa descends into an inner deep-freeze that isolates her above all from her sister, and Olaf disappears for over a decade. Correlatively, soon after he is *re*created on a mountainside by Elsa Revitalised, he meets with Anna searching for Elsa : "Did Elsa create you ?" "Yes." "Do you know where Elsa is ?" "Yes." He finds the hidden staircase to her castle for Anna and Kristoff and helps them get inside past another--but this one's Angry--snowman-proxy of Elsa's creation. It is he, not Kristoff, who rescues Anna at the brink of death by explaining love to her and by his readiness to "melt for her" in loving self-sacrifice. Though Olaf cannot himself be Anna's true love in the inevitable romantic sense of the phrase, he is the key to the meaning of Frozen in being thus the bridge ( sometimes almost comic-literally ! ) between Anna's and Elsa's hearts, between lost childhood memories and readiness for Adult Love. Minus a few pretty pointless physical danger spectacle-scenes and just a forgiveable touch of girl-power corniness, a beautiful, brilliant, and surprisingly reflective creation from Disney.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
I like the movie. I like watching it from beginning to end without distracting myself from the movie because I can find no good reason to, except a restroom break. However, there are somethings about the movie that I and others do consider goofs. Despite these goofs, perhaps the animators were extremely tired and ran out of coffee or something, but when the two characters fall over 90 feet down and they tied rope around there waists after they hit the bottom you notice the rope magically disappears. If this film was more like movie "The Secret Life of Pets" that would be OK though. When the animators, producers, cast, and and everyone else sing about how they eventually reveal how they created the movie "Frozen" they end with a surprising (and perhaps a little funny) answer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
My young daughters love it, of course. I also think it's an improvement over previous Disney storylines in that it highlights sibling love rather than romantic love and the hero is a female character. The kids love Elsa and her magic the best, and I hope in the inevitable sequels Disney makes Else into a sort of female superhero role model--I'd like to see her be a better character now that all the young kids (especially young girls) love her and want to be her.

Having said that, Disney could do better in many ways, especially in the way it draws female characters. The scene where Elsa changes her clothes and model-walks out the door is ridiculous, gratuitous, and offensive. And the movie didn't need the romantic love at the end.

There is also some subtle irony and humor that I appreciated as an adult. The movie is deep enough to sustain reflection and conversation. The musical scenes were only so-so; not up to the Little Mermaid/Beauty and the Beast musical standard.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
For better or for worse we've watched this movie a zillion times. My daughter loves it and even years since we first saw it in the theater it remains her all time favorite. We both love the music. She loves the princesses. i love that the main characters are strong women. The only scary part is when the large snow monster chases them, and even that is pretty tame. What is harder for a 4yo to grasp is a bad guy that seems like a good guy at first (Hans). She struggled with understanding his role in the story - and ultimately it helped us talk about "tricky people" (the updated version of "stranger danger") and how you can't judge people on a brief interaction. So that in itself is invaluable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse