Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 462 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 564 reviews
on January 15, 2014
This film was hard to watch because I knew the horrible conclusion. It is heartbreaking, but Michael B Jordan somehow makes it more so with his performance as the flawed hero. He and the director brought to life a young man struggling to overcome his own mistakes and the obstacles our society places in front of young black men from the inner city. I am not one of those young men but this film briefly brought their world to life for me.
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2014
This film was incredible. Very moving. It has a bit of a student-film feel to it in parts, but the story is so intensely told that you can over look that. And I am appalled that the young leading man did not get any nods for this role - Oscar or Golden Globe. He was amazing. You have to see this film - just bring tissues.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Michael B. Jordan did play a good, main role of Oscar Grant III in this movie.

He used to be a drug dealer or some other type of criminal who went to jail but was released eventually. He was living in an apartment with his biracial daughter and Hispanic girlfriend, who was also the mother of that child. He lost his job but tried to get it back. He helped a young Caucasian woman he did not know regarding what fish she should fry. At first, he disrespected and cursed around his mother when she visited him in jail. But, he treated her better later and even listened to her about riding the train. She was regretful when she found out that he was killed "accidentally" by the police at Frutvale Station.

Because of Oscar Grant's murder, Frutvale Station is haunted permanently.

For those who are interested in seeing this movie, you may find the movie boring at first but it would become better eventually.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
I was reluctant to watch this film when it came out, because I just assumed it would be "PC Propaganda".

I was wrong. Even if some events are fictionalized, it's pretty much an accurate depiction of the randomness of life and the choices we make in life. It appears that a lot of effort went into interviewing the people he interacted with that last day, and presuming the tale is told accurately, it's very even-handed. There's no sense of "every whitie is prejudiced against the black man"; I mean this is the SF bay area after all. It is, however, a pretty accurate depiction of the lives of lots of people who live here who are not part of the tech scene...

And BART still howls it's soul-rending song to this day, mere blocks from my home... the eeriest sound in the whole region. I wish it had never been built.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
I am a Criminology professor and was interested in this film for a number of reasons. First, it provides an excellent way to communicate to students how race can inform law enforcement practices. This film is based on a well-known fatal case and there have been many others since this one across the country to illustrate how this can happen in other places. Second, the film provides a more realistic approach to the daily life and struggles of inner city racial minority youth rather than a glorified culture of violence wrapped around gangs and stereotypical gang culture. Third, the film can be used as a starting point for provocative discussion on how certain racial and ethnic minority group members are susceptible to different types of law enforcement compared to white suburban community members. If you're at all interested in a more realistic (carefully noting it is 'based' on a true story and not a documentary) portrayal of the policing of racial and ethnic minority youth, do yourself a favor and watch it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
Moving account of a true story. Shows Oscar Grant in real life trying to get his life together and having a tough time doing so, but with a good heart and potential as a young husband and father. A New Year's celebration with his girlfriend and other friends goes to hell when a guy he used to have feuds with in the state pen recognizes him and attacks him, starting a brawl on a train car. When cops try to control the situation, it escalates, and Oscar may have made it worse by not cooperating fully with the cops. Whatever his issues, and he had a few, he didn't deserve to die that night.

But questions of possible excessive force remain on the case, and it's timely to watch in light of the Trayvon Martin and Michael Brown and Eric Garner cases. Ultimately the goal of the producer, director and cast was not to vilify but to understand, and the advantage of getting this in DVD is we get to hear their comments in interviews. Includes 2011 Best Supporting Actress Oscar award winner Octavia Spencer as Oscar's mom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
I finally saw the story of Oscar Grant. I read his story on Wiki one day, and by the advice of a co-worker, got the movie. I look at life this way, there is good and bad in everyone, rogue police, decent police, rogue punks, decent teens..........sometimes things happen, but in actuality, this poor guy did not deserve what he got, ...........It was a touching movie, and sad. All of the uprising in different cities attest to these type situations, but sometimes it's hard on the side of the police too.
I hope one day we can all come together and violence becomes a thing of the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
Gary Younge, a British writer for the Nation magazine writes---"According to a 2013 report by the Malcolm X Grassroots Movement, a black person is killed by police, security guards or vigilantes every twenty-eight hours. Add to that the fact that one in ten young black men is behind bars and one in two has been arrested, and America starts to look more and more like a huge penal colony." Filmmaker,Ryan Coogler, mirrors the above quote via his movie "Fruitvale Station". Like the late director, producer Stanley Kramer, he incorporates social consciousness using film as a weapon against discrimination, hatred, prejudice and excessive power. From watching "Fruitvale Station" we know that films can not only entertain, but tell the truth. All that considered,"Fruitvale Station" touches our sense of moral responsibility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
I would recommend this movie. The characters were realistic in that the audience was shown the real character for better or for worst. The young man had some issues as he grew up and tried to find himself. We got to see him as a son, a father, boyfriend, a brother, and a friend who is missed by the people in his life particularly his young daughter. I made a point of making my 16 year old African American son watch this movie. Young black men are being killed by white men and the white men are getting away with it. I wanted my son to see this movie in hopes that he can avoid being in situations such as the one these young men found themselves in and if it happens that he finds himself in a similar situation, he will not make a bad situation worse. My son told me after watching this film that he was glad that he watched it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I gave it five stars for the great acting. I remember when it happened. It was another horrible incident of police brutality. In this case, the fellow was killed by a over-reacting, stressed to the max cop. Both Bart and Oakland, should give their police officers periodic mental evaluations to make sure they are fit for duty, not murder.

The story was good, it shows both sides of the victims personality. Maybe it glossed over a little, but I don't think the writer over did it. The story painted a picture of a unemployed ex-con with no glimmer of finding the job he needs to take care of those who depend upon him, he was trying to turn his life around. Whether he was or not really has no bearing on the way he was killed and who he was killed by. A son, a father was taken away from the family who loved him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse