Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $10.00 (67%)

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Fulcrum Files by [Chisnell, Mark]
Kindle App Ad

The Fulcrum Files Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 31 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 354 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Email Subscriptions
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

'What really impressed me though was the strong characterisation and plotting. It is rather complicated, but everything dovetails together very nicely at the end… Fans of David Downing or Alan Furst in particular should give this book a chance.' Crime Fiction Lover

'With his riveting plotting and engaging characters, Chisnell provides a good read.' Read All Day

'This is a well-researched historical thriller with romantic extras. The hero is a poor boy with a brain and the complex snobberies he encounters are sharply delineated. Two nicely contrasted heroines, lots of period detail and a touch of industrial strife thrown in. This is a big book, well-worth settling down to. I shall be looking out for more.' Indie e-book review

'Once the “course” of the book was finally set, I was hooked. Just when I thought I couldn’t take it anymore this amazing, fast paced story emerged before my very eyes and I couldn’t put it down… What you have is just another shining example of why Chisnell is an indie name to keep your eyes on.' Kindle Obsessed

‘History, the sea, adventure, Romance and intrigue make for a good plot but the real measure is if you can put it down or not. I couldn’t and am looking forward to Mark’s next book for he has a new fan.’ Pete Goss

About the Author

Mark Chisnell writes the kind of stories that keep you turning the pages on holiday, and still thinking about them when you get back to work ...
The books include the Kindle chart-topping thrillers - The Defector, The Wrecking Crew and The Fulcrum Files - as well as award-winning works of non-fiction. He's a former professional sportsman and also works as a broadcaster and journalist, writing for some of the world's leading magazines and newspapers, including Esquire and the Guardian.
Probably Mark's greatest achievement was hitch-hiking to Mt Everest base-camp in Tibet. In training shoes. Or maybe that was the stupidest.

Product Details

  • File Size: 3550 KB
  • Print Length: 354 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1621251632
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: December 18, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0074HGO4S
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #643,920 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
All Ben Clayton wants to do is take to the Atlantic Ocean and America as engineer on board the yacht `Windflower', and it looks as though this dream is about to become reality, when - in a scene as memorable as the opening chapter of Ian McEwan's Enduring Love - a shocking accident changes everything. Clayton suddenly finds himself drawn into an increasingly complex tale of murder, politics and espionage.

Having read and reviewed both of Mark Chisnell's previous novels, The Defector and The Wrecking Crew, I was surprised and curious that he had chosen this time to write an historical thriller, based on real events. But he carries it off with great assuredness.

In the English boatyards around Hamble and The Solent pre-World War 2, there is more concern with class divisions than the seemingly unlikely prospect of another war. Yet beyond the upper-class gambling clubs and expensive racing yachts; beyond the struggles and hand-to-mouth existence of the striking fishermen, other forces are at work. When the action moves to Germany, Munich is painted as fashionable, vibrant and alive, but the bonhomie of the beer halls is undermined by the chilling presence of uniformed Gestapo on the streets. It is to the writer's credit that despite the reader's knowledge of the historical outcome, there is still, through Clayton's eyes, the sense of a moment in time: where such things have not yet come to pass.

As ever with a Mark Chisnell novel, we are treated to his pre-occupations with psychology, philosophy, and of course, sailing. The moral dilemma this time is represented by the conflict Clayton faces given his commitment as an avowed pacifist, when pitted against the enormity of the potential threat that looms.
Read more ›
Comment 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The Fulcrum Files combines several of my own interests: European history, boat design and sailing, and the Riddle of the Sands. Best of all it's spiced up with a few love interests and a murder mystery. The action is fast-paced, the writing is tight, and the characters are so believable and fresh you'll wish you could share a drink with them. This may well be one of the best books I read this year. Highly recommended.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The unlikely hero of this complex (and rather long) spy thriller is a young engineer who just wants to build a better sailboat and live peacefully with the love of his life until the closing credits of happily ever after. Unfortunately for him, his dream becomes quite a bit more complicated when a tragic event overturns his life plan, pushing him way beyond his comfort zone and into the pre-stages of WWII.

While trying to uncover the truth about the aforementioned tragic event, he finds himself caught between the obligations of his job and loyalty to his friends, and is even forced to deny the woman he loves.

An unexpected business trip to Germany in the company of a mysterious femme fatale leads to further problems on all fronts, and soon he's fighting harder than he ever did in the boxing rings of his youth. As can be expected from the "Fulcrum" part of the title, he gets landed (involuntarily) with a pivotal role in determining the outcome of an inevitable war.

This novel has something for everybody - intrigue, politics, action, romance - even geography, history and sailing. The hero? Well, he's not your suave superman by any means, and even though you'll want to thump him upside his head for his lack of finesse, you'll still be rooting for him in the end.

Amanda Richards, September 18, 2012
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Chisnell's third thriller is another that's impossible to put down, with an intricate plot, superb characterisation and unexpected twists that maintain suspense - and surprise - right to the end.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Mark Chisnell's THE FULCRUM FILES opens in 1922 when the young English boxer, Ben Clayton, snatches victory from the jaws of defeat by knocking out - and severely injuring - his ring opponent. Guilt ridden, Ben turns to pacifism as his life's guiding philosophy.

Fast forward to 1936.

Ben is now a structural engineer recently employed by Supermarine Aviation Works, Ltd., a subsidiary of Vickers-Armstrongs Aircraft, Ltd. A keen amateur sailor since his college days, Clayton and his best friend, mentor, and fellow engineer, Stanley Arbethwaite, are now working to equip the racing yacht Windflower, owned by Supermarine executive Harold Dunwood, with a revolutionary mast made of duraluminum, one of the earliest types of hardened aluminum alloys. But Harold is killed in a freak accident while rigging the mast. Ben comes to believe that his friend was murdered. But why? And by whom?

Ben's investigation into Stanley's death is the central plot of the novel told against a background of a reemerging and bellicose Nazi Germany, a divided England (appeasement versus national rearmament for war), and the development of the famed Spitfire warplane.

THE FULCRUM FILES is part murder whodunit and part espionage tale with a love interest thrown in (for the female readership?).

The book contains an excess character or two and at least one superfluous subplot that stretched out the storyline and should perhaps have been left on the cutting room floor. Indeed, it isn't until Ben finds himself in Germany about two-thirds of the way through that the plot really thickens. I wish there had been less about the yachting and (much) more about the development of the Spitfire, but that's only my personal preference.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Fulcrum Files
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Fulcrum Files