Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
5 star
86%
4 star
14%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$10.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2016
Jennifer Holm has written another really appealing historical fiction novel based on her family history. While I don't normally have much luck getting students to read historical fiction, I think I could get them to read this since Beans is such a likeable, interesting character. I also loved Key West as a setting and watching it change for the better. Beans willingness to work to earn money to go to the movies and help out his mom is a major plot point that leads to conflict when Beans starts working for a bootlegger who asks him to set off fire alarms to help him transport contraband. The pay is good but the consequences are not and Beans is left trying to make up for his mistakes. The friendships as well as the other people Beans interacts with make the story an interesting one. Beans' little brother Kermit, his grandmother Nana Philly (the meanest woman in Key West), and his feud with Dot (a girl!) all play a role in the choices Beans makes and who he ends up deciding to be. Holm has written another winner with great characters, a fabulous setting, and an interesting plot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
This is a good continuation of Jennifer Holm's other book, "Turtle in Paradise". I was born and raised in Key West and she paints a very good picture of the way it was there during the depression. My Mom and Dad lived thru it and told me stories. Wonderful children's book , as are all of Jennifer Holm's works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
Does building resilience in kids mean they have to be able to handle everything by themselves? Or that they can weather the hard times, with their sense of self intact? I adore Jennifer Holm's newest novel Full of Beans precisely for the way that Beans struggles through hard times, learning about the consequences of his decisions, yet never losing his sense of humor or his loyalty to his family and friends.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
My daughter loves all of Jennifer L Holm's books. We like that she includes science/history into very interesting stories. I recommend all of her books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Another Great Jennifer Holm book! Beans is a "hoot" also love the history of the "Keys" embedded in the book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2017
My 9 year old daughter LOVED this book!! We will be ordering all of them by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
Loved it....remembering the times
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2017
Awesome. Entertaining and educational. My kid and I loved it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 1, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Full of Beans" is the story of a boy and his gang, and of triumph over adversity during the Great Depression.

Beans and his buddies are a bunch of barefoot, marble-toting boys in Key West Florida, here to help readers get a glimpse of what life was like in a dying, poverty-stricken town in the 1930s.

Our boy, Beans, is an enterprising young man, doing what he can to help out his family, his friends, and their families during one of the grimmest eras in American history. The story is true to it's time in every aspect: expressions, events, characters, all of it.

Among Beans's many money-making schemes is one that puts the whole town in jeopardy. Beans never confesses to this crime, but he more than makes up for it in his whole-hearted attempt to make things right again. Some might feel that, as this is a story for children, Beans should have 'fessed up, as we would want our children to do. But I love the way Holm chose to resolve the issue instead.

The story is set in real life situations in Key West as experienced by a fictional but realistic boy; how the town rose up from near-extinction to become the Key West we know today. It is rich with history that will be captivating for kids: How house fires were dealt with in those days, what people ate and did for entertainment (bollos and bolitos, for example), child movies stars, leprosy, rum runners, and many other true-to-life examples of the day. Holm gives us some rich supporting historical background at the end of the book. She is the author of three Newbery Honor-Award winning books. In my book, Holm deserves an award for this one as well.

"Full of Beans" gives the topics of family, loyalty, and kindness their due in a very kid-friendly way.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

$6.99
$11.89

Need customer service? Click here