Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 618 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 793 reviews
on November 15, 2014
This one is for readers of Hollywood memoirs who like biogs untarnished and raw. I read this book vacillating between “Surely he’s making all this up!” and “This is so far-fetched it must be true!” the whole way through. There is a lot of name-dropping and after a while I found myself thinking “Oh? Him too? And her? And him and him and her and her as well? Who didn’t you do???” In the end I decided that it’s probably largely true, but that he’s written about his singularly unique life the way he remembered it, not necessarily the way it actually happened. Does that make Bowers an unreliable narrator? Yes. Does it also make him an interesting one? Also yes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
A good, fun read. Scandal galore, but the author is ever so nice about it. I was shocked quite a few times while reading this book. I was also pretty amazed at how casually this man of 80 or so talks about his sexual escapades of 60 years before. Adds a new dimension of blind sensuality to Hollywood. It's quaint. R-rated, but quaint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
Quite a tawdry little book. I learned about more about many of past Hollywood than I ever dreamed.
In essence it was a good read, informative, if you want to know deep secrets of many of these stars.
Bowers was a total insider so he would know and he does not hesitate to name names,
and their extra curricular activities. You may want to take a shower after you read it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
Stumbled upon this gem and devoured it in a day. Countless, fascinating anecdotes, recounted with humility and balance, provide a glimpse of what life was like for some in Old Hollywood. It is not a gossip book. It is much more. I finished the last page wishing for still more stories knowing Scotty has them, yet grateful for the look behind the curtain. Highly recommended. Look forward to the new documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
What can one say about Scotty Bowers? From his early days setting up tricks at a gas station in California to his 88 years of still pimping today. What this book reveals is that Scotty Bowers in my view is a classic sociopath who is bi-sexual. He has managed to cross paths with the Hollywood elite and as a result has many friends.
He has several serious relationships with women and had one daughter who dies from a botched abortion. We learn some of the fetishes of Tyrone Power and Charles Laughton that are nauseatingly described by Scotty.
The book was an easy read and what it reveals is information that we've already known about the gay community and its famous stars, i.e., Rock Hudson, Cary Grant, James Dean and many others. There's nothing new except that Scotty tells his story with a straight face while still turning tricks. The amazing thing about Full Service is that Scotty has managed to stay healthy while others have succumbed to Aids.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
Who cares if we wonder off into the memories of an old man. Who cares if youy've heard some of these. Scotty Bowers thank you for your adventures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
Even if only 10% of what Bowers says is true, he has still lived the life of 1,000 men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
i easily felt admiration for scotty's unjudgemental good-spirited nature regarding the pure enjoyment of sex sans vulgarity; some of his anecdotes seem exaggerated but whether so or not didn't detract from the pleasure of reading the reporting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
I will be honest, I stopped reading it even though I was almost finished. It just drones on...if you believe this guy he schtupped every Hollywood Star out there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
Subject matter is interesting, but is it fact or autobiographical fiction? I personally have to withhold belief on the Tracy-Hepburn claims. My main complaint is with the writing. Organization of the material is great, but as for the presentation, I found that much of it clearly reflected independent research done by the co-author. So the first-person telling did not ring quite true to me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse