Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Book House Cleaning Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 255 reviews
on March 17, 2014
I LOVE this album. Dave Alexander's bass is so loud and central and exciting! Iggy was in his prime and he didn't quite know what a bigshot he was yet so he's kinda perfect and desperate. Ron Asheton was such a bitchin guitarist (if you listen closely, that's the sound of a guitarist who doesn't hog every second he can but listens to the other players--possibly due to LSD experimentation moderating his ego), Scott was the Muppet's drummer Animal--so full of heart, looking good, tripping on acid from the trailerpark baybeh!!! That sax guy is kinda cool too, I guess. Anyways, this was psychedelic acid rock and these guys listened to eachother. I love Iggy screaming "Let me in!" "Bring it down" & " I feel alright!!!!" as if they all mean exactly the same thing, "Raaaaaaaaaaa!!!" The band never brings it down, he doesn't really want anyone to let him in, he's delirious and I bet if you looked him in the eyes, they'd be swirling like slot machine reels in mid-spin. Transcendent and beautiful. If you told me you you disliked their next album, Raw Power (Legacy Edition), I'd probably say: "I love it, but to each his own." But if you told me you disliked 'Funhouse', I'd say: "It's you. Listen loud, you'll get it."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2005
The other day, I heard the riff from "TV Eye" in a car ad. Times have indeed changed. Doesn't take more than 30 seconds to ruin a good song, does it? Atleast it was just the riff. I guess they needed the money.

So is this brilliant piece of madness finally getting mainstream attention? I suppose Jack White's endorsement in the liner notes doesn't hurt matters. In any case, it's about time this was given the reissue treatment. As always, Rhino has done a top notch job here. Sonically, it blows the low budget Electra releases away. And they kept the mix, which is more than you can say for Raw Power.

"Down In The Street" opens a vein of pure anarchy right from the start. And that's only the beginning. If Rock & Roll is all about sex & violence, then "Loose" is the poster child. The sound of repressed lust finally set free to wreak havoc on the unsuspecting world. A war cry for the sexual revolution, or just a tune about some crazy guy flashing chicks on the street? Either way, it's one of the best tracks on this album.

As for "TV Eye", guess it's about dropping acid & being stared at by your cat, but who really cares when you're hit with what Ron Ashton's delivering. Proof you don't need formal training to be a guitar god. Or hell, even know what you're doing. Things may mellow out a bit with the gorgeously sleazy dirge, "Dirt" but then "1970" kicks in. If there ever was a song about being "outta my mind on a Satuday night", this is it. Rumspringa from hell. Enough scorn & dersion to almost be a satire on Teenage Wasteland. Or drunken suburban brats everywhere. As for the title track, they emptied out the asylum here. A psycho jazz freak out, thanks to Steven McKay's manic sax.

Serious collectors & audiophiles can amuse themselves with the bonus disc of alterternate takes & there's even an unreleased gem in, "Lost In The Future".

Critics will tell you this is one of the most influential records of all time. Without a doubt, there would be no Ramones. No Clash. No Sex Pistols. No Nirvana. Not to mention hacks like Red Hot Chili Peppers. But leave all that for journalists to pontificate on. Virtually ignored at it's release, bargain binned through the years---I guess that's the price you pay for being ahead of your time. The reissue of their debut is just as essential. Simply one of the most explosive & unforgettable records you'll ever hear.
1212 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
First record I received was badly warped. The replacement was also warped, but playable. Great record and one I'm glad to have but warped records are no fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Now this was a band. Bought the vinyl and then downloaded it so I could kick it in the car too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
This is the pinicle album for Iggy Pop in my opinion. This album is amazing, every song is equally as amazing as the other, very few albums manage to do this but Funhouse does.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
Love the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 27, 2005
The Funhouse Album. Can it get much better than this? Apparently it can. I'm not one to buy reissues, remasters, and such. I have found that sometimes a remaster can be worse than the original! This is one remaster you're going to want to get, though.

The opening track of the Stooges' Funhouse album is "Down on the Street". Henry Rollins once described the driving rhythm that begins this album as a sound that makes a person want to either f[...] or fight, but you know something's going to happen. This album scares people. It is violent. It is sexy. It is everything that makes rock and roll worth listening to. An incredible mix of rock, protopunk, and even some free jazz to top it off.

So, why get the remaster? Honestly, my ears are not in tune enough to be able to tell a difference between this version of the album, and my old beat-up version. That being said, you need to buy this album for the incredible Second CD that it comes with. This album was recorded over several days in Los Angeles. Each day the band would focus on recording one new song live in the studio (something that was not very common then, with emerging advances in studio technology). Every song had several takes and many different versions throughout the day it was recorded.

The second disc consists of several of the alternate takes of the songs on the Funhouse album, and they are incredible. The new and unique interpretations of some of these songs are something any Stooges fan will want to hear. You might even end up liking the alternate versions more than the ones you are familiar with!

On top of the alternate takes, there are two new tracks, "Lost In The Future" and "Slide (Slidin' The Blues)". These are both great songs recorded in the same session, and they come out sounding incredibly clear (most stooges collectors know, tracks like that are hard to come by). If you are a long time Stooges fan, you need to pick up the remaster. If you don't own any version of this recording, what are you waiting for?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2007
With the follow up to their eponymous debut, THE STOOGES make that "quantum leap" one often reads about, and in this case, FUN HOUSE is, in a word, stunning! Never pleasantly or hilariously "dumb" like the debut, FUN HOUSE is an amazing and perplexing advancement from that debut record which of and by itself would have sealed THE STOOGES' reputation. This band was even better than anyone could have ever guessed (though their record sales quickly relegated their two Elektra releases, the debut and FUN HOUSE, to the bargain bin). FUN HOUSE is jaw-droppingly unforgiving, a punch in the gut, a splash of acid in the face, hard power and hot metal, a lurching monster, referred to as "proto-punk" because of its influence on every Punk and Grunge band since, but really, such bands are belittled and reduced to mere "poodles" by this far-end risk that in fact is the most unique record of its era and a hybrid of 50s rock, 60s psychedelia, and that which was as yet unnamed (Punk) and no band has yet matched the achievement. Few records have predicted the coming decades as FUN HOUSE did in 1970, though typically unrecognized in its time. As Iggy Pop (a.k.a. Iggy Stooge) himself said, and to paraphrase, THE STOOGES could "eat all those poodles for breakfast." With a scorched earth policy that leaves no listener unscathed, this record is probably one of the most challenging records in the Rock n' Roll catalog, and not for the faint of heart, such as those moments all over the record when one hears Iggy blatantly snorting. If you ever listened to CAPTAIN BEEFHEART's TROUT MASK REPLICA you might get an idea of the accessibility of "L.A. Blues" which is a non-song cacophony of horror with the carnivorous animal Iggy loosed, roaring, and stalking the complacent world. But for the student and lover of Rock n' Roll, this record is a must. I think the primary reason Rock critics and diehard fans continue to cite THE STOOGES, especially FUN HOUSE, is because of the foresight of this material. The experimental aspect of the record is indicative of its era (it is completely un-commercial, but many bands included such material on their records in those days, though, frankly, lame by comparison) yet, like all three of THE STOOGES albums, FUN HOUSE never sounds dated. Tracks like the sustained tension of "Down On The Street", the superbly nasty and compelling "Loose," the luscious blues of "Dirt," the burping, mesmerizing "T.V. Eye," and the sucker-punch "1970," in which Iggy shrieks "...I feel alright" ending with a major snort (the sequel to "1969" when Iggy had "nuthin' ta do") are supremely realized and uncompromising, and if it weren't for their shocking effect, I'd be wearing a s**t eatin' grin. One of Rock's great romps, FUN HOUSE is not for the uninitiated, the timid, or uninspired. That being said, FUN HOUSE is one of the greatest records of Rock, a whole hell of a lot of fun, possibly my all time favorite, and one of the very few records of Rock that upon listening to for the first time I said to myself, "WOW!" In another word, a masterpiece.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
the first stooges album i ever heard was "raw power"...it made the kind of impression on me that made purchasing it mandatory...after that, their sound merged with and mutated my atoms...a lot of people, many so-called friends laughed at me and/or put me down for liking the stooges...i considered this ignorance the true watermark of poseurs...

then, i heard "funhouse"...fully heard it, alone in my room and absorbed it...you see, in rock and roll songs, the riff is THE THING...and the riffs ron ashteton birthed for this album are so powerful as to have permeated my brain...i love a lot of great rock and roll, and there are plenty of good riffs lifting it up, but ron asheton's riffs, especially the one for "tv eye", literally changes my dna every time i hear it...that everything before and after it on this album is as jamming kool marks the stooges as premium grade all the way...no one-hit wonders, these cats...

now i know why iggy dances like a four-year-old wired up on redbull (don't ask)...he had to...the music ron, his brother, scott, and their buddy, dave, made, especially on "funhouse" may as well have been an electric burner under his chicken feet at an old travelling carnival...with this music, he had to...
99 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99
$4.99

Need customer service? Click here