Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 24, 2017
One of THE WORST textbooks I have ever used. The chapter problems are poorly written. The "selected" answers provide no help and a few of them are wrong. The reading is dry and boring. The author keeps switching formula length from meters to feet (or mm to inches), so you never know what your result will be. And to top if off, the INDEX IS WRONG; the page numbers in the index are incorrect. The website link to "selected answers" is wrong too.

Good luck trying to use this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
I don't have much to compare it to as a materials book. However, it seems to explain concepts fundamental to materials science in an understandable format.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
This is one of the better text books I've had. It's easy to follow and helped a lot with the course considering my professor didn't know how to answer questions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
this textbook saved my life for my materials science class. If you have a bad teacher who doesn't even go through example problems and just reads off years old slides that are somewhat relevant to the topic, this textbook will cover everything you need to know
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
Great basic book for fundamentals. I still go back to this book for the basics!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
The text is somewhat confusing. The diagrams are too small and any attempt to magnify results in grainy pictures. Additionally the lack of page numbers makes it difficult to follow along with a class. Locations do not help at all. The formatting seems to be off and can lack cohesiveness unless you can compare it to the hard-copy version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
Book has more short comings than I thought compared to the newer edition. Came very quickly and brand new. No weird smell and no damaged edges makes for a great review!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
I saved a lot of money buying thins book through amazon. The price was great and so was the quality. This book was exactly the same that the school was selling used for $50 more. It came in great condition with notes from the last user (this was a great help in understanding the material) The Book covers the basics of materials science and I'm sure it will be a great resource for years to come. The information in here is very applicable to anyone planning on building products that need to last. The chapter summary's at the end of each chapter have a list of equations and explanation of the variables. The charts are incredibly useful too. I am a fabricator and have referred to the tables multiple time to determine what type of steel to use for different applications.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
I just want to warn you that the kindle version is flawed. In many cases the graphics in this book are impossible to make out on the kindle screen, and increasing the font size does not help since they are embedded images, not text. This is true for most of the important equations throughout the book. The images show up better on the "Kindle for PC" application, but they are still pretty small.

I usually like kindle books for various reasons, but in this case I would recommend a real copy. I chose to give two stars since it is convenient to be able to search the textbook, and of course it is much easier to haul around than the full sized book. And cheaper.

EDIT: I viewed this on a kindle 3. It may look better on a kindle fire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse