Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All CD'S IN BRAND NEW CASES. Cd's all tested and guaranteed to play and rip to computer. Don't pay retail, buy used and save money.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Future Soundtrack for America

3.9 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, August 17, 2004
$3.99 $0.01

Editorial Reviews

A fundraising CD compilation released by Barsuk in collaboration with MoveOn.Org & Music For America. The project was organized by They Might Be Giants principal John Flansburgh & features REM, Blink-182, Fountains Of Wayne, & previously unreleased tracks from Bright Eyes, Death Cab For Cutie, David Byrne, OK Go, Black Eyed Peas', TMBG, late singer/songwriter Elliot Smith, & one track, "Day After Tomorrow", taken from Tom Waits forthcoming studio album "Real Gone". One hundred percent of our & McSweeney's profits will go to non-profit progressive organizations, including Music For America, Common Assets, The Sierra Club, & others.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. OK Go - This Will Be Our Year [unreleased Zombies cover]
  2. David Byrne - Not So Far To Go [original previously unreleased]
  3. Jimmy Eat World - Game Of Pricks (live on the BBC) [unreleased]
  4. Death Cab For Cutie - This Temporary Life [original previously unreleased]
  5. Blink-182 - I Miss You (James Guthrie mix) [this mix available only on ltd UK 7"]
  6. Mike Doughty - Move On [original previously unreleased]
  7. Ben Kweller - Jerry Falwell Destroyed the Earth [original previously unreleased]
  8. Sleater-Kinney - Off With Your Head [available only on bonus 7" w/ One Beat LP]
  9. REM - Final Straw (MoveOn Mix) [original previously unreleased]
  10. Bright Eyes - Going For The Gold (live) [unreleased]
  11. The Long Winters - The Commander Thinks Aloud [original previously unreleased]
  12. of The Black-Eyed Peas - Money [available only on 2002 UK-only soundtrack release]
  13. They Might Be Giants - Tippecanoe And Tyler Too [unreleased cover of 19th c. political song]
  14. Clem Snide - The Ballad of David Icke [original previously unreleased
  15. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Date With The Night (live) [unreleased]
  16. Fountains Of Wayne - Everything's Ruined (acoustic) [unreleased]
  17. Nada Surf - Your Legs Grow [original previously unreleased]
  18. Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (live on the BBC) [unreleased]
  19. Old 97s - Northern Line [Opal cover; previously released only on promo-only EP]
  20. Laura Cantrell - Sam Stone [unreleased John Prine cover]
  21. Tom Waits - Day After Tomorrow [original previously unreleased]
  22. Elliott Smith - A Distorted Reality Is Now A Necessity To Be Free [original previously unreleased]

Product details

  • Audio CD (August 17, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Barsuk
  • ASIN: B0002NY8IU
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #165,795 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on August 17, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on June 2, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
on October 15, 2004
Format: Audio CD
7 helpful votes
8 helpful votes
HALL OF FAMEon March 6, 2005
Format: Audio CD
9 helpful votes
10 helpful votes
on August 17, 2004
Format: Audio CD
16 helpful votes
17 helpful votes

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: america band, america music, the band america