Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM March Birthstone Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 194 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 203 reviews
on October 18, 2012
Heavy duty speaker wire made of copper and not all that filler crap. The wire does have an indicator on one side for polarity (white line on one wire) for those complaining about it, open your eyes. Is 12 gauge overkill? Maybe, but I would rather run the wire once, and run it right. Pairs very nicely with Sewell Deadbolt Banana Plugs for a very nice fit and professional install. For my rear surround speakers I went down through the floor and under the house to come up behind the couch. Remember the further you go the more resistance you get, and the bigger gauge you are going to need.

Wire gauge
Thicker wires reduce resistance. The resistance of 16-gauge or heavier speaker connection cable has no detectable effect in runs of 50 feet (15 meters) or less in standard domestic loudspeaker connections for a typical 8 ohm speaker. As speaker impedance drops, lower gauge (heavier) wire is needed to prevent degradation to damping factor - a measure of the amplifier's control over the position of the voice coil.
Insulation thickness or type also has no audible effect as long as the insulation is of good quality and does not chemically react with the wire itself (poor-quality insulation has occasionally been found to accelerate oxidation of the copper conductor, increasing resistance over time). High-power in-car audio systems using 2-ohm speaker circuits require thicker wire than 4 to 8-ohm home audio applications.
Most consumer applications use two conductor wire. A common rule of thumb is that the resistance of the speaker wire should not exceed 5% of the rated impedance of the system. The table below shows recommended lengths based on this guideline:
Maximum wire lengths for two conductor copper wire

Wire size 2 Ω load 4 Ω load 6 Ω load 8 Ω load
22 AWG (0.326 mm2) 3 ft (0.9 m) 6 ft (1.8 m) 9 ft (2.7 m) 12 ft (3.6 m)
20 AWG (0.518 mm2) 5 ft (1.5 m) 10 ft (3 m) 15 ft (4.5 m) 20 ft (6 m)
18 AWG (0.823 mm2) 8 ft (2.4 m) 16 ft (4.9 m) 24 ft (7.3 m) 32 ft (9.7 m)
16 AWG (1.31 mm2) 12 ft (3.6 m) 24 ft (7.3 m) 36 ft (11 m) 48 ft (15 m)
14 AWG (2.08 mm2) 20 ft (6.1 m) 40 ft (12 m) 60 ft (18 m)* 80 ft (24 m)
12 AWG (3.31 mm2) 30 ft (9.1 m) 60 ft (18 m)* 90 ft (27 m)* 120 ft (36 m)
10 AWG (5.26 mm2) 50 ft (15 m) 100 ft (30 m)* 150 ft (46 m)* 200 ft (61 m)

While in theory heavier wire can have longer runs, recommended household audio lengths should not exceed 50 feet (15 m)
22 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
I'm not about to debate CCA versus 100% Copper wire. My disdain is simple: There is absolutely NO indication that this wire is CCA! The product description itself is very misleading! In fact, the text criticizes the mass of other wire (assume 100% copper) then fails to divulge the use of lightweight aluminum in this wire. Heck, it might not even be aluminum, but whatever the material, it is a silver-colored core with copper crust.

Here is the item description as of June 20, 2013:

"GLS Audio speaker wire is manufactured with the highest grade materials in the industry. And most importantly, is rated in true AWG spec which stands for "American Wire Gauge". The AWG rating was developed by the USA as a result of some wire manufacturers stating their wire was a certain spec when it really wasn't. You'll notice most imported wire and cable manufacturers will rate their wire in "G" or Gauge (not AWG). The "G" rating can be used for any wire size. For example: A 12G rated cable may only be equivalent to a 18AWG cable (or worse). There are no regulations or specifications on "G" rated cables. How can you determine if a "G" rated cable is the same spec as an AWG cable? Unfortunately, you can't unless you test the power loss per foot. Sometimes the weight may be an indicator. For example: GLS Audio 500ft 12AWG spool weighs about 25 lbs whereas most of our competitors only weigh about 15lbs. This may be a direct result of the wire gauge not being true AWG."

The four product photos all 'seem' to show copper wire, yet that is NOT what you are getting. Although the seller was otherwise fine to deal with, this is a big negative against them.

If you are claiming the 'finest materials in the industry' then it damn well better be!

Me no like, bad medicine.

UPDATE AUGUST 10 2013
The seller has now included a note that it is CCA. This info was missing when I purchased the item.
22 comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2012
I bought another brand recently that had zero markings on the cable, this cable has faint black line on one side and writing on the other side making it easy to not get confused when putting banana plugs on them. The cable was a little brittle when stripping but not bad at all and not anymore or less then I've seen on other 12 gauge wire before, not to mention the strippers I was using are not high quality by any means.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
First purchase. Skeptical at first but after received found that the cables are true to its specs. Have yet to tested it but physically having seen the cables comparing to local market(Singapore), price vs performance reviews for similiarly spec'ed audio cables, this is definitely well worth the purchase! Would be my first choice and will further recommend to my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2012
This is a lot of cable at a good price. I just set up surround sound in the upstairs den and used this cable so I ordered more to go in the downstairs den. Its thick compared with the standard speaker cable and should last a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Good value. Cable doesn't have trace identifier. Had to use meter to identify which lead was which for proper phase. Definitely not a deal breaker for the price tho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Bigger than I could imagine. 14-2 was big..this was huge!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
good quality copper with 12 gauge size cable. If you are still confused by those deceptive marketing technique by audioquest, monster cables, cardas, transparents, do some research! Don't go out and spend $1000 on speaker cables and thinking it makes different. It does not! A good reference will be from roger Russel, a former director of mcintosh acoustic research lab @ roger-russell dot com under speaker wire. Take care your wallet my friend.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
This is the real deal, all copper both strands, and 100 feet. Clear case with a tiny black line on 1 side so you can keep your + and - straight. I used a professional grade wire stripper set on 12 and it took a bunch of copper strands off. switched the cutter to 10 gauge and it cut clean. Sound on my speakers is perfect. Worth every penny.

Side note: I've read other reviews that said it's copper plated tin. I didn't notice any tin when I was stripping it and don't want to take apart my banana plugs to check them, but I've ordered another roll to run some rock speakers out to the front courtyard. Will update when I get the new roll.

Update: Got my new roll and looked with a magnifying glass at the strands. If there's tin in there, I can't see it. Ran them to my courtyard rock speakers and they sound fantastic. Don't spend more than you have to. These wires are fantastic!
55 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
This is real copper wire - not plated aluminum. Also appears to be actual 12 gauge. Nice thick insulation also.

BTW: I echo what has been said - you don't need fancy speaker cables (Monster, etc.)... this works great and will deliver the power to the speakers without loss.
1010 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse