Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 631 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 680 reviews
on December 12, 2012
This is a no frills card, but it works well. It fit snuggly in my Lenovo ThinkPad T410. It won't pull out if you unplug the USB cable. I tested that both USB ports can be operating at the same time.

I saw posts on gmyle /product_p/3100.htm website that drivers for Fresco Logic 100x and ASMedia 104x worked. I searched the Hardware ID from Device Manager and it matched the ASMedia 104x chipset. So I downloaded the latest drivers (v1.16.2) from station-drivers dot com /page/asmedia.htm and it is working fine. It appears in device manager as ASMedia XHCI Controller.

Pros:
Cheap
Works as advertised

Cons:
Very basic packaging and driver CD is useless.

I'm very satisfied with the purchase and would recommend it.
55 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
This card now contains the ASMedia 104x chip. ASMedia 104x Drivers will make it work. Too bad the seller didn't include an instruction page since the mini CD had 6 different drivers on them and it was a trial and error process to figure out which one is the correct driver.
77 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
My setup is:

- Early 2011 MacBook Pro
- OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.4 (see NOTE below)
- USB 3.0 driver from MultiBeast 5.5.4

This works great. It is very welcome to install this, connect a $25 Kingston USB3 card reader and have my SanDisk Extreme CF being read at 70 MB/s and written at 59 MB/s. Plus I can expect to connect USB 3 hard drives in the future and again avoid the considerable premium of a FireWire or Thunderbolt solution.

As others have noted:

- It will work once you reboot after installing the driver from MultiBeast
- If you do not hold the ExpressCard in while pulling out your USB cable, you will probably pull the card out. I can push it back in, but it is not recognized for me until next reboot.

NOTE: MultiBeast or Apple forums (can't remember which) indicate that the update to 10.8.5 will stop the GMYLE from working. Lucky I am slow at applying updates. MultiBeast is already available for Mavericks. I will test the GMYLE when booted off a Mavericks USB disk before the big upgrade.

UPDATE Nov 9, 2013: I have installed Mavericks 10.9 on an external drive, added the MultiBeast Mavericks 6.0.0 USB 3 driver and can confirm this card works with OS X Mavericks 10.9.
88 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
This is a great way to add extra USB ports to a laptop. I plugged this into my Lenovo Thinkpad P50. Windows 10 recognized it immediately and it worked without having to add any drivers. Device Manager reports it as "ASMedia USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 0.96 (Microsoft). I benchmarked a spinning USB hard drive on both the Gmyle card and the Thinkpad's built-in USB 3.0 ports, and the performance was identical at 131MB/sec. When I unplug a USB device from the card, the card pulls out of the slot and I have to push it back in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
My system is an old Dell Inspiron 1545 which I've upgraded with a bigger disc, more memory and a faster processor over the years. I run Windows 7 HE. On this setup, the installation was fairly straightforward.

No documentation, so you might have to feel your way around the supplied CD ROM. For an Intel 64 bit processor the first file on the disc should contain what you need.

I tested the card using three different USB Discs, running a copy of 1.1 gigabytes from the HDD. The copy was consistently about twice as fast using the USB 3 card as with the USB 2 ports on the computer. This is what I want the card for: speeding up Windows Backup to USB discs.

The I/O figures showed the right sort of numbers when viewed with the System Monitor utility.

The only downside is that the Inspiron 1545 I'm using has a ballpoint pen-style "clicker" to press-and-release the card, and if the USB plug is a little tight you can end up ejecting the card while trying to plug in a drive. I suffered the third blue screen in five years by doing that and count myself lucky that the disc wasn't trashed.

None of this is an intrinsic fault of the card, but I've gotten into the habit of plugging into the card then plugging the card into the PCI Express port. Everything seems to mount correctly when I do that.

Well worth the money it cost so far. I'll come back and say so if it fails prematurely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
Bought this card earlier this year to make use of the USB3 peripherals that keep showing up. Took a bit of trial & error to get it working on my 17" Early 2011 MacBook Pro (8,3) in SnowLeopard but MultiBeast finally got everything in the correct place. I have since taken the SSD plunge and did a clean install of MacOS 10.2 Sierra to see if I can stand to use the new Ive GUI. I could not get the card recognized by using MultiBeast for Sierra. The Q&A here by zach on November 15, 2016 pointed me in the right direction - it appeared that the GenericUSBXHCI.kext was not getting installed where it needed to be - /System/Library/Extensions. Once I rebooted after that System Information showed that drivers for the card were installed. Oddly, it does not show up in the list of USB devices, but my USB3 dock mounts and pushes data significantly faster than the MBP's native USB2 ports.
The only problem I'm having - and this is true of any ExpressPort cards - is that if you accidentally eject the card by pushing the USB connector in too vigorously then I have to reboot the MBP to see the card again. There is probably some command line procedure I could do in Terminal to get it recognized again but that is currently beyond my skill set. [At least the card DOES lock in the slot, as opposed to the original Sonnet Echo ExpressCard/34 on our MacMini server where the slightest movement will unseat the eSATA ExpressCard and we lose our RAID - that's the next tech-fix project...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
I just installed this (GMYLE BC628) on a Windows 7 PC, it's working well. Like others I rate it 4 stars (not 5) due to the issue of having to search for the right driver. Like always and also like others I presumed the included CD is dated, and there are 3 possible Windows drivers on the cd so I would have had to try each one anyway. Based on the cd folders I needed to find either the Fresco LogicFL1XXX driver, or the NEC/Renasas driver, or the Asmedia ASM104x (ASM1042) driver. As murphys law would have it, after finding each and trying each, the card only worked with the third one I tried, the ASM1042 driver (actually called ASM-104x/107x Version 1.16.28.1 WHQL) which I found on www dot station-drivers dot com. I don't yet have a real 3.0 device on which to test speed, so for now I'm getting only 276 Mbits/sec using older usb 2.0 devices downstream (just more than half the full 2.0 spec'd speed) - this may also be limited by the expresscard interface generation/speed on my PC (a spec that is tough to find for any PC - right now on an older Vaio allin1 VGC-LT35E). My speed may also be limited by the usb 2.0 devices I'm using, so more testing needed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2017
I wish there was a Mac out-of-the-box compatible USB 3 card that is flush with the machine (instead of hanging out the side). I'd pay $100 for something like that. This chard is cheap, flush, offers decent speeds, but doesn't lock into the slot well at all.

It pulls right out of the slot when unplugging a USB cable. I used a layer of foam adhesive to make the connection tighter in my Late 2011 17" MacBook Pro, but I still have to hold the card in while I pull the cable out.

This does work with Mac OS with a few caveats. First, you need 10.7 or 10.8+ (can't remember which it is at this point), and you need to install the GenericUSBXHCI.kext (goodgle it). If you're running 10.10 or 10.11 (again, can't remember which it is), you need something plugged in to the port on reboot for the card to initialize.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2012
This express card works great, but it's NOT for the average user, please read below:

PROS:
- The 2 USB port card works perfect, provides additonal/fast USB ports to connection starved laptops.
- The card edge is flush with the laptop side, so no bulky or protuding edges.
- The price is unbeatable for a brand new gadget, it couldn't be cheaper compared with similar products.

CONS (Installation and Operation):
Installation.-
- Install for the average user is a nightmare, Again, it's a nightmare if you're not a geek or very familiar with Drivers websites, Extracting programs, and software download mgrs.
- Drivers on the little CD work but need to be decompressed, winzipped and/or updated, depending of the system OS.
- .RAR files in the CD work for W-Vista, they have to be WINZIPPED to run and install the setup.exe pgm
- Fresco drivers in the CD work for W-7, need to be extracted, however they may or may not work for your OS and could ask for updates.

Operation:
- The card runs a bit hot in the express slot, not recommended if you normally use your pc from battery only.
- The USB ports are very very tight, so ports are great to house mouse receivers, bluetooth, memory plugs or items that will stay plugged in permanently.
- Not good for daily plug/unplug use; Always hold the card before removing USB gadgets or the whole card will Pull out easily and Crash the xpress slot.
- Although the card mounts flush with the laptop edge, the depth of the ports in the card is not enough, so your mini usb receivers will Not go all the way in as in a regular USB port, they will pop out about 1/8" more.

OVERALL REVIEW: Good card, Unbeatable price, Works GREAT(if you have the skills to make it run), NOT for daily plug/unplug gadgets, but great for permanent plugged in ones.
RECOMMENDED: YES if you're a geek and want to take the installation challenge; Absolutely NOT if you're a regular plug and play user and not familiar with all of the above conditions(sure, it's going to give you a bad day).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2017
Used the drivers listed here for Win10, and it works fine for transfers with decent speeds.

HOWEVER, the main reason I bought this was to hook up a drive to work off of with ProTools 12. As a connection for streaming audio from, it introduced harsh static to all playback off of the drive. After some troubleshooting, I moved the drive to a native usb port, and the problem went away. This could be any number of things, could be the drive not liking this card, could be this card not liking audio, could be these sketch drivers, could be ProTools just being fickle like ProTools does. I just wanted to put it out there in case someone was looking to use it for the same application I was.

It still provides me with two higher speed ports without having some dangly hub so I'm still quite happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse