Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 16 reviews
on August 3, 2017
A thorough textbook on the evolution quadropods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2016
And a truly great book. For anyone who's interested in our early cousins' transition from aquatic life forms to terrestrial tetrapods, I cannot recommend any but Jennifer Clack's "Gaining Ground". This is a wonderful exposition on this most important of events in prehistoric times. I LOVED this book, and highly recommend it to anyone interested in evolution as I am. Thank you Jennifer, for a wonderful work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
This is an impressive book. Dr. Clack has put together a textbook-quality history of fossils and phylogenies to tell the tale of us tetrapods. Included are detailed comparative anatomy tables that brings amateurs up to speed on, well, everything. 18 color plates add nice context. If you can't get enough Tiktaalik or Ichthyostega, this book is for you. Highly recommended... - lc
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
A great read about an interesting period of time.a textbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
Fascinating story, very detailed, lots of pictures of fossils and lots of diagrams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
Jeniffer Clack bring us to the first steps on the Earth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
Too complex for layman to read. I finally gave up on reading it, It requires a graduate degree to understand it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
I just got this book in the mail this AM! From everything I can tell, it is truly awesome and I can hardly wait to dive into it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
I think the book gaining ground was a very interesting book and would recommend to any learned audience. A person
should have a background in a related field. I learned alot and found it well written and worth the money spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
The book is a good read so far. Figures and diagrams are bit of a nightmare. The problems are 2-fold:
1. Can't view diagram and read any accompanying text at the same time.
2. Diagrams and figures are tiny and unreadable. even when you zoom in the image is simply a blown up thumbnail (text in image blurry and unreadable)

Does anyone have a remedy for this?
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse