Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 732 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 821 reviews
on February 9, 2017
excellent, very fair depictions brilliantly portrayed have watched this several times.
Having read the reviews today just want to post one news item to those who have thought the portrayal unfair ( if anything it was very kind to S. Palin) whom we know now from her podcasts is very mean spirited: after the election she was paid to speak to a conference of Hong Kong bankers on some topic related to international banking and trade etc... and those interviewed in the WSJ after said that either she was very humorous or a little drunk, but if she meant what she was trying to say she had very scary ideas based on almost no knowledge of international trade or general priniples of banking ,,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
Wow, great insights into the McCain Palin presidential campaign. The film is both amusing and a little scary. Sara Palin is a force to be reckoned with, yet very uninformed about world politics and economic issues. Great diversion for this political season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Very well done. Julianne Moore did a wonderful job impersonating Sara Palin. Without having the freedom to joke around as Tina Fey, she equaled if not surpassed in imitating Palin's demeanor, looks, and speech pattern. The script actually presented a Sara Palin who in many respects was much better as a candidate than I recalled from the press coverings. Woody Harelson also excelled as the campaign manager, as did the McCain impersonator. This film reminded us of the hypocrisy, dishonesty, and shallowness that characterize modern political campaigns. 4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
Great political thriller one of the best i have seen.The outcome of the election is as if it's still to be determined an the mark of really good movie of this type is to avoid the sense of de ja view whilst watching this movie avoids this completely. All the actors give a believable performance. The observation that the " star quality" plain speaking
Sarah Palin in up-staging of McCann is obviously a for runner for the trump campaign and win.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I know this is a film based on the 2008 Republican presidential campaign, but I found it to be an ABSOLUTELY fascinating story of EXPECTATIONS and of REALITY. Before becoming the Governor of Alaska, Sarah Palin was the mayor of Wasilla -- population 7,831 (2010 census). She was tapped to be the running mate of John McCain (whom I admire) with high hopes of wowing the American public. She did so in the beginning -- until she started talking. Bit awkward since she clearly showed no knowledge of American policies (domestic or foreign). My hat off to Julianne Moore for portraying Sarah Palin so perfectly, and to Woody Harrelson and Ed Harris for their great acting! Moral of the story - even with the best intentions by a group of very smart people, you can't make up for the person's ignorance. This movie reminds me of Will Rogers' quote: "When you know you are full of bull, keep your mouth shut." All that aside, this is a wonderful movie to see!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
As a "bleeding-heart liberal", it'd be easy to pick apart the depictions portrayed in the movie. But I genuinely liked it. Albeit from a point of ignorance with regard to specific details of the campaign. What I liked most was that I thought the movie does a good job of 'humanizing' the individuals depicted as opposed to defending or forcing a sympathetic viewpoint. Good watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Julianne Moore absolutely hit it out of the park. Woody Harrelson and Ed Harris were great too.
I did take their portrayal of Sarah Palin's knowledge of foreign policy with a grain of salt though. I mean, I find it real hard to believe that she didn't know that Germany was our enemy in both world wars. That's a bit of a stretch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2016
The information was a peek behind the scenes of the Palen candidiacy. It wasn't pretty. As a movie, the performances were good but the pacing and assemblage of information was somewhat haphazard. There was a lot to take in and it was not as riveting as it could easily have been. Julianne Moore was excellent in the role as was Woody Harrelson but the remaining characters were a little hollow.
I'm glad that I watched it for the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
What in the heck was McCain thinking... or not thinking? Great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
Great acting! Very informative behind the scenes perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse