Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Nothing More Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 673 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,067 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 2, 2012
NB: Some other reviews seem to be about a book, not the film 'Ghandi' - not sure where the mix up is...

If only the film was a little deeper, a little more complex, it could have been an all time great epic. As it is, it comes close.

The pluses; the power of the story and the history, and Ben Kingsley's amazing performance, which, somehow, like Gandhi himself, is both modest and incredibly powerful.

The minuses; many of the supporting characters are underdeveloped, sometimes to the point of caricature. Most of the `villains' (the British, the leader of the Muslim separatist movement) are presented as one dimensional cartoons that Gandhi himself probably would have disapproved of as lacking compassion and understanding.

Also, there's a feeling, despite it's 3+hour length, that we really never get to know Gandhi as a human being, not just a "great, historic figure".

The best moments in the film are his moments of self-doubt and questioning, as well as his complex family life, but those are few and far between.

Still, an epic telling of one of the most important, influential and inspiring people of the last 500 years, and well worth seeing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
I like the movie, but my wife was simply bored to tears. My daughter is a follower of Gandhi and other people of enlightenment. In most cases, Gandhi was more Christ-like in his teachings. I am not saying Gandhi was Christ. I am saying that his take on life was similar to Christ. No, I am not a Bible scholar or even that religious, but I have read the Bible several times without prejudice. In other words not coming from it from a particular religious background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2013
The movie starts in South Africa in the year 1893 where Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, a London educated lawyer is coming to help with the South African Indians in their quest for equality. He soon learns that him and his people are treated as third class citizens and must abide by laws that no one else must follow. He empowered the Indian Hindus and Muslims to follow him and through non-violence march in protest against the British government's unjust laws against the Hindu's and Muslim Indians. He eventually got the British government to make changes due to his non-violent movement. The movie than takes you to the year 1915 where Gandhi arrives back in India where he starts his non-violent slow escalated movements to gain Indian rights from the British government. He is jailed on several occasions for sedition and even spent up to two years in prison. Gandhi travels all over India advocating a non-violent and non-cooperation movement that helped united Hindu's and Muslim's together in seeking independence for India. He pushed for a boycott of non-Indian produced goods and protested against a salt tax. In 1947 Gandhi's continued non-violent movement helped alter the minds of the British government and India was given its independence. This great movie showed who Gandhi was over a 54 year period and how he shaped the future of India and showed the world the birth of the civil rights movement.

How movie relates to World Religion Class: Gandhi was able to use the common goal of India's independence to unite both Hindu's and Muslims. He found inspiration from reading the Koran even though he was born and raised as a Hindu. He truly believed all people were good and some are just misguided and needed direction or motivation to change. This is a must see movie that will show you how one person can and did make a difference for nearly one billion people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
For anyone, incl high school students, with an interest in world affairs, the 19th Century British Empire, and the post-colonial independence movement,, I would recommend this DVD. A wonderful performance by Sir Ben Kingsley. Sometimes one forgets this isn't Mohandas Gandhi himself speaking. JAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
I read the book first and I must say it was one of my favorite readings. That lead to another fantastic discoveries. When I saw the movie I honestly thought it was fantastic...therefore my review...but I don't think I would enjoy it that much if I haven't read the book first. So I advise anyone who want to enjoy this movie...to read about Gandhi's life first.
Ben Kingsley was amazing as Gandhi.
A movie to watch again for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Good historical movie. I heard alot of positive about this movie growing up and I'm glad I finally got a chance to see it. It gave a good summary of Gandhi's life and struggles. The costumes and sets were well made. It gave me a good understanding about the independence of India and Pakistan. Gave me a good understanding about the religious conflicts between Hindus and Muslims in that part of the world. Ben Kingsley did a superb job of playing Gandhi, almost to perfection. A few parts were slow, but overall I enjoyed the movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Love this movie! It was fabulous! Ben Kingsley did such an awesome job playing Gandhi! Very informative too. Learn a lot about how Gandhi fought for freedom from the British Rule without violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
This movie changed my life and how I view it. My perspective is so pure, this man truly made the world it is today. On a personal level I believe he had started a task that I must finish, which is true unity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Probably one of the best..."classic" movies of all time. Students had been studying Martin Luther King, Jr. and his non violence movement; this was a perfect film to show to teach "compare and contrast" while comparing both men and their movement(s). Students truly enjoyed the movie. Watched it for two (2) hours, then in the afternoon, finished up the final one (1) hour and eleven (11) minutes. Ben Kingsley makes you forget he is the actor as he becomes Gandhi!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
Greatest hero? C'mon! He rescued one of the largest nations and about 1/5 the world's population from the oppressive control of history's largest empire, all without throwing a punch!

Sure, he had some quirks and faults. He admits them all in his autobiography. This was a real, flawed, wonderful human.

This movie brings you along for a very emotional ride: fear, resolve, despair, triumph, pride. It barely hints at those quirks, choosing wisely to stay with phenomenal integrity, intelligence, discipline, and compassion of this man.

Recommended for all ages, and anyone who doesn't know Gandhi beyond the quotes. The movie came out in 1982, but the cinematography is excellent. Don't wait as long as I did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse