Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Too and the conflicts Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 170 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 259 reviews
on November 5, 2013
Billie the kid was well done and worth seeing if nothing else for a good movie version of 2005 a Special Edition. It is artistically done and extra footage is reintroduced to incorporate a more natural run of this adventure . Excellent movie soundtrack by Bob Dylan ...who is in the movie as Alias.
James Coburn is Garrett and Billy is Played by Kristopherson. Both are good. Coburn with a swagger that is his alone. I recommend it this version.
There is more to see of Dylan's role and the story is more complete.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
An item that I've been meaning to buy for a long time. Perhaps it's the age at which I first saw this, but this is the one Peckinpah movie that has entered my psyche, more than Wild Bunch or Straw Dogs. It would have been neat to actually have the original (butchered) American release in this package as well, just to compare and contrast, but this is a cornucopia of delights as it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Each scene of this movie sublimates into its own individual piece of art. Literally, it appears that this movie was not written and/or filmed to be a seamless cohesive time stitched piece; each piece is filmed and the narrative and dialogue comes together in sort of a month long or 6 week long event.

I saw this movie 20 years ago and received it nonchalantly, even indifferently (despite being a huge Kris Kristofferson music fan, and a mega western movie fan). While Kris' acting didn't grow on me much, but it did some, this movie is not so much about 'The Kid' as it is Pat Garret, who is played by James Coburn.

Yes, American music legend Bob Dylan is in this. And his part is paltry, his scenes are cut/edited in such a way that his character is left somewhat dump and illiterate. But then he winds up with some speaking parts, and it works.

I am well versed in the western genre and I my observations and musings on this movie are strictly based on this genre. This movie is to be enjoyed in every way; from start to finish or scene to scene - it really captures the essence of the period in which it is portrayed and the people who actually lived this. I based this on countless readings of the very events. There is an austere quality to the happenings in this. And oh.. you get Bob Dylan writing a soundtrack for it (you will need to read about the differences of opinion on 'tween Bob and the producers and how lots of his music/scenes got cut, all to our [the audience's] screwing).

I shoot, I shoot cowboy shooting competitions, I shoot all these guns. I know them intimately. The shotgun coin scene is possible, but not probable. I mean that is like a month's pay in coins in those cartridges; why not just put washers in there or the equivalent? Hell, double-ought buckshot (00 Buck) would do a better job. Leave that slight out and WOW.. amazing gun work. Totally amazing.

Many people will get this movie/watch this movie to see something about Billy 'The Kid'. You better be more interested in Pat Garett than The Kid - This movie is about Garett. And you need to do your Googling about Pat Garett before watching this. Read about him. Even his Wikipedia page will prep you amazingly for this movie. In fact you'll be lost without it.

The Lincoln County range wars are stuff of true American old west legend. None of it was pretty or neat. But it happened. Good people died, men and women both. And this movie .. I said above, each scene sublimes. It is an American western classic. A gem of the genre.

To compare this against the rest, including "The Wild Bunch", "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly", "Fist Full of Dollars", "For a Few Dollars More", "Hondo", "The Outlaw Josey Wales", and about 10 others.. I am firmly putting this in my own personal top 5 all time westerns.

It grew on me as I got older. James Coburn never did a better job, at least not that I saw. I mean his gun play in this is beyond spectacular; it's completely natural and I think he really killed those guys ;). He drinks, he smokes, he rides, he kills.. and it all looks perfectly natural and normal.

Kris's gun work is amazing as well. I shoot single action Colts all the time. He has some funky techniques, but it looks like it works for him. He handles a Winchester like it's his natural thing. And rides a horse well.

You got Slim Pickins and Harry Dean Stanton in this, plus some other familiar faces. I guess if you don't like this movie then you don't like westerns.

EDIT: Ok, I wrote the review based on the version on the disk that does not include the scene with Elijah Cook. Love Elijah's acting, the movies he's been in, but I did not like the version of this movie as much as the version without him.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2008
In matters to taste, so they say, there is no dispute. No, this film isn't perfect but, in my humble opinion, it is absolutely terrific entertainment. The sound track and characters are almost all excellent. Yes, Dylan is somewhat miscast as Homer's Odysseus [Nemo, Nobody] but, heck, with the best of all possible sound tracks, he's earned his place in the film.

The opening scene with Billy and his other Bad Boys shooting the heads off of buried chickens sets the mood for this Peckinpah film. In his movie 'The Wild Bunch' Peckinpah does much the same thing, as children, who are supposedly not the focus of one of the beginning scenes, stage a fight between ants and a scorpion and then set them all on fire. Peckinpah has a message and the message was that cruelty and violence are inborn human traits, something he emphasizes in both of these great films.

The characters are to die for. Kristopherson, Chill Wills, Slim Pickens, Katy Jurado, and James Coburn put in wonderfully idiosyncratic performances. There are numerous memorable scenes...the surrendering Billy holding his arms out like the crucified Christ; Chill Wills recounting the attributes of a local puta; gut-shot Slim Pickens and his heart-stricken wife, Katy Jurado; Garret [Coburn] shooting Billy and, with his second bullet, shooting his own reflection in a mirror. Symbolic suicide. Wow!

Ron Braithwaite author of novels--"Skull Rack" and "Hummingbird God"--on the Spanish Conquest of Mexico
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2005
This film has long been a staple of Turner Classic Movies but for some reason has only now been released on DVD. I'm very much looking forward to this restored edition as I am the other Peckinpah films which are finally getting their day in the sun. Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid is a unique film in many ways, not only for Coburn and Kristofferson's memorable portrayals, but for the numerous cameos and Bob Dylan's musical score, not to mention guest appearance. Peckinpah stretches beyond his nihilistic bounds and finds plenty of humor in the situations he sets up. Kristofferson gives Billy the Kid a playful turn without losing sight of the pathos of his character, coming the closest to capturing this enigmatic Western icon. But, it is Coburn's take on Pat Garrett that really stands out, playing the rogue marshall to dead pan perfection, in many ways signaling an end to an era -- not only in the mythical lawless nature of the West, but the Western movie genre as well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
Good product and service, no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Crappy movie..outstanding soundtrack...and ole Bob in the movie is pretty cool!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
great bargin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
I would like to give a glowing review, as I have seen the movie once or twice. However in this particular set of dvd's there is no sound on the movie, the special tracks other than the movie itself have sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
terrific
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse