Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $10.96 (73%)

Kindle Unlimited with narration logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Gemini Effect by [Grossart, Chuck]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Gemini Effect Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 2,346 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$3.99

Length: 365 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Depth of Lies
"Depth of Lies" by E. C. Diskin
Learn more about this featured book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


From the Editor

From its first sentence—“The extermination of the human race began in a salvage yard”—The Gemini Effect blazes out of the gate and never slows down. Based loosely on genetics research conducted during World War II, the story races through a complex and devastating arc of conspiracy and mayhem with breathless abandon.

For a debut novelist, Chuck Grossart tells a tale with surprisingly little fat, and the book’s breakneck pace was a big part of why it won the 2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award for Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror. But it’s not only fast. The awards committee and I also loved the book’s “good guys,” particularly two admirable women—biowarfare specialist Carolyn Ridenour and US vice president Allison Perez—whose unerringly noble motivations provide the few moral beacons in Chuck’s apocalyptic world, where everyone faces imminent risk.

What I love best about this story, though, is its commitment to upping the ante, again and again, chapter after chapter. I lost track of how many times I paused to ask no one in particular, “Wait, there’s more?” And until the very end, there’s always more: more stunning plot twists, more cliff-hangers, and more at stake in how it all plays out. As the conspiracy unfolds and the death toll mounts, we’re driven toward a surprise that forces us to stare into the mirror and face the often violent lengths we’ll go to to preserve our way of life.

Yet The Gemini Effect is still a hefty dose of screaming fun. So buckle up and settle in for a wild, white-knuckled ride.

- Jason Kirk, Editor


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Chuck Grossart's THE ARGUS DECEIT

"Grossart's accomplished nonlinear novel is equally entertaining and suspenseful. Grossart's narrative keeps the reader guessing; he draws back layers of mystery tantalizingly slowly, leaving the reader to piece together the grand puzzle, with an immensely rewarding payoff. Recalling Rod Serling's setups in The Twilight Zone, Grossart plays with time and memory in a highly inventive way. He combines thought-provoking questions about memory with nail-biting suspense, creating a unique novel that shows what can be achieved when one pushes the boundaries of speculative fiction." - Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Literary surrealism at its finest, Grossart's latest genre bender explores a life led under many identities. Fans of The X-Files and The Twilight Zone will love the subtle reminders that nothing is what it appears to be in Brody's day-to-day life, and will enjoy feeling a creeping dread as the novel progresses--until the truth of Brody's fractured reality is revealed." - Booklist

"The Argus Deceit by Chuck Grossart is Quantum Leap meets Stephen King-esque style of creepiness. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel by Grossart whose writing I've come to love...Grossart writes with exploding action, heartfelt emotion, and clever mystery." - Raging Book Reviews

Praise for Chuck Grossart's THE PHOENIX DESCENT

"The Phoenix Descent was definitely one of those books that I couldn't put down. Chuck Grossart's writing was immersive and gripping, and the quick pace of the plot meant my Kindle was basically glued to my hand for the day. ...the cohesive and immersive writing style left me loving The Phoenix Descent. Grossart gives a breath of fresh air to a dystopia that typically struggles with representation, and science fiction, a genre that is increasingly become deep and lengthy in order to get a step ahead of the others." - Living for Books
 
"...it delivered everything I was hoping for and more! The story flow was spot on, it was a good length, there was just the right amount of action and he weaved the two story lines together seamlessly. There were also a lot of different facets to this story but they were all well-developed and mixed together nicely. I'll definitely be keeping my eye out for anything else Grossart comes out with." - Hooked on Books
 
"Chuck Grossart is one of my new favorite authors! This novel is by and large one of the best pieces I've read all year. This story line is a movie must. I read it in a day, fully involved and couldn't turn the pages quick enough. Great character development, awesome world view and has a heart-wrenching ending. Well done, Chuck Grossart...well done!" - Raging Book Reviews
 
"This story takes you on a journey that can appeal to all kinds of Sci-Fi junkies. Time travel, aliens, apocalyptic, dystopian and space exploration genres. An adventure with multiple points of view and plenty of off shoots. An absolutely unexpected and enjoyable book. Excellent storytelling, great female leads and all well rounded characters. I will be recommending this one to all my Sci-Fi geek friends!" - Itsy Bitsy Book Bits
 
"It was really addicting and I couldn't stop reading it. The plot is great and it was extremely intense especially in the last chapters. The set of characters was great, I really loved the strong women featured, Sif and Litsa, that were essential for the plot development." - Every Book Counts

About the Author

Chuck Grossart lives in Bellevue, Nebraska, with his wife, kids, and usually too many dogs.

Product details

  • File Size: 1237 KB
  • Print Length: 365 pages
  • Publisher: 47North (April 1, 2015)
  • Publication Date: April 1, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00LWDQO90
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,437 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Thriller Books
3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on March 4, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
297 helpful votes
298 helpful votes
|
on March 6, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
191 helpful votes
192 helpful votes
|
on July 19, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Gemini Effect
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Gemini Effect

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?