Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Genesis 1976-1982

Box Set

4.1 out of 5 stars 72 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, May 15, 2007
$700.00 $124.99

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

On the occasion of Genesis' 40th anniversary, Rhino begins a complete upgrade of their catalog, to be grouped into three CD/DVD boxed sets. This first installment contains five Phil Collins-fronted albums A Trick Of The Tail, Wind & Wuthering, ...And Then There Were Three, Duke, and ABACAB plus Extra Tracks, a new rarities compilation only available as part of this historic 12-disc box.
Each album is reissued as a CD + DVD edition featuring new stereo mixes of the original album. The sixth double disc, Extra Tracks, presents unearthed gems spanning '76-'82. Each DVD disc includes a 5.1 DTS Surround Sound mix of the album plus bonus video content, photo galleries, images of memorabilia, and previously unseen 2007 interviews with band members filmed just for this historic reissue project. The box includes nearly four hours of previously unreleased video material!


While the five albums chronicled here in new, bonus-rich double-disc editions are neither the most theatrically prog-centric nor pop-focused of Genesis's storied career, they are in many ways the most dramatically triumphant. When colorful frontman Peter Gabriel bolted the band in 1975 for a highly regarded solo career, their prospects seemed dim; coupled with a rapidly emerging U.K. punk scene, Genesis seemed destined for the scrapheap of pop history. Instead, with drummer Phil Collins taking over vocals, the band quickly issued a pair of albums that admirably expanded on their ambitious '70s ethos, the muscular Trick of the Tail and more delicately refined Wind and Wuthering. The subsequent departure of guitarist Steve Hackett seemed another fateful blow, yet the remaining trio responded by retooling its sound for ...and Then There Were Three, then coaxing it into a U.K. chart-topping amalgam of art rock chops and pop savvy on 1980's Duke before refining it further via the angular, New Wave-influenced intrigues of Abacab. Singles like "Paperlate" and "No Reply at All" may hint at the slick, R&B-influenced hit machine they'd soon become (in turn inspiring Collins to leave for his own solo career in the '90s), yet as a whole this quintet of releases represents one of the most gratifying musical/commercial balancing acts by a major rock act. The new editions here include newly remastered versions of each original album, each featuring a bonus DVD-audio disc that includes expansive new 5.1 DTS Surround Sound mixes and visual materials that include vintage promotional videos, TV clips, and live cuts, along with new retrospective interviews with the band. Two further bonus discs treat an eclectic baker's dozen of the era's outtakes, B-sides, and EP cuts to the same audio burnishing. --Jerry McCulley

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dance On A Volcano
  2. Entangled
  3. Squonk
  4. Mad Man Moon
  5. Robbery, Assault And Battery
  6. Ripples
  7. A Trick Of The Tail
  8. Los Endos

Disc: 2

  1. Eleventh Earl Of Mar
  2. One For The Vine
  3. Your Own Special Way
  4. Wot Gorilla?
  5. All In A Mouse's Night
  6. Blood On The Rooftops
  7. Unquiet Slumbers For The Sleepers...
  8. ...In That Quiet Earth
  9. Afterglow

Disc: 3

  1. Down And Out
  2. Undertow
  3. Ballad Of Big
  4. Snowbound
  5. Burning Rope
  6. Deep In The Motherlode
  7. Many Too Many
  8. Scenes From A Night's Dream
  9. Say It's Alright Joe
  10. The Lady Lies
  11. Follow You Follow Me

Disc: 4

  1. Behind The Lines
  2. Duchess
  3. Guide Vocal
  4. Man Of Our Times
  5. Misunderstanding
  6. Heathaze
  7. Turn It On Again
  8. Alone Tonight
  9. Cul-De-Sac
  10. Please Don't Ask
  11. Duke's Travels
  12. Duke's End

Disc: 5

  1. Abacab
  2. No Reply At All
  3. Me And Sarah Jane
  4. Keep It Dark
  5. Medley: Dodo/Lurker
  6. Who Dunnit?
  7. Man On The Corner
  8. Like It Or Not
  9. Another Record

Disc: 6

  1. Paperlate
  2. Evidence Of Autumn
  3. Pigeons
  4. You Might Recall
  5. Naminanu
  6. Inside And Out
  7. Vancouver
  8. Me And Virgil
  9. It's Yourself
  10. Match Of The Day
  11. Open Door
  12. The Day The Light Went Out
  13. Submarine

Product details

  • Audio CD (May 15, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 12
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Rhino Records
  • ASIN: B000P46P82
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 72 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #92,908 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Genesis Store

Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

March 6, 2009
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
June 6, 2009
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: genesis music