Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Genesis Archive #2 1976-1992

Box Set

3.6 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, November 7, 2000
$99.98 $49.00

3 months for $0.99. Limited time only. Renews automatically.
Sign up

Editorial Reviews

Product description

Manufacturer Sealed w/Unique Front Cover Sticker / Brand New / Atlantic Records Edition - Genesis Three CD Box Set... "Archive #2 1976 - 1992". A 3 CD Set containing a vast selection of Genesis music from "On The Shoreline" to "Invisible Touch". Also includes Live Versions and Rare 12" Re-mix Versions. OOP / Collector's item or a PERFECT GIFT for any Genesis Fan! PLEASE SEE PICTURES...Check out our other Music Selections and Items here on Amazon.


Genesis pulled off one of rock's most successful chameleon acts, making an unlikely segue from prog rockers to MOR staples--imagine Rush morphing into Hootie & the Blowfish. But at the time of original vocalist Peter Gabriel's departure in the mid-'70s, few could have predicted the multiplatinum success that lay ahead. Indeed, it was hard enough to imagine who could even fill the shoes of an illustrious frontman whose theatrical antics included metallic batwing headgear and costuming himself as a giant, bubbling rock; tellingly, drummer Phil Collins originally wasn't even on the band's short list of contenders. Genesis's improbable career certainly warranted a box set. But two? Archive #2 documents the band's stellar Collins era over three discs, though it eschews the era's wealth of hit singles in favor of outtakes, remixes, and live recordings aimed primarily at diehard fans. Even the disc-plus of live performances leans primarily on unreleased versions of nonhit album cuts. It's a set that reveals some of the band's pop bent (the drama of "On the Shoreline," the hook-laden "I'd Rather Be You"), but leans more to its more experimental instincts (including the instrumental workouts "Do the Neurotic," "Naminanu," and "Submarine"). Even the 12-inch remixes of hits such as "Invisible Touch," "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight," "I Can't Dance," and "Land of Confusion" often seem like sly excuses to revisit prog roots. If you're searching for Genesis's greatest hits, this isn't it. But if you're a fan that wants to further explore the full range of the band's multifaceted, if often underestimated, talents, you'll find plenty to ponder in this archive. -Jerry McCulley

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. On The Shoreline
  2. Hearts On Fire
  3. You Might Recall
  4. Paperlate
  5. Evidence Of Autumn
  6. Do The Neurotic
  7. I'd Rather Be You
  8. Naminanu
  9. Inside And Out
  10. Feeding The Fire
  11. I Can't Dance 12''
  12. Submarine

Disc: 2

  1. Illegal Alien (Live)
  2. Dreaming While You Sleep (Live)
  3. It's Gonna Be Better (Live)
  4. Deep In The Motherlode (Live)
  5. Ripples (Live)
  6. The Brazilian (Live)
  7. Your Own Special Way (Live)
  8. Burning Rope (Live)
  9. Entangled (Live)
  10. Duke's Travels

Disc: 3

  1. Invisible Touch 12in
  2. Land Of Confusion 12in
  3. Tonigh, Tonight, Tonight 12in
  4. No Reply At All (Live)
  5. Man On The Corner (Live)
  6. The Lady Lives (Live)
  7. Open Door
  8. The Day The Light Went Out
  9. Vancouver
  10. Pigeons
  11. It's Yourself
  12. Mama (Work In Progress)

Product details

  • Audio CD (November 7, 2000)
  • Original Release Date: November 7, 2000
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Atlantic
  • ASIN: B0000508TB
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars 55 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #177,770 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Genesis Store

55 customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-6 of 55 reviews

November 7, 2000
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
September 3, 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
October 15, 2002
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
April 2, 2013
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
March 3, 2018
Format: Audio CD
January 27, 2009
Format: Audio CD