Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $9.00 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by [Lee, Mackenzi]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 127 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99

Length: 533 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

''The book's exquisite, bygone meter and vernacular sit comfortably on a contemporary shelf. And the friction of racism, tyrannical entitled politicians, and misguided disapproval of homosexuality also have a relevance rooted in current culture's xeno- and homophobia. Austen, Wilde, and Indiana Jones converge in this deliciously anachronistic bonbon.'' (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

''This is a witty, romantic, and exceedingly smart look at discovering one's place in the world. A stunning powerhouse of a story for every collection.'' (School Library Journal '(starred review)')

''A gloriously swashbuckling affair.'' (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

''Careening from fete to fiasco on a Grand Tour of 18th century Europe, THE GENTLEMEN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a dizzying, dazzling, and roguishly romantic romp. This book makes me want to unrequite my own love so I can requite him all over again.'' (Heidi Heilig, author of THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE)

''Don't read this book unless you like adventure, hijinks, and forbidden romance, and if you do, then read it twice.'' (Stacey Lee, author of THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE and UNDER A PAINTED SKY)

''An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I'd happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA.'' (Dahlia Adler, founder of LGBTQ Reads and author of UNDER THE LIGHTS)

''The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a Grand Tour all its own. Hilarious and romantic, adventurous and scandalous, Monty's adventures are just as delightful as Monty himself. I adored this book!'' (Rachel Hawkins, author of the Rebel Belle series)

''Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman's Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers -- all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer.'' (Claire Legrand, author of the Winterspell series)

''A delightful romp of a road-trip through eighteenth century Europe, packed with witty dialog, razor-sharp pacing, and the perfect amount of swoon. You should abso-bloody-lutely read this book.'' (Erin Bowman, author of VENGENCE ROAD)

''Vice has never been more charming and virtue never more daring than in Mackenzie Lee's superbly written globetrotting adventure. Not since Hamilton the musical has the 18th century been this much fun.'' (Amy Cherrix, Malaprop's Bookstore)

''An incomparably delightful historical romp. I was swept away by Monty's incorrigible voice from the very first page, and the rest of this confident adventure tale did not disappoint. Lee's sophomore novel has heart, depth, and an abundance of wisecracks from a protagonist you can't help but adore.'' (Rebecca Wells, Porter Square Books)

''Simultaneously harrowing and hilarious, everything about this book from the serious questions posed about sexuality, chronic illness, and social inequality to the extraordinary journey Monty, his best friend, and his sister find themselves on make Mackenzi Lee's latest the kind of book you d be a fool to miss.'' (Gaby Salpeter, Books of Wonder)

''Monty and Percy are insanely shippable from page one, and quickly became one of my favorite YA couples of all time.'' (Rachel Strolle, Anderson's Bookshop)

''The John Hughes of queer 18th century adventure novels with an alchemical heart at its center. Lee perfectly captures teen humor and angst. I can't wait to see what she writes next!'' (Alsace Walentine, Tombolo Books)

''I can't wait to get this book in my store -- I know my customers looking for historical fiction and LGBTQ stories will adore GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE as much as I have!'' --(Clarissa Hadge, Trident Booksellers)

''Filled with highwaymen, pirates, and heart pounding exploits of a romantic nature, this is the summer road-trip adventure you've been waiting for.'' (Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books)

''With roguish charm, sly wit, and tender heart, THE GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a shameless flirt of a novel. If Monty and Percy hadn't already stolen my heart, I would surrender it to them gladly.'' (Wendy Darling, The Midnight Garden)

''Wonderfully refreshing. A delightful, thoughtful, hilarious read.'' (Maggie Kane, Between the Covers)

''An adventurous romp through 18th-century Europe with a trio of unforgettable characters. Lee weaves together the fun and the fantastical with a conversation on historical privilege that will resonate with modern readers. Perfect for fans of LA Meyer's Bloody Jack series. Expect to fall in love with this book!'' (Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books)

''An elegant, colorful, swashbuckling good time of a read and a beautiful addition to the LGBTQ+ genre. This is a great novel for upper YA readers and a great adult cross-over title. I definitely have a book hangover after finishing this gem.'' --(Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books)

''A Marauder's Map of the heart, full of pirates, highwaymen, humor and romance. Mischief managed brilliantly!'' --(Chris Abouzeid, Co-Owner, Belmont Books)

From the Back Cover

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still, it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.


Product details

  • File Size: 2616 KB
  • Print Length: 533 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062382802
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (June 27, 2017)
  • Publication Date: June 27, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M0WRN4B
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #16,297 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Related media


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Young Adult Books
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Fantasy Books
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on September 18, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue