Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 199 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 353 reviews
on September 7, 2013
When you're feeling down in the dumps, a movie like GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES (20th Century Fox, 1953) is a sure cure, especially when it's got two cheery gals like Marilyn Monroe and Jane Russell in it to make you forget your troubles. They play a couple of showgirls on an ocean liner bound for Paris - Marilyn's trying to land a millionaire and Jane is her less material-minded pal. Merriment and mix-ups ensue before they end up at the altar with their respective Prince Charmings.

Based on the Broadway hit by Anita Loos and directed by Howard Hawks, GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES is a veritable showcase for its two leading stars, and is simply one of the most entertaining musical comedies of all time. Both ladies look absolutely stunning in those lush, '50's era Technicolor tones which are fully captured in Fox's fabulous Blu-ray edition. Marilyn's most iconic number, "Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend", is a showstopper to be sure, and here it sparkles with a clarity that'll knock your socks off. The crystal clear audio is in 5.1 stereo and original mono and alternate Spanish and French languages, with subtitles in English, Spanish and French. The movie is formatted to its original 1.37:1 aspect ratio. Extras include a Fox Movietone News: "Marilyn and Jane in Cement", the original trailer, and other Marilyn coming attractions.

GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES is one of those movies that just seems to hit the spot at each viewing. It's sheer fun, and it captures that happy, carefree spirit of the '50's in a way few films do.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
In some ways, some movies from the 1950s are more progressive than modern ones.

Not only does "Gentlemen Prefer Blonds" pass the Bechdel test in some ways, but it has a really brilliant choreographed musical number where a fully clothed Jane Russell is being backed up by a chorus line of almost-naked boyz.

Lorelei and Dorothy are both really practical in their different ways. The plot is pretty much a farce (which I love). The musical numbers are a lot of fun- and "Diamonds are a Girl's Best friend" is iconic, both as a sentiment and as a visual.

And, oh! the gorgeous CLOTHES!

Now- one thing I do wonder- did DeBeers pay for product placement here? because they were doing a serious push to make diamonds be seen as intrinsically valuable starting in the 1940s, and this was filmed in 1953. For the record- diamonds are NOT especially valuable; if you want to invest in material goods, gold- and physical gold, not certificates- would be the way to go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
This is probably one of my very favorite Marilyn Monroe movies; just the perfect mix of comedy, dance, music, and eye-popping Technicolor. The Blu-ray looks amazing; clear crisp picture with just the right amount of film grain to look natural. The details are fantastic, too; you can even see Marilyn's jewelry with great clarity. The sound works just fine for a movie of its age; it does appear that some separation was done with some of the sound effects (noticed during the ringing of the bell for "Bye Bye Baby" where it came from a rear speaker, but nothing that is going to blow you away. Just clear sound that highlights the vocals of Marilyn and Jane Russell perfectly. The one drawback are the extras; very few to speak of. A few Marilyn trailers (which promote other Fox Blu-ray releases) and a short Fox Movietone Newsreel showing Marilyn & Jane Russell putting their handprints in the cement at Grauman's Chinese Theater. No restoration comparison, no interviews, no deleted scenes, and no commentary. Pretty disappointing when considering what an icon Marilyn is, even today. The one other oddity is that on the back of the case, the photo of "Marilyn" from "Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend" doesn't even look like Marilyn; either it's another model or she is so heavily photoshopped that it just doesn't look like her. A minor quibble. At least Fox seemed to put their best foot forward on the quality of the picture and sound, which truly is the bottom line for this release. If you're not familiar with the story, here it is in a nutshell. Jane Russell (playing Dorothy) & Marilyn (as Lorelei) are two showgirls looking for love. Dorothy is single, and Lorelei is tied to a nerdy man (played perfectly by Tommy Noonan) worth millions. Unfortunately, her boyfriend's dad doesn't approve of the relationship. In order to make his heart grow fonder, Lorelei separates herself from her honey by taking a cruise with Dorothy. Unbeknownst to the girls, the dad has the two followed by a detective. Dorothy falls for the detective which throws a wrench into the whole proceedings.

A number of memorable musical numbers by Russell ("Anyone Here For Love?") and Monroe ("Diamonds"). These two make a great combo, as you can really feel a genuine friendship with their on-screen chemistry. Highly recommended as one of Marilyn's most entertaining movies!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
It's all here: Russell, Monroe, gaudy Technicolor, bump-and-grind dances, memorable songs, worry dialogue. It's just good fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
Jane Russell and Marilyn Monroe star as Dorothy Shaw and Lorelei Lee. Dorothy is a down-to-earth, no nonsense woman, while Lorelei is an adorable, yet slightly dim blonde, whose lust for diamonds is just as powerful as her childlike innocence. The only thing that these two women have in common is their ability to turn the head of any man they cross paths with. In this heartwarming, classic comedy, two showgirls are sent on a luxury cruise ship to France. On the way, love is put to the test, and both women are dead set in finding the man they are destined to be with. Jane Russell is a genius as the brunette brain of the pair, and Monroe captures the viewers heart with her childlike beauty and innocence. This film is one if the first (along with Niagara) to propel Monroe into the eternal sex symbol status. If you are in the mood for a heartwarming, comedic love story, this is the film for you. You'll be captivated by two of the greatest actresses that we have had the privilege of watching on the big screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
We all know redheads are the best..... but as classic movies go this is one of my favorites.

The music is fun and catchy, and the costumes are fantastic. Oh to have lived in a time like that- but I don't think even then this was close to a true reality. But who would take a cruise to France, and then spend all their money not knowing how or when they could get home?!? Only in the movies where it always works out and they can of course sing their way to success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
I wanted to see where Madonna got her idea from. But, I can say Marilyn, made it look so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
This is one of my favorite Marilyn movies. I'm glad they finally started putting out her movies in Blu-Ray. It's about time. I have almost all her movies on dvd & I can say that watching this in Blu-Ray compared to watching on Dvd that there is no comparison. I put on the dvd version of this after watching the Blu-Ray disc & was surprised at how much better it is. Hands down this is so much better. Finally we get to see Marilyn as she should be seen. The color & Blu-Ray are really nice in this movie. The audio sounds really good to me, although I listen through external speakers run from my stereo. Nothing fancy, just good old fashioned stereo. There are really no extras to speak of on this disc. It would have been nice to have some, but I really want the movie more so than the extras. If you like Marilyn & or Jane I say go ahead & get this, I'm sure you will see the difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
I must say that I loved this movie. It is the first movie I've seen with Marilyn Monroe. Both she and Jane Russell were the most pleasant and beautiful in this movie.

I must admit that what drew me to want to watch this movie was the movie musical Burlesque. In this movie was a scene where they pay tribute to the song, "Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend."
I was curious to know where the original came from. I had no idea that the song came from "Gentlemen Prefer Blondes." I didn't even know that Marilyn Monroe was the one who sang it.

After watching "Gentlemen Prefer Blondes," I became intrigued by Marilyn Monroe's persona. I couldn't stop watching it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
Bought as a gift. They were very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse