Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on April 26, 2016
Learned a lot that stuck with me for years. Who knew men with blue eyes naturally prefer Blue eyed women, but no other gender/sex combo has a natural preference. Ordering again because I lost my first copy to an unreturning friend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
As a senior psychology major, I am pretty careful about purchasing popular psychology books, but this was a great find. It gives a good overview of the biology behind attraction and romance. Pincott uses good science without using the heady vocabulary that can accompany accurate science. If you're looking for an in-depth study on any one portion of this topic though (i.e. I bought this book with an interest in scent and attraction), this is probably not the book for you. It doesn't focus on any one aspect very long. I do love the ability to flip to any one topic in the book and just read without having to read the whole book preceding that section for it to make sense.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
Let me just start off this review by saying that I'm in a junior in high school and I'm a guy. Overall, this book was pretty solid - a lot of questions about what makes people attractive, people in relationships, etc., were answered in a very succinct and well-thought out manner. I've taken AP biology, and a lot of the terms in the book were things I had learned about during the year (A LOT of hormones (oxytocin, progesterone, luteinizing hormone, estrogen and testosterone, to name a few) major histocompatibility complex, hypothalamus etc.,)), which made the book much easier to understand. Also, there are a few basic Freud concepts mentioned in the book (id and libido, Oedipus and Electra complexes), so if you've taken like, Psych 101 you should be good. However - this is probably a plus for most of you - but this book is highly geared towards a female audience. All of the examples are from a woman's point of view ("so the next time you see him...", "notice how guys always..."), and all the text is in a flowery lilac purple.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Very fun very informative read. I appreciate the way Jena Pincott was able to make everything both scientific and playful at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2012
This book answers questions about attraction and the human body that you didn't even know you had and backs it up with research. My copy also came in great condition. I would most definitely buy from this seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2010
Jena Pincott's book is collection of short essays on sex and biology. While clearly intended for the casual lay reader, Pincott does include a list of references by chapter.

The reason you need this book is to help you understand the unseen factors behind others sexual and bonding behaviours. If one is to get along with others, it helps to recognize when they are hungry, tired or angry. In a similar way, it helps to recognize and understand the deeper cues people involuntarily use. Pincott's book is lay text for doing so. If nothing else, it will explain the importance of spending time gazing into your loved one's eyes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
muy bueno
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2008
A very good book written in a layman's format so it is easier to digest the scientific information, concerning why we love and why are attracted to some and not to others. I thought it was well written and not very long, so a an easy read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2008
Is it possible to discuss evolutionary psychology in a completely detached, scientific way, without the accompanying cultural notions, emotion, and judgment? The answer is yes -- but female authors, in my experience, have a particularly hard time doing this. They have this Oprah-esque, prissy tendency to make everything "feel good" and politically correct and sugarcoat the facts, rather than bluntly state them -- no matter how unpalatable.

This female-written book, which reads more like a Cosmo article, falls into the same trap. It does cover the fundamentals of mating behaviors and flirting (although you probably already know them if you're an evolutionary psychology buff), and has some statistics not found elsewhere (such as worldwide male/female preferences for casual sex). But there's a tinge of judgmental eye-rolling and tsk-tsk'ing here whenever the behaviors being described go against the author's view of what is appropriate or culturally acceptable, particularly when she talks about males, whom it turns out she really doesn't understand all that well despite her background in evolutionary psychology.

If you can get past this prissy uneasiness on the author's part to face the facts, it may be worth adding to your collection (I find that every book on the subject covers something that others don't).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse