BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 1, 2003
Turcotte and Schubert updated their 1982 edition to account for new developments in geoscience, and the result is the most comprehensive textbook on geophysics for the upper level undergraduate/graduate student. It is an outstanding reference, and is clear and concise in its treatment of a variety of geophysical phenomena. Stress/Strain, Elasticity and Flexure, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Gravity, Rock Rheology, and Planetology are all treated with detail and provide the student with a tremendous introduction to geophysics. I recommend it to all geologists and geophysicists!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
This is famous textbook for anyone wants to work on geodynamics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
A wealth of information and tools. It was an excellent companion to what I learned in class and still helps with many geodynamic problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
pretty good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
This book has the secrets of harnessing, and taming the powers of the earth. Strongly recommended for those seeking wisdom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2008
The seller's shipping is very fast. When I got the product, I found it was like brand new even I purchased a 'used' book.

Excellent purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
the book came in a few days, it was neither written on nor scratched. I recommend buying from this seller. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
"Geodynamics" has been a classic text in the field of, well, Geodynamics since the first edition came out, and it remains a brave attempt to squeeze a large amount of detail into one volume. In many ways however, this attempt is misguided. The material suffers from overcrowding in many chapters, and different approaches are used to solve the same problem, giving wildly different answers, with no attempt made to qualify which method is accepted as the most realistic.
A fairly comprehensive set of questions are liberally sprinkled throughout each chapter, although the one-number answers at the back of the book are usually insufficient, and some brief explanation would greatly enhance user-friendliness.
The main problem I found with this textbook however, is the inability to link the numerical methods presented with real world situations. The complexities of plate deformation for example are reduced to a set of sections on beam-bending, with little or no attempt at the end to draw the lessons learnt from the exercise back into some meaningful discussion of how the earth behaves. This is a common failure of analytical approaches to Earth Science problems, that the construction of a mathematical framework becomes an end in itself, and that real data are ignored or manipulated to shoehorn them into the predictions of the model. "Geodynamics" is a good summary of the techniques used to try to understand the workings of the earth, but often leaves one with a hollow feeling that one hasn't really learned anything about the earth itself at the end of each chapter.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2002
I have known the first edition of this remarkable book, and am pleased to see the revised and improved version out. I hope that many Geophysicist will have a copy in their library eventually.
May I wish all Earth Scientists a nice research work.
Tuncay Taymaz
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2007
Good and complete introduction to geodynamic.

To combine with a continuum mechanic book to be aware of the einstein notation for tensors as this book derive component independantly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Geodynamics
$81.36

Need customer service? Click here