Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Prime exclusive: $24.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$78.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

This is one of the best books for learning proof-based geometry. Things build up steadily to more complicated problems. This also is not insanely expensive because the authors included pictures (obviously because it's geometry) without spending a lot of time on high-detail pictures that are nice to look at but ultimately just add to the price of the book without giving added clarification of the material. If you're looking for one of those textbooks that has all the vocabulary terms highlighted in yellow and defined in the margins (so that kids answer worksheets by skipping to the highlighted words and just put that word in the blanks without processing anything), look elsewhere. This book provides real challenge and focuses on the application of the material rather than just remembering vocabulary.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2011
I have been teaching geometry for over thirty years. I've used this book or an earlier incarnation of it for most of that time. Although the book has it's weaknesses, it is overall thorough and systematic. Negative reviews of this textbook are based primarily on a comparison of this book to watered-down texts now more popular with schools. I also tutor and one of my students explained to me that his school uses a different text, because that text concentrates on material covered on the SAT. I've had students who transferred to another school come back and tell me I made geometry unnecessarily complicated. His new school had an easier text. As another reviewer noted, the textbook committees of many schools are primarily concerned with protecting the reputation of the school by passing students and NOT with the education of the student. They perpetuate mediocrity. Better schools in my area use this textbook, but most often it's only used for "honors" classes.

This is a difficult text, not because it's a bad book, but because it presents a high quality, proof-based exposure to geometry. For years I've been hearing fellow educators tout how courses expose students to higher order thinking. The fact is, education in the United States, especially math education, does not expose students to higher order thinking, but substitutes mechanical processes for true understanding, and politically correct processes like projects and group work for rigor. Schools now use group tests and quizzes so students have a better chance of passing, not a better chance of learning. This begins back at the lowest levels of math education. Geometry is usually the first course of any sort where the student truly has to think. In algebra (not the way it should be taught, but the way it is taught), students memorize mechanical processes without understanding why the process works. If they remember the steps required for a particular type of problem, and get their arithmetic right, they get a correct answer. When a student creates a two-column proof in geometry, reasoning from limited information to a final conclusion, no teacher or text can teach a student to always get a right answer. Getting a right answer involves actual thought and may take time and repeated analysis.

Geometry is a language intensive branch of mathematics. If students don't acquire the vocabulary of the study (definitions, postulates and theorems), they can't "think" about the problem. It's like trying to learn a foreign language without learning vocabulary. This book does a very good job of laying out this "vocabulary", with a few exceptions.

The authors of the book have made the book weaker gradually over the last twenty years. I believe they have done so in an attempt to make the course easier. Unfortunately, they've merely muddied the water. Incongruities and inaccuracies have crept in over the years, but the text still remains the best available.

I suspect the publishers will be dropping this textbook from it's catalog. It hasn't been updated since 1999, although this is unclear. When I last checked with the publisher, they had not made any plans to update it. It is actually beneficial if they don't update it, I suppose, since when they have in more recent years, the book has become of less quality.

Finally, if you have a child taking geometry with this book, count your blessings. Help your child to be successful by having them memorize the vocabulary, postulates and theorems as a first step to understanding. Additionally, encourage them not to give up and keep thinking.
1313 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2014
This would probably be the best of Geometry textbook that one can buy, There is no relentless story telling, nor nonsense "applications". Each chapter goes straight to the points, followed by discussions, practices, and exams.
I have to agree with some of the reviewers suggesting that this one is very difficult and challenging. even for students who happens to be placed on honor or advanced levels.
In all, I think that this book would be appropriate if kids have access constantly to very well knowledgeable individual who knows math very well such as parents or top notch high school math teachers. If not, I would suggest others.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
So far, it is a very good Geometry book.
I am a little spoiled with how answers were given in a previous Algebra book.
It feels like only 97% are offered so I have to solve a few of the problems myself - not a bad thing.

I love the extra section on the Möbius strip - it was so intriguing that I have held several small workshops on it!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 2013
As a math teacher and tutor, I disagree with those who say this book is too hard. This book is exactly what a typical geometry textbook looked like in the 1980s and early 1990s. It clearly explains concepts with plenty of examples. It is well-organized. It has a comprehensive glossary, index, and list of theorems and postulates. It presents exercises in order of difficulty, beginning with the easiest. It offers many exercises per section (often 30 or even 50), rather than just 10 or 20. The answers to the odd problems are in the back. In short, it is exactly what any student ought to have in a geometry book.

Clearly, there will always be some students who struggle and some who find geometry to be a challenging subject, in general. However, any average or above average student really ought to be able to read this book and learn geometry from it. The problem is that students simply haven't learned how to use a textbook! I constantly have to teach students how to use the table of contents, index, glossary, etc. Once a student learns these study skills, s/he ought to be able to take this book and run with it, assuming s/he has sufficient basic algebra skills to succeed in geometry.

On the contrary, the Geometry book by Larson, Boswell, et al (also published by McDougal Littell) is simply horrendous. It is so replete with dazzling colors and uninformative pictures that I can hardly find the theorems. (It's like a "Where's Waldo?" of theorems and postulates.) By contrast, the Jurgensen book may look dry, but the authors conservatively reserve color to bring your attention to the most important information, such as theorems you should memorize. And it works! The most important memorization-worthy information jumps off the page. I can find theorems and corollaries in this book almost as quickly as if the book were tabbed.

As a tutor, this book will always be my go-to geometry textbook. No matter what textbook they are using in school, I usually have my geometry clients purchase a used copy of the Jurgensen book to use as a reference. So far, all of them agree that it is much easier to use and better organized than any book they have used at school.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2015
This is not a particularly good text. I bought it because I'm tutoring my girlfriend's daughter and this is the text her school requires. Speaking as an instructional designer, I can say that it's not well organized, and it frequently does a poor job of explaining basic concepts. If you have a choice, look for another book.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2016
I am not a fan of geometry and this book is very complicated. I was looking for something simplified to go over formulas that are critical to basic geometry, this has a lot of information. The condition was fair, but that is what I expected from a used book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2007
First off, I noticed that alot of people said they couldn't understand any of the problems. That may be true, but as long you read everything, it should be no problem at all. Besides, this book is recommended for honors math students, so it's supposed to be slightly challenging.

Pros- the book is well designed, end of every chapter has review notes, summary notes chapter tests, and sometimes cumulative exams as well as preparing for college entrance exams. Every section usually begins with some theroms, and they show you how the prove them. THe back of the book has all the definitions, theroms, postulates and test answers. Challenging in a fun way. The cover is also pretty durable

Cons- may be too challenging for the average student.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2015
We bought this book is requested by an online geometry class for my daughter.
The book did have good explanation for some of the concept. as rule of thumb, you will have better understanding all concepts and definition through exercise. H/e, only half of the key answer is provided for the exercise... The book only provide key answers for odd# question. No answer is provided for the even # question. I don't understand....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 4, 2013
This is an excellent geometry text for honors and advanced placement students. It is extremely challenging and provides in-depth learning for students who enjoy the challenge of math or who have access to a teacher or tutor on a regular basis. It is far too difficult, however, for the typical high school geometry student. It is very proof-oriented, and the difficulty may discourage the student who may like math but does not want a career that is dependent on it. For the budding engineer or scientist, this book is a great choice, but it is not for everyone.

That said, I want to point out one aspect of the book that is great. Each chapter has three levels of practice problems, labeled A, B, and C. The A problem set is for everyone, and B and C levels are for those who want a greater challenge. I wanted this book to use for a geometry course for home schooled students, who meet with me only once a week. This is not nearly often enough, given the difficulty of this book. However, in a school, where students and teacher meet five days a week, the levels of problems provide the teacher with great flexibility. I could see the book being used at several levels.

In short, this is a great book, but it is not the best choice for me. However, if may be a good choice for you. I suggest that you buy a used copy so that you can judge for yourself before you invest in the entire course.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse