Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on September 10, 2016
Good book. All elements are describe evenly I suppose. This book might be a bit tough for someone without background information in geometry. I am a geometer by nature and found this book very appealing. The content is well described and makes for a very fun (boring by most standards), nerdy read to add to my repertoire collection of books. I recommend this book for any curious (well versed in spatial dimensions or geometry) person interested.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
Five stars becauce Rucker put a lot into this book, its obvious he cared a great deal about writing this book; the annotated bibliography is an example of this and worth buying the book just read this. Having said that, I found this book very tough. Bits of understanding come through but this is the kind of book you can read and re-read and re-re-read and still be baffled, which is not Ruckers fault it is just the material subject matter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2016
Not bad, got many things right. But the big concepts are lacking. If a mirror image in dimension x is x-1 then 3d would be a perfect mirror of 4d. To a 3d existence 4d imperceptible. That is not to of course forget that to us the mirror formula could be that [-1] is actually more precise to describe as [- one dimension]. The reason I say this is because if you are in the camp that a fibonacci beauty applies to the cosmic dimension inventory, then perhaps the next dimension "up" or out is the fifth dimension. If this is the case then our 3d world is a mirror image of a 5 d reality the implications are that yes indeed God knows the tick and tack of every sparrow and perceives us much like would a curious child that was given her first ant farm. To an impartial observer of us such as that of a bystander being in the fifth dimension how curious and spectacularly beautiful this universe must look!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2001
In his own introduction the author, Mr. R. Rucker, states, "My goal has been to present an intuitive picture of the curved space-time we call home. There are a number of excellent introductions to the separate topics treated here, but there has been no prior weaving of them into a sustained visual account. I looked for a book like this for many years- and finding none, I wrote it." His dedication has been rewarded, as the text is one of the finer introductory books on the curvature of space time and special relativity.
The 'book like this' as the author calls it, walks the reader through several visual explanations that allow a solid mathematical and graphical explanation of modern physics. This isn't always a simple explanation, but there is a certain reward to struggling with the concepts before understanding them. In particular, Chapter 4 on time as a higher dimension makes the entire book worth reading, with many fascinating examples and a host of thought-provoking examples, such as "Schrodinger's Cat."
This is a very interesting book which would be of use to anyone who wishes to push just a little bit further than the typical popular physics text. For those who wish to push even further to solidify their knowledge, there are even questions at the end of each chapter. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
I think my brain just can't quite get the concept... good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
I had a copy many years ago and wore it out. It became lost and years later I wanted to read it again.. This seller provided a beautiful copy. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
This is an excellent book for those who like to know the concept of fourth dimension and how the higher dimensions can be created.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
An easy read for a Sunday afternoon. Especially if you are into dimensions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
Read a few years ago and now purchased for my grandson to try and peek his interest and help him expand his thinking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Rucker made the high level concepts understandable in this book, lots of fun imagery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse