Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
Geraniums: The Complete Encyclopedia
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 5, 2015
I needed to return this book, the print type was so small that I couldn't read it.
Also, the book didn't contain what I was looking for. It was a compendium of various sorts of geraniums and I was looking for ideas for propagation by cuttings, and wintering over indoors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2009
Was good very complete for me as a beginner. Would be a good book to have no matter who you are and how long you have been gardening. Would recommend this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2011
This is the best book on geraniums (= the tender pelargoniums).
there are many color pictures and the text is excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2013
This book is a good resourse for those who love Geraniums. The Sacramento Geranium Club has one in their library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2015
It is for a gift so haven't read it very throughly, I hope I can get it signed. Looks good though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2009
My mom requested books on geraniums for Christmas and this seemed pretty inclusive. She really loved it and said it had lots of good information on all the varieties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2016
Very thorough...good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2015
Great book for lovers of geraniums!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2016
The book is very useful if you are attempting to grow them the first time. Though not particularly hard to grow (Relative to your climate and your location), this book may still offer some good advice.
The book speaks much about hybridizing history. Though I don't use that in the field, you may find that information useful if you want to know about the hybridizing genealogy, and if you are in that field in particular. There are some lost hybridizing records awaiting to be rediscovered and the book may offer much information.
What I would like to see in the coming editions: More advice on hybridizing and elaborate the topic of propagation. I've recently learned and tried to propagate Pelargoniums by leaf cuttings, but I did not see any reference in that book. There is some success but is more prone to fail, and results seem to come-out more slowly.

The book gives general information about species (Wild species, not hybrids). For those among you wishing to learn about the subject, I recommend the two following books:
- Pelargoniums, a guide to the species (Diana Miller, 1996)
- The Pelargonium family (William Webb, 1984)
The two books are out of print but may be offered on second-hand market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2008
I have been collecting pelargoniums for 20 years. Mrs. Brawner's book is the best available guide ever to the cultivars and how to grow them. The color pictures are abundant and of excellent quality. Please note that this book uses the common American name 'geranium' for the plants that are known to science as pelargoniums. If you want to grow perennial, cold-hardy geraniums you will need a different book.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here